tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : T.A.N.K. - Symbiosis

T.A.N.K.

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Death MetalMetal

[80/100]   

Symbol Muzik
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

T.A.N.K. (or Think of a New Kind in full), not to be confused with the English TANK, is a French metal band. This is their third album and is recorded in the DOME-studio with producer David Potvin (One-way and Kronos).

Symbiosis has an impressive start with the instrumental intro Away? An acoustic guitar, some strings and drums move to the second song Symbiosis. Here we hear heavy guitars and heavy vocals by Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is an uppercut in the best Slipknot tradition. Baneful Storm also has a nice intro and a good rhythm section. On Blood Relation we hear the guest vocals of Bjorn 'Speed' Strid twho sounds very similar to Raf Pener’s voice. So, not an extra value.

The main guitars sound at times old school heavy metal, but the whole thing is more like modern death metal in the style of Soilwork, In Flames and Machine Head (but more melodic). We already heard the alternating vocals before (grunting, some screaming and sometimes clean) , but it works well here. Our final verdict is that this is a good, solid album with an abundance of energy and fine drumming.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

T.A.N.K. (of Think of a New Kind), en niet te verwarren met de Engelse TANK, is een Franse metal band. Dit is hun derde album, opgenomen in de DOME-studio met producer David Potvin (One-way en Kronos).

Symbiosis begint indrukwekkend met de instrumentale intro Away?. Een akoestische gitaar, strijkers en fijn drumwerk gaan over naar de tweede song Symbiosis. Hier horen we zware gitaren en heavy vocals door Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is een uppercut in de goede Slipknot-traditie en met aardige drumstukken. Baneful Storm heeft ook een leuke intro en een goede ritmesectie. Op Blood Relation horen we de gastvocalen van Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid die volledig in de lijn van de rest liggen, zo erg dat je bijna het verschil met Raf Pener niet merkt. De meerwaarde hiervan zie ik dus niet meteen.

De hoofdgitaren klinken bij momenten old school heavy metal, maar het is wel snedig waardoor het geheel eerder als moderne death metal in de stijl van Soilwork, In Flames en Machine Head (maar melodischer) klinkt. De wisselende vocals (grunten, wat schreeuwen en soms clean) zijnondertussen reeds meerdere malen gehoord, maar hier werkt het goed. Wat mij betreft, mochten de stemmen iets meer naar voren in de mix zitten, maar ons eindoordeel is dat dit een goed, degelijk album is met een overvloed aan energie en met fijn drumwerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You