tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : SUZERAIN - Midnight In The Drawn City

SUZERAIN

Midnight In The Drawn City

MusicCD
Indie

[62/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Someone in the mood to hear another neo postpunk band or just like they’re describing themselves, a band that plays new wave rock or electro indie disco?

Anyway, Suzerain isn’t maybe an act that we would describe as a typical Peek-A-Boo band but not only was their record one of the first that landed in our office but we also wanna give new talent an optimal chance to exposure themselves.

They’re indeed the kind of musicians who like to bet on different horses as they say but in the case of Suzerain this can only be a good thing as the 80’s touch that is flavouring their indie sounds gives it an extra touch so you won’t categorize them as just one of the many.

After five years of being at the London club scene, they finally have their debut out which features twelve tracks. The vocals from singer Tom Pether is perhaps a bit too polished to get a grip on you but it’s definitely a godsend to finally hear a band who decided to hang on to the guitar sound U2 were having during their “October”-days.

Ten years ago we definitely would have compared them to the likes of Marion or Rachel Stamp, but who remembers them?

A tip for those who like Britpop that has some new wave and punk (well, some) influences.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Heeft er iemand zin in nog eens een neo postpunk band, of (zoals ze zich zelf graag omschrijven) iets dat klinkt als new wave rock of electro indie disco?

Nu goed, Suzerain is misschien niet meteen het soort groep dat wij zouden gaan bestempelen als een typische Peek-A-Boo act maar niet alleen was hun debuut één van de eerste releases die op onze redactie kwam binnengewandeld, ook hebben we bij Peek-A-Boo steeds een luisterend oor voor aanstormend talent.

Het mogen dan wel het soort muzikanten zijn die er hun hand niet voor om draaien om op verschillende paardjes te wedden, toch is die 80’s touch bij Suzerain een goede zaak want het is net hierdoor dat deze groep niet het lot toegedeeld krijgt om bestempeld te worden als één van de vele.

Na vijf jaar te hebben doorgebracht in de Londense clubscene, hebben ze dan nu eindelijk hun debuut uitgebracht waarop twaalf nummers prijken.

De stem van Tom Pether mag dan misschien net iets te gepolijst klinken, toch is het een opkikker dat er terug een groep is die de gitaren uit de kast tovert zoals we die kennen van U2 uit hun “October”-dagen.

Tien jaar geleden zouden we een groep als Suzerain nog hebben vergeleken met Marion of Rachel Stamp, maar wie herinnert zich deze nog?

Een tip dus voor zij die houden van Britpop met new wave en punk (nou ja) invloeden.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders