tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD

London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

Concert
New wave 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

As soon as I found out that Television was playing at the Electric Brixton in London, the day after the Neil Young + Promise of the Real gig in the O2 arena, I booked another night in London. Sure thing, Television is an iconic band and I had never seen the band of Marquee Moon (1977) on stage.

Television has come together again and it's rumoured that they're working on new material. The band is doing a small tour and performed at the Electric Brixton on sunday, 12th of June. The venue wasn't sold out, but by the time Television was on stage, the house was almost fully packed. The band played a rather short but powerful set and almost all the songs from the Marquee Moon album.

Support act for Television was the young singer-songwriter Lail Arad. She is more than just a girl with a guitar and voice. Arad surprised with a collection of songs about everything and nothing, about life, never without a good sense of humor or self-reflection. She went for some interaction with the Television fans, but unfortunately half the audience was not even listening and talking loud, not caring about what was going on on stage. But Arad did her best and I'm pretty sure that those who were listening truly enjoyed it, as did I.

Lail Arad presented The Onion, her second album, released on June, 2th. She sold the album herself, on vinyl or with a download and lyrics book (same title). No cd's, 'cause, CD's are dead, Arad told us.

Armed with voice and acoustic guitar, Arad proved that she has some really good songs: Milo, Lay Down, No Nostalgia and certainly 1934 (a song for Leonard Cohen). When your own songs are good enough, you don't really need covers to gain attention. But when you do play a cover, it better be good. Arad's version of The Velvet Underground's Sunday Morning was the perfect example of making a song your own. In less than an hour, Lail Arad convinced those that were listening to het music. I think we will hear much more of this chanteuse!

After what seemed to become and endless piano-loop (20 minutes!), Television hit the stage, welcomed by a loud applause. Tom Verlaine and Fred Smith waved, I guess that was their hello, and the band played Prove It. Billy Ficca was hitting the drums so hard one would think he might demolish them. Jimmy Rip's bass also sounded very loud and it almost felt like a stump in the stomach. But the overall sound was very tight and loud.

On my notes I read: how is it possible to sing so much out of tune! (in capitals). Of course I should have known that Tom Verlaine isn't the world's best singer, fact. His voice clearly hasn't aged very well, at times it sounded really awfull and completely out of tune. However, Verlaine's guitar playing was impeccable, as was Fred Smith's.

If you leave out Verlaine's singing capacities or the lack of it, these are of course very good musicians, playing with the highest concentration. The sound in gems such as Torn Curtain, See No Evil and the epical Guiding Light and signature song Marquee Moon reached perfection.

The band played almost the whole of Marquee Moon, in a perfect way and clinically correct. But there was nog sign of passion or drive. And when the gig was halfway, I started looking at my watch. It seemed as if the band did not enjoy what it was doing.

Of course this wasn't a bad gig, and these are excellent musicians. But where was the involvement and the passion? Maybe my expectations were far to high?

Television will play in Holland on the 16th of june, at the Patronaat in Haarlem.

Setlist:
Prove It / Torn Curtain / 1880 or So / Venus de Milo / See No Evil / Elevation / Persia / Guiding Lights/ Marquee Moon

Encore:
I'm Gonna Find You

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Toen ik vernam dat Television in London speelde, daags na Neil Young + Promise of the Real, boekte ik zonder twijfelen een hotelnacht bij. Television is een band die tot de verbeelding spreekt. Wie kan een meesterwerk als Marquee Moon (1977) ontkennen of de iconische status die de band van Tom Verlaine heeft? Television is sinds een paar jaar weer actief en er zou zelfs een nieuw album op komst zijn. En nu wordt er dus (beperkt) getourd.

Television speelde in een niet uitverkochte, maar goed gevulde Electric Brixton, in de gelijknamige bourough of London. De band speelde een korte en krachtige set die nogal routineus overkwam. In die set zat wel bijna het hele Marquee Moon-album.

Voor het aan Verlaine en de zijnen was, mocht Lail Arad openen. Zij wist te verrassen met haar kleine, mooie (protest-)liedjes, niet gespeend van humor en zelfrelativering. En soms was het ook gewoon grappig. Ze pingelde naar wat interactie maar dat lukte niet bijster goed. Erger nog: zowat de helft van zaal stond luidop te praten alsof er helemaal niemand op het podium stond. Ondanks zoveel groffe boertigheid, maakte Arad er het beste van en ik ben zeker dat diegenen die wél luisterden meteen verkocht waren.

Lail Arad stelde haar tweede album The Onion voor, dat werd uitgebracht op 2 juni. Je kon het tijdens de pauze of na de Television-set kopen op vinyl of met het prachtig uitgegeven gelijknamige boekje met alle liedjesteksten en een downloadlink naar het album, want cd's zijn dood, aldus Arad.

De songs van de Israëlisch-Britse chanteuse zijn sterk, met als uitschieters Milo, Lay Down, No Nostalgia en zeer zeker 1934 (a song for Leonard Cohen). Met een goede voorraad eigen werk heb je dus géén covers nodig om de aandacht te trekken, maar laat we eraan toevoegen dat haar versie van Sunday Morning van The Velvet Underground meesterlijk was. In iets minder dan een uurtje wist Arad te overtuigen. Om te volgen!

Toen Television dan, ruim twintig minuten na een eindeloze piano-loop als introtape, het podium beklom, gebeurde dat onder luid applaus. De heren zetten Prove it in. Wat meteen opviel was de strakke en luide sound. Billy Ficca sloeg zo hard op de drums dat je dacht dat hij ze stuk zou maken. Ook de bas van Jimmy Rip was een enorm luide stomp in de maag. Op mijn notities lees ik, in hoofdletters dan nog, hoé vals kan een mens zingen?. Dat Tom Verlaine niet 's werelds beste zanger is, is géén nieuws, dat de stem ei zo na op is, wist ik ook niet, maar dat hij een kampioen in vals zingen is? Het stond in schril contrast met het knappe gitaarspel van hemzelf en van Fred Smith.

Als we de zang even buiten beschouwing laten, was er aan muzikaliteit geen gebrek. En dat hoorde je in favorieten zoals Torn Curtain, See No Evil, het lang uitgerekte Guiding Light en de signature song Marquee Moon. Maar er mocht wel wat meer gedrevenheid en betrokkenheid getoond worden. Er was amper tot geen interactie met het publiek. Misschien als gevolg van de uiterste concentratie, maar het leek op vier heren die hard aan het werken zijn omdat dat nu eenmaal moet. Alleszins bekroop me een take the money and run-gevoel en dat zette, samen met de vocals van Verlaine, een domper op het genieten.

Daarom was het nog geen slecht concert. Dat Television er live we degelijk stáát en dat de bandleden uitstekende muzikanten zijn, het staat buiten kijf. Maar het was een klinische en weinig enthousiasmerende vertoning. Misschien had ik te hoge verwachtingen i.v.m. mijn eerste Television- liveconcert?

Op donderdag 16 juni speelt de band in Het Patronaat in Haarlem.

Setlist:
Prove It / Torn Curtain / 1880 or So / Venus de Milo / See No Evil / Elevation / Persia / Guiding Lights/ Marquee Moon

Encore:
I'm Gonna Find You

foto's: Mark Van Mullem

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death