tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : T.A.N.K. - Symbiosis

T.A.N.K.

Symbiosis

MusicCD
Death MetalMetal

[80/100]   

Symbol Muzik
20/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

T.A.N.K. (or Think of a New Kind in full), not to be confused with the English TANK, is a French metal band. This is their third album and is recorded in the DOME-studio with producer David Potvin (One-way and Kronos).

Symbiosis has an impressive start with the instrumental intro Away? An acoustic guitar, some strings and drums move to the second song Symbiosis. Here we hear heavy guitars and heavy vocals by Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is an uppercut in the best Slipknot tradition. Baneful Storm also has a nice intro and a good rhythm section. On Blood Relation we hear the guest vocals of Bjorn 'Speed' Strid twho sounds very similar to Raf Pener’s voice. So, not an extra value.

The main guitars sound at times old school heavy metal, but the whole thing is more like modern death metal in the style of Soilwork, In Flames and Machine Head (but more melodic). We already heard the alternating vocals before (grunting, some screaming and sometimes clean) , but it works well here. Our final verdict is that this is a good, solid album with an abundance of energy and fine drumming.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


NL

T.A.N.K. (of Think of a New Kind), en niet te verwarren met de Engelse TANK, is een Franse metal band. Dit is hun derde album, opgenomen in de DOME-studio met producer David Potvin (One-way en Kronos).

Symbiosis begint indrukwekkend met de instrumentale intro Away?. Een akoestische gitaar, strijkers en fijn drumwerk gaan over naar de tweede song Symbiosis. Hier horen we zware gitaren en heavy vocals door Raf Pener. From the Straight And The Narrow is een uppercut in de goede Slipknot-traditie en met aardige drumstukken. Baneful Storm heeft ook een leuke intro en een goede ritmesectie. Op Blood Relation horen we de gastvocalen van Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid die volledig in de lijn van de rest liggen, zo erg dat je bijna het verschil met Raf Pener niet merkt. De meerwaarde hiervan zie ik dus niet meteen.

De hoofdgitaren klinken bij momenten old school heavy metal, maar het is wel snedig waardoor het geheel eerder als moderne death metal in de stijl van Soilwork, In Flames en Machine Head (maar melodischer) klinkt. De wisselende vocals (grunten, wat schreeuwen en soms clean) zijnondertussen reeds meerdere malen gehoord, maar hier werkt het goed. Wat mij betreft, mochten de stemmen iets meer naar voren in de mix zitten, maar ons eindoordeel is dat dit een goed, degelijk album is met een overvloed aan energie en met fijn drumwerk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
20/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself