tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life

SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)

10 albums that changed my life

Article
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

Peek-A-Boo asked Suzi Sabotage, the keyboard player of Virgin in Veil and Masquerade, to come up with the ten albums that changed her life. Here they are, in no particular order.

SEX PISTOLS - Never Mind the Bollocks
The first proper punk band I started listening to. I fell in love with the lyrics first, then the music. My number one favorite is still Bodies.

MIRANDA SEX GARDEN - Fairytales of Slavery
Dramatic, dark: the violin, heavy guitars and drums combined with etheral singing. This is what post-punk would sound like in the Victorian ages.

SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES - The Scream
So fucking cold and impressive, full of edge and impeccable style.

NINA HAGEN BAND - Nina Hagen Band
Not much fan of the background band, but the vocals stand out in the most memorable way. Perhaps the best singer I have ever seen.

X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
The quintessence of post-punk, icy and haunting. Anja Huwe is a spot-on frontwoman.

T.A.T.U. - 200km/h in the Wrong Lane
A masterpiece from my childhood/pre-teens - paints perfectly the tragic moods of Russia. In music, too much drama is not enough.

INDICA - Tuuliset tienoot
Another pre-teen soundtrack, music is like echoes of a fairytale. Love the fusion of violin and piano with electrical instruments, mystical romantic atmosphere and themes.

SCHOOLYARD HEROES - Fantastic Wounds
Operatic vocals, punk tempo, metal-esque riffs with better-than-gore lyrics... the first band that I listened to which had punk influences.

PYHAKOULU - Pyhäkoulu
Although there weren't many female-fronted hardcore bands back in the 80s, this one easily filled any empty space with its brilliance. There's a very gothic touch in the lyrics as well.

KAAOS - Totaalinen Kaaos
A perfect example of a hardcore punk album. Austere, dark, intoxicating.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life 10/12/2016 : SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) - 10 albums that changed my life

Music reviews

18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature
19
12
ORANGE SECTOR
Alles wird Gold

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'
17
01
Today, 37 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
27 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 4 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!
13
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Socopelli
12
01
AEX
Selected Memories