tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : T.A.N.K. - Symbiosis

T.A.N.K.

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Death MetalMetal

[80/100]   

Symbol Muzik
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

T.A.N.K. (or Think of a New Kind in full), not to be confused with the English TANK, is a French metal band. This is their third album and is recorded in the DOME-studio with producer David Potvin (One-way and Kronos).

Symbiosis has an impressive start with the instrumental intro Away? An acoustic guitar, some strings and drums move to the second song Symbiosis. Here we hear heavy guitars and heavy vocals by Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is an uppercut in the best Slipknot tradition. Baneful Storm also has a nice intro and a good rhythm section. On Blood Relation we hear the guest vocals of Bjorn 'Speed' Strid twho sounds very similar to Raf Pener’s voice. So, not an extra value.

The main guitars sound at times old school heavy metal, but the whole thing is more like modern death metal in the style of Soilwork, In Flames and Machine Head (but more melodic). We already heard the alternating vocals before (grunting, some screaming and sometimes clean) , but it works well here. Our final verdict is that this is a good, solid album with an abundance of energy and fine drumming.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

T.A.N.K. (of Think of a New Kind), en niet te verwarren met de Engelse TANK, is een Franse metal band. Dit is hun derde album, opgenomen in de DOME-studio met producer David Potvin (One-way en Kronos).

Symbiosis begint indrukwekkend met de instrumentale intro Away?. Een akoestische gitaar, strijkers en fijn drumwerk gaan over naar de tweede song Symbiosis. Hier horen we zware gitaren en heavy vocals door Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is een uppercut in de goede Slipknot-traditie en met aardige drumstukken. Baneful Storm heeft ook een leuke intro en een goede ritmesectie. Op Blood Relation horen we de gastvocalen van Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid die volledig in de lijn van de rest liggen, zo erg dat je bijna het verschil met Raf Pener niet merkt. De meerwaarde hiervan zie ik dus niet meteen.

De hoofdgitaren klinken bij momenten old school heavy metal, maar het is wel snedig waardoor het geheel eerder als moderne death metal in de stijl van Soilwork, In Flames en Machine Head (maar melodischer) klinkt. De wisselende vocals (grunten, wat schreeuwen en soms clean) zijnondertussen reeds meerdere malen gehoord, maar hier werkt het goed. Wat mij betreft, mochten de stemmen iets meer naar voren in de mix zitten, maar ons eindoordeel is dat dit een goed, degelijk album is met een overvloed aan energie en met fijn drumwerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac
13
07
HER OWN WORLD
A Different Kind Of Reality

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
02
08
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast