tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

16/01/2020 : SYRENOMILIA - A Rose Shattered

SYRENOMILIA

A Rose Shattered

MusicCD single


[75/100]   

Self-released
16/01/2020, Dimi BRANDS

EN

7 minutes and 53 seconds: Syrenomelia does not allow itself more time to convince us of its abilities. Even more, this short period of time seems to be is more than enough to win us over indeed.

Syrenomelia is the project of Wim Lankriet from West Flanders, Brussels (B), who presents here his second single with A Rose Shattered. The previous single Weight Of A Beautiful Mind was published last year and appeared digitally only.

Syrenomelia has only been around since 2018, and we already got to know them through a great remix of Ashtoreth's ‘The Stars Turn Towards Their Ending’.

Choosing is losing, and so is the world of Lankriet: he pushes Syrenomelia forward as an alternative rock project in which indie, gothic and metal aesthetics are combined in songs that expose the soul and in which themes such as psychological unrest and subversive sexuality are the common treat.

Lankriet bases his lyrics on personal experiences, thus you become acquainted with his reflections on the dark and deviant sides of the human psyche. For the title track, Lankriet found inspiration in the case of Mary Bell, the English girl who at the age of 11 killed two little boys in the slums of Newcastle in the late 1960s, the second track ‘Like The World Outside’’ also deals with the atrocities that children are capable of.

The results, two strong songs on this single that are bathed in a melancholic atmosphere, and the combination of styles will delight a wide range of music lovers.

If we do have to make a little point of criticism then we think we can say Lankriet's vocals can still be more fine-tuned, but then again: two songs offer only a small margin in terms of setting values. We think mainly the title track could have some more powerful vocals. Fortunately this is amply compensated for by the enormously cool composition that makes it almost impossible to notice as everything blends perfectly into the bigger picture. The vocals on ‘Like The World Outside’ are combined with whispering voices, and that formula works. From the broad sound palette we mainly remember violins and slow-dragging gothic guitars which give the song even more color.

If this barely eight minute acquaintance is the stepping stone to the first full-length player of the same high quality, then we can predict a bright future for Syrenomelia. If it depends up on us, you will often hear this name more often in the future.

Dimi BRANDS
16/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van deze review nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Dimi BRANDS
16/01/2020


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?