tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/05/2011 : SUZERAIN - Midnight In The Drawn City

SUZERAIN

Midnight In The Drawn City

MusicCD
Indie

[62/100]   
05/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Someone in the mood to hear another neo postpunk band or just like they’re describing themselves, a band that plays new wave rock or electro indie disco?

Anyway, Suzerain isn’t maybe an act that we would describe as a typical Peek-A-Boo band but not only was their record one of the first that landed in our office but we also wanna give new talent an optimal chance to exposure themselves.

They’re indeed the kind of musicians who like to bet on different horses as they say but in the case of Suzerain this can only be a good thing as the 80’s touch that is flavouring their indie sounds gives it an extra touch so you won’t categorize them as just one of the many.

After five years of being at the London club scene, they finally have their debut out which features twelve tracks. The vocals from singer Tom Pether is perhaps a bit too polished to get a grip on you but it’s definitely a godsend to finally hear a band who decided to hang on to the guitar sound U2 were having during their “October”-days.

Ten years ago we definitely would have compared them to the likes of Marion or Rachel Stamp, but who remembers them?

A tip for those who like Britpop that has some new wave and punk (well, some) influences.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


NL

Heeft er iemand zin in nog eens een neo postpunk band, of (zoals ze zich zelf graag omschrijven) iets dat klinkt als new wave rock of electro indie disco?

Nu goed, Suzerain is misschien niet meteen het soort groep dat wij zouden gaan bestempelen als een typische Peek-A-Boo act maar niet alleen was hun debuut één van de eerste releases die op onze redactie kwam binnengewandeld, ook hebben we bij Peek-A-Boo steeds een luisterend oor voor aanstormend talent.

Het mogen dan wel het soort muzikanten zijn die er hun hand niet voor om draaien om op verschillende paardjes te wedden, toch is die 80’s touch bij Suzerain een goede zaak want het is net hierdoor dat deze groep niet het lot toegedeeld krijgt om bestempeld te worden als één van de vele.

Na vijf jaar te hebben doorgebracht in de Londense clubscene, hebben ze dan nu eindelijk hun debuut uitgebracht waarop twaalf nummers prijken.

De stem van Tom Pether mag dan misschien net iets te gepolijst klinken, toch is het een opkikker dat er terug een groep is die de gitaren uit de kast tovert zoals we die kennen van U2 uit hun “October”-dagen.

Tien jaar geleden zouden we een groep als Suzerain nog hebben vergeleken met Marion of Rachel Stamp, maar wie herinnert zich deze nog?

Een tip dus voor zij die houden van Britpop met new wave en punk (nou ja) invloeden.

Suzerain

Didier BECU
05/05/2011


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go