tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

TACOCAT

Gent, Cafe Video (23/05/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Almost every weekday, you can enjoy a free concert in the Ghent (Belgium) music bar Video. Ideal to discover a band if you don’t want to spend your pocket money, and believe us, Tacocat is more than worth exploring. Afterwards, the lovely singer Emily Nokes told us that the newest band of Kathleen Hanna is now on their Hardly Art label, ) and yes: Tacocat is also pure Riot Grrrl, but with an irresistible poppy character.

As always, it was no easy to conquer a place at the front row at the Video. But those who managed to do so, stayed there until the end of the concert. In November 2014, the quartet from Seattle already was on stage in this music pub, and although the heat was almost unbearable, they really were having fun again. Logical, because a touchingly Emily told the Ghent audience that this was the last gig of the European tour.

Most of the songs were taken from the third album Lost Time: 30 minutes of pure indie pop. Danceable, a tad naive, very poppy and irresistibly sexy. Exactly the same words apply to the set that they played in Ghent. With her tambourine in hand, it looked as if Emily was singing in her bedroom (including the playful dance moves), but it worked every second. The guitars sounded very loud at times (the band is a fan of Nirvana), but the tracks are suitable for each ear. Sometimes the songs are about horses (Horse Grrrls), about cats (Cat Fancy) or about people who have bad luck because they have to work on weekends (I Hate The Weekend).

You don’t have to use your brain that much with Tacocat. The band name implies exactly what you see and hear, but sometimes that feels simply delicious!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Bijna iedere weekdag kun je in het Gentse muziekcafé Video een gratis concertje meepikken. Ideaal dus om zonder al je zakgeld uit te geven een nieuw bandje te ontdekken, en geloof ons: Tacocat is meer dan het ontdekken waard.

Na afloop vertelde de sympathieke zangeres Emily Nokes ons dat de nieuwste band van Kathleen Hanna voortaan op hun label (Hardly Art) zit en jawel, ook Tacocat is pure Riot Grrrl, maar wel met een onweerstaanbaar poppy karakter.

Het was zoals steeds geen sinecure om vooraan een plaatsje te veroveren in de flink gevulde Video. Maar wie daar wel in slaagde, bleef staan. In november 2014 stond het viertal uit Seattle al eens op het podium van dit muziekcafé, en ofschoon de hitte bijna ondraagbaar was, hadden ze er enorm veel zin in. Dat was ook een beetje logisch, want op een bijna ontroerende wijze vertelde Emily dat het optreden in Gent het laatste van hun Europese toer is.

De meeste songs kwamen uit hun derde plaat Lost Time, waarop je 30 minuten zorgeloze indiepop kan horen. Dansbaar, een tikkeltje naïef, ontzettend poppy en onweerstaanbaar sexy. Zo was ook de set van gisteren. Met haar tamboerijn in de hand, leek het wel alsof Emily in haar slaapkamer stond te zingen (inclusief de speelse danspasjes), maar het werkte iedere second. Ook al gaan de gitaren wel eens in het rood (de band is fan van stadsgenoot Nirvana), blijven de tracks geschikt voor ieder oor. Soms gaan de liedjes over paarden (Horse Grrrls), over poezen (Cat Fancy) of gewoon over mensen die pech hebben dat ze in het weekend moeten werken (I Hate The Weekend).

Veel diepgang moet je in Tacocat niet zoeken. De bandnaam impliceert exact wat je ziet en hoort, maar soms voelt zoiets overheerlijk aan!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design