tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd single review

16/01/2020 : SYRENOMILIA - A Rose Shattered

SYRENOMILIA

A Rose Shattered

MusicCD single


[75/100]   

Self-released
16/01/2020, Dimi BRANDS

EN

7 minutes and 53 seconds: Syrenomelia does not allow itself more time to convince us of its abilities. Even more, this short period of time seems to be is more than enough to win us over indeed.

Syrenomelia is the project of Wim Lankriet from West Flanders, Brussels (B), who presents here his second single with A Rose Shattered. The previous single Weight Of A Beautiful Mind was published last year and appeared digitally only.

Syrenomelia has only been around since 2018, and we already got to know them through a great remix of Ashtoreth's ‘The Stars Turn Towards Their Ending’.

Choosing is losing, and so is the world of Lankriet: he pushes Syrenomelia forward as an alternative rock project in which indie, gothic and metal aesthetics are combined in songs that expose the soul and in which themes such as psychological unrest and subversive sexuality are the common treat.

Lankriet bases his lyrics on personal experiences, thus you become acquainted with his reflections on the dark and deviant sides of the human psyche. For the title track, Lankriet found inspiration in the case of Mary Bell, the English girl who at the age of 11 killed two little boys in the slums of Newcastle in the late 1960s, the second track ‘Like The World Outside’’ also deals with the atrocities that children are capable of.

The results, two strong songs on this single that are bathed in a melancholic atmosphere, and the combination of styles will delight a wide range of music lovers.

If we do have to make a little point of criticism then we think we can say Lankriet's vocals can still be more fine-tuned, but then again: two songs offer only a small margin in terms of setting values. We think mainly the title track could have some more powerful vocals. Fortunately this is amply compensated for by the enormously cool composition that makes it almost impossible to notice as everything blends perfectly into the bigger picture. The vocals on ‘Like The World Outside’ are combined with whispering voices, and that formula works. From the broad sound palette we mainly remember violins and slow-dragging gothic guitars which give the song even more color.

If this barely eight minute acquaintance is the stepping stone to the first full-length player of the same high quality, then we can predict a bright future for Syrenomelia. If it depends up on us, you will often hear this name more often in the future.

Dimi BRANDS
16/01/2020


NL

U kan de Nederlandstalige versie van deze review nalezen bij onze collega's van Dark Entries!

Dimi BRANDS
16/01/2020


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis