tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD

London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

Concert
New wave 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

As soon as I found out that Television was playing at the Electric Brixton in London, the day after the Neil Young + Promise of the Real gig in the O2 arena, I booked another night in London. Sure thing, Television is an iconic band and I had never seen the band of Marquee Moon (1977) on stage.

Television has come together again and it's rumoured that they're working on new material. The band is doing a small tour and performed at the Electric Brixton on sunday, 12th of June. The venue wasn't sold out, but by the time Television was on stage, the house was almost fully packed. The band played a rather short but powerful set and almost all the songs from the Marquee Moon album.

Support act for Television was the young singer-songwriter Lail Arad. She is more than just a girl with a guitar and voice. Arad surprised with a collection of songs about everything and nothing, about life, never without a good sense of humor or self-reflection. She went for some interaction with the Television fans, but unfortunately half the audience was not even listening and talking loud, not caring about what was going on on stage. But Arad did her best and I'm pretty sure that those who were listening truly enjoyed it, as did I.

Lail Arad presented The Onion, her second album, released on June, 2th. She sold the album herself, on vinyl or with a download and lyrics book (same title). No cd's, 'cause, CD's are dead, Arad told us.

Armed with voice and acoustic guitar, Arad proved that she has some really good songs: Milo, Lay Down, No Nostalgia and certainly 1934 (a song for Leonard Cohen). When your own songs are good enough, you don't really need covers to gain attention. But when you do play a cover, it better be good. Arad's version of The Velvet Underground's Sunday Morning was the perfect example of making a song your own. In less than an hour, Lail Arad convinced those that were listening to het music. I think we will hear much more of this chanteuse!

After what seemed to become and endless piano-loop (20 minutes!), Television hit the stage, welcomed by a loud applause. Tom Verlaine and Fred Smith waved, I guess that was their hello, and the band played Prove It. Billy Ficca was hitting the drums so hard one would think he might demolish them. Jimmy Rip's bass also sounded very loud and it almost felt like a stump in the stomach. But the overall sound was very tight and loud.

On my notes I read: how is it possible to sing so much out of tune! (in capitals). Of course I should have known that Tom Verlaine isn't the world's best singer, fact. His voice clearly hasn't aged very well, at times it sounded really awfull and completely out of tune. However, Verlaine's guitar playing was impeccable, as was Fred Smith's.

If you leave out Verlaine's singing capacities or the lack of it, these are of course very good musicians, playing with the highest concentration. The sound in gems such as Torn Curtain, See No Evil and the epical Guiding Light and signature song Marquee Moon reached perfection.

The band played almost the whole of Marquee Moon, in a perfect way and clinically correct. But there was nog sign of passion or drive. And when the gig was halfway, I started looking at my watch. It seemed as if the band did not enjoy what it was doing.

Of course this wasn't a bad gig, and these are excellent musicians. But where was the involvement and the passion? Maybe my expectations were far to high?

Television will play in Holland on the 16th of june, at the Patronaat in Haarlem.

Setlist:
Prove It / Torn Curtain / 1880 or So / Venus de Milo / See No Evil / Elevation / Persia / Guiding Lights/ Marquee Moon

Encore:
I'm Gonna Find You

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Toen ik vernam dat Television in London speelde, daags na Neil Young + Promise of the Real, boekte ik zonder twijfelen een hotelnacht bij. Television is een band die tot de verbeelding spreekt. Wie kan een meesterwerk als Marquee Moon (1977) ontkennen of de iconische status die de band van Tom Verlaine heeft? Television is sinds een paar jaar weer actief en er zou zelfs een nieuw album op komst zijn. En nu wordt er dus (beperkt) getourd.

Television speelde in een niet uitverkochte, maar goed gevulde Electric Brixton, in de gelijknamige bourough of London. De band speelde een korte en krachtige set die nogal routineus overkwam. In die set zat wel bijna het hele Marquee Moon-album.

Voor het aan Verlaine en de zijnen was, mocht Lail Arad openen. Zij wist te verrassen met haar kleine, mooie (protest-)liedjes, niet gespeend van humor en zelfrelativering. En soms was het ook gewoon grappig. Ze pingelde naar wat interactie maar dat lukte niet bijster goed. Erger nog: zowat de helft van zaal stond luidop te praten alsof er helemaal niemand op het podium stond. Ondanks zoveel groffe boertigheid, maakte Arad er het beste van en ik ben zeker dat diegenen die wél luisterden meteen verkocht waren.

Lail Arad stelde haar tweede album The Onion voor, dat werd uitgebracht op 2 juni. Je kon het tijdens de pauze of na de Television-set kopen op vinyl of met het prachtig uitgegeven gelijknamige boekje met alle liedjesteksten en een downloadlink naar het album, want cd's zijn dood, aldus Arad.

De songs van de Israëlisch-Britse chanteuse zijn sterk, met als uitschieters Milo, Lay Down, No Nostalgia en zeer zeker 1934 (a song for Leonard Cohen). Met een goede voorraad eigen werk heb je dus géén covers nodig om de aandacht te trekken, maar laat we eraan toevoegen dat haar versie van Sunday Morning van The Velvet Underground meesterlijk was. In iets minder dan een uurtje wist Arad te overtuigen. Om te volgen!

Toen Television dan, ruim twintig minuten na een eindeloze piano-loop als introtape, het podium beklom, gebeurde dat onder luid applaus. De heren zetten Prove it in. Wat meteen opviel was de strakke en luide sound. Billy Ficca sloeg zo hard op de drums dat je dacht dat hij ze stuk zou maken. Ook de bas van Jimmy Rip was een enorm luide stomp in de maag. Op mijn notities lees ik, in hoofdletters dan nog, hoé vals kan een mens zingen?. Dat Tom Verlaine niet 's werelds beste zanger is, is géén nieuws, dat de stem ei zo na op is, wist ik ook niet, maar dat hij een kampioen in vals zingen is? Het stond in schril contrast met het knappe gitaarspel van hemzelf en van Fred Smith.

Als we de zang even buiten beschouwing laten, was er aan muzikaliteit geen gebrek. En dat hoorde je in favorieten zoals Torn Curtain, See No Evil, het lang uitgerekte Guiding Light en de signature song Marquee Moon. Maar er mocht wel wat meer gedrevenheid en betrokkenheid getoond worden. Er was amper tot geen interactie met het publiek. Misschien als gevolg van de uiterste concentratie, maar het leek op vier heren die hard aan het werken zijn omdat dat nu eenmaal moet. Alleszins bekroop me een take the money and run-gevoel en dat zette, samen met de vocals van Verlaine, een domper op het genieten.

Daarom was het nog geen slecht concert. Dat Television er live we degelijk stáát en dat de bandleden uitstekende muzikanten zijn, het staat buiten kijf. Maar het was een klinische en weinig enthousiasmerende vertoning. Misschien had ik te hoge verwachtingen i.v.m. mijn eerste Television- liveconcert?

Op donderdag 16 juni speelt de band in Het Patronaat in Haarlem.

Setlist:
Prove It / Torn Curtain / 1880 or So / Venus de Milo / See No Evil / Elevation / Persia / Guiding Lights/ Marquee Moon

Encore:
I'm Gonna Find You

foto's: Mark Van Mullem

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD - London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO