tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : T.A.N.K. - Symbiosis

T.A.N.K.

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Death MetalMetal

[80/100]   

Symbol Muzik
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

T.A.N.K. (or Think of a New Kind in full), not to be confused with the English TANK, is a French metal band. This is their third album and is recorded in the DOME-studio with producer David Potvin (One-way and Kronos).

Symbiosis has an impressive start with the instrumental intro Away? An acoustic guitar, some strings and drums move to the second song Symbiosis. Here we hear heavy guitars and heavy vocals by Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is an uppercut in the best Slipknot tradition. Baneful Storm also has a nice intro and a good rhythm section. On Blood Relation we hear the guest vocals of Bjorn 'Speed' Strid twho sounds very similar to Raf Pener’s voice. So, not an extra value.

The main guitars sound at times old school heavy metal, but the whole thing is more like modern death metal in the style of Soilwork, In Flames and Machine Head (but more melodic). We already heard the alternating vocals before (grunting, some screaming and sometimes clean) , but it works well here. Our final verdict is that this is a good, solid album with an abundance of energy and fine drumming.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

T.A.N.K. (of Think of a New Kind), en niet te verwarren met de Engelse TANK, is een Franse metal band. Dit is hun derde album, opgenomen in de DOME-studio met producer David Potvin (One-way en Kronos).

Symbiosis begint indrukwekkend met de instrumentale intro Away?. Een akoestische gitaar, strijkers en fijn drumwerk gaan over naar de tweede song Symbiosis. Hier horen we zware gitaren en heavy vocals door Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is een uppercut in de goede Slipknot-traditie en met aardige drumstukken. Baneful Storm heeft ook een leuke intro en een goede ritmesectie. Op Blood Relation horen we de gastvocalen van Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid die volledig in de lijn van de rest liggen, zo erg dat je bijna het verschil met Raf Pener niet merkt. De meerwaarde hiervan zie ik dus niet meteen.

De hoofdgitaren klinken bij momenten old school heavy metal, maar het is wel snedig waardoor het geheel eerder als moderne death metal in de stijl van Soilwork, In Flames en Machine Head (maar melodischer) klinkt. De wisselende vocals (grunten, wat schreeuwen en soms clean) zijnondertussen reeds meerdere malen gehoord, maar hier werkt het goed. Wat mij betreft, mochten de stemmen iets meer naar voren in de mix zitten, maar ons eindoordeel is dat dit een goed, degelijk album is met een overvloed aan energie en met fijn drumwerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void