tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life

SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)

10 albums that changed my life

Article
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

Peek-A-Boo asked Suzi Sabotage, the keyboard player of Virgin in Veil and Masquerade, to come up with the ten albums that changed her life. Here they are, in no particular order.

SEX PISTOLS - Never Mind the Bollocks
The first proper punk band I started listening to. I fell in love with the lyrics first, then the music. My number one favorite is still Bodies.

MIRANDA SEX GARDEN - Fairytales of Slavery
Dramatic, dark: the violin, heavy guitars and drums combined with etheral singing. This is what post-punk would sound like in the Victorian ages.

SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES - The Scream
So fucking cold and impressive, full of edge and impeccable style.

NINA HAGEN BAND - Nina Hagen Band
Not much fan of the background band, but the vocals stand out in the most memorable way. Perhaps the best singer I have ever seen.

X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
The quintessence of post-punk, icy and haunting. Anja Huwe is a spot-on frontwoman.

T.A.T.U. - 200km/h in the Wrong Lane
A masterpiece from my childhood/pre-teens - paints perfectly the tragic moods of Russia. In music, too much drama is not enough.

INDICA - Tuuliset tienoot
Another pre-teen soundtrack, music is like echoes of a fairytale. Love the fusion of violin and piano with electrical instruments, mystical romantic atmosphere and themes.

SCHOOLYARD HEROES - Fantastic Wounds
Operatic vocals, punk tempo, metal-esque riffs with better-than-gore lyrics... the first band that I listened to which had punk influences.

PYHAKOULU - Pyhäkoulu
Although there weren't many female-fronted hardcore bands back in the 80s, this one easily filled any empty space with its brilliance. There's a very gothic touch in the lyrics as well.

KAAOS - Totaalinen Kaaos
A perfect example of a hardcore punk album. Austere, dark, intoxicating.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo