tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : SUZERAIN - Midnight In The Drawn City

SUZERAIN

Midnight In The Drawn City

MusicCD
Indie

[62/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Someone in the mood to hear another neo postpunk band or just like they’re describing themselves, a band that plays new wave rock or electro indie disco?

Anyway, Suzerain isn’t maybe an act that we would describe as a typical Peek-A-Boo band but not only was their record one of the first that landed in our office but we also wanna give new talent an optimal chance to exposure themselves.

They’re indeed the kind of musicians who like to bet on different horses as they say but in the case of Suzerain this can only be a good thing as the 80’s touch that is flavouring their indie sounds gives it an extra touch so you won’t categorize them as just one of the many.

After five years of being at the London club scene, they finally have their debut out which features twelve tracks. The vocals from singer Tom Pether is perhaps a bit too polished to get a grip on you but it’s definitely a godsend to finally hear a band who decided to hang on to the guitar sound U2 were having during their “October”-days.

Ten years ago we definitely would have compared them to the likes of Marion or Rachel Stamp, but who remembers them?

A tip for those who like Britpop that has some new wave and punk (well, some) influences.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Heeft er iemand zin in nog eens een neo postpunk band, of (zoals ze zich zelf graag omschrijven) iets dat klinkt als new wave rock of electro indie disco?

Nu goed, Suzerain is misschien niet meteen het soort groep dat wij zouden gaan bestempelen als een typische Peek-A-Boo act maar niet alleen was hun debuut één van de eerste releases die op onze redactie kwam binnengewandeld, ook hebben we bij Peek-A-Boo steeds een luisterend oor voor aanstormend talent.

Het mogen dan wel het soort muzikanten zijn die er hun hand niet voor om draaien om op verschillende paardjes te wedden, toch is die 80’s touch bij Suzerain een goede zaak want het is net hierdoor dat deze groep niet het lot toegedeeld krijgt om bestempeld te worden als één van de vele.

Na vijf jaar te hebben doorgebracht in de Londense clubscene, hebben ze dan nu eindelijk hun debuut uitgebracht waarop twaalf nummers prijken.

De stem van Tom Pether mag dan misschien net iets te gepolijst klinken, toch is het een opkikker dat er terug een groep is die de gitaren uit de kast tovert zoals we die kennen van U2 uit hun “October”-dagen.

Tien jaar geleden zouden we een groep als Suzerain nog hebben vergeleken met Marion of Rachel Stamp, maar wie herinnert zich deze nog?

Een tip dus voor zij die houden van Britpop met new wave en punk (nou ja) invloeden.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)