tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

04/02/2016 : SYL KOUGAÏ - IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

SYL KOUGAÏ

IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

MusicDigital
Avant-gardeElectronics

[85/100]   

Self-released
04/02/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

To celebrate the release of his third full album ΙΧΘΥΣ, French musician Syl Kougaï was invited by Stalker Radio to do a live show with the raw materials of ΙΧΘΥΣ. The result is called Transmission, a radio show of 49 minutes which has much in common with the album, but in which constantly new sounds and moods are created. As a result, Transmission is a nice sequel to the original project. It was broadcast on June 12th, 2015.

Transmission follows the path outlined by ΙΧΘΥΣ. You might consider it to be a live recording of the album, but that would not do justice to the project, because although there are many similarities, this recording sounds sufficiently different. Most notable difference is the addition of sparse distorted vocals, while the project sounds surprisingly homogeneous, which is due to Kougaï’s choice not to work with separate tracks, but to incorporate everything in just one soundscape. Transmission has the quality of one long electronic symphony in which new sounds come to the fore and new impressions are created. The reverberating percussion is omnipresent, but it is not necessarily rhythmic and does not purport to be so. It acts more like a tight background for a variety of electronic sounds and effects, moods and sentiments that lead the listener through dark caverns and deep valleys, and then on the wings of lightning from darkness into light.

The soundscapes of Transmission sound broad and hectic, playful and cheerful, and due to the continuing evolution and variation, there is never any monotony or downtime. Syl Kougaï plunges the listener in his very special world of good sounding synths, abrasive drones, metallic percussion, bells, roaring organs, fragile pianos, atmospheric vocals and electronic waste, and creates a unique atmosphere and an equally unique soundscape.

Transmission is an essential complement to the album ΙΧΘΥΣ.

http://smarturl.it/ixoy3-transmission

William LIÉNARD
04/02/2016


NL

Ter gelegenheid van de release van zijn derde album ΙΧΘΥΣ, kreeg de Franse muzikant Syl Kougaï van Stalker Radio een uitnodiging om een live show te maken. Daarvoor gebruikte hij het ruwe materiaal van ΙΧΘΥΣ. Het resultaat heet Transmission, een radioshow van 49 minuten die aanleunt bij het album, maar die tegelijk ook nieuwe en andere accenten legt en een mooi vervolg vormt op het originele project. Transmission is uitgezonden op 12 juni 2015.

Transmission volgt het pad dat eerder in ΙΧΘΥΣ is uitgestippeld en je zou het dus een live-registratie van dat album kunnen noemen, maar dat zou het project tekort doen, want alhoewel er heel wat raakpunten zijn, klinkt deze opname toch weer helemaal anders. Meest opvallende verschil is de toevoeging van spaarzame distorted vocalen, terwijl het project homogener klinkt, wat het gevolg is van de keuze om niet met aparte tracks te werken, maar de verschillende fragmenten uit elkaar te laten evolueren. Transmission beluister je als één lange elektronische symfonie waarin steeds nieuwe geluiden op de voorgrond treden en steeds nieuwe indrukken gewekt worden. De galmende percussie is alom tegenwoordig, maar ze is niet noodzakelijk ritmisch of heeft niet de bedoeling dat te zijn. Ze fungeert veel meer als een strakke achtergrond voor een veelheid van elektronische geluiden en effecten, voor gemoedstoestanden en stemmingen die de luisteraar door donkere spelonken en diepe valleien leiden, en vervolgens op de vleugels van vederlichte lichtbundels vanuit het duister naar het licht.

De soundscapes in Transmission klinken soms breed en hectisch, dan weer speels en vrolijk, maar als gevolg van de voortdurende evolutie en variatie is er nooit sprake van monotonie of stilstand. Syl Kougaï dompelt ons opnieuw onder in zijn zeer aparte wereld van welluidende synths, schurende drones, metaalachtige percussie, klokken, ronkende orgels, fragiel pianogeluid, atmosferische vocalen en elektronisch afval, en creëert een unieke sfeer en een al even uniek geluidstapijt.

Transmission is een onmisbare aanvulling op het album ΙΧΘΥΣ.

http://smarturl.it/ixoy3-transmission

William LIÉNARD
04/02/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design