tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

15/09/2015 : TEARS FOR FEARS - The Hurting

TEARS FOR FEARS

The Hurting

MusicAlbum Classics
PsychedelicSynth Wave

[83/100]   

Mercury Records
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

I still remember those days when we were young, innocent and still a virgin. We were walking through the streets singing those lyrics from “Shout!” and nothing could have us stop thinking that we were the new alternatives. Indeed, Songs From The Big Chair was a great album that created a brand new sort of music: a new wave band that was perfect for the charts! False, of course, because we later found out (when we were not innocent aymore, but still a virgin) that two years before, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith made a much better album: their debut The Hurting.

The album was a huge success in the UK (over here it was not!) and that’s pretty bizarre, if you know that the main line of the hit single Mad World had lines like “the dreams in which I'm dying are the best I ever had”. I mean, can you really think of anything much darker than that? Melancholy was indeed the driving force of their synthpop that was both experimental (the title track for instance or Start Of The Breakdown) and psychedelic (something that would later dominate their sound and also ruin them).

This debut album was made in 1983, and still has a fresh sound and that’s certainly because of the timeless melodies and the cold atmosphere. Tears For Fears were never the same again, but then again strange things happen!

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


Music reviews

05
12
SUNDAECRUSH
A Real Sensation
04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life