tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : TENEK - Smoke & Mirrors

TENEK

Smoke & Mirrors

MusicCD
Electro PopElectro Rock

[75/100]   
06/12/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

Sometimes it is difficult to explain why an album misses that little bit extra. Smoke & Mirrors by Tenek is such a record. The songs are worked out well, the vocals of Peter Steer are above average and musically everything stands like a house. However, there is a lack of highlights on this album. The music always remains on the safe paths of electropop and electrorock. The slick production doesn’t really help the music. A sharper touch and some ragged edges would have given the record a lot more variety: for example, if the electric guitar would have been given a more prominent place in the mix, then Headlights would have been like an explosion. The weakest link are the ballads. Just compare A New Foundation with something by De/Vision. In terms of quality, they’re on the same level, but there’s a big difference in how they convey the feelings.

Tenek made an album with good background music, “if only” is a word you use too much when hearing Smoke & Mirrors. In fact they have the same problem as their compatriots of Hurts. It sounds nice, but the idea that it could have been better spoils the fun. Anyway, the album is definitely worth listening to for fans of electro and electrorock, but it will never be a classic.

Ron SCHOONWATER
06/12/2015


NL

Soms is het lastig te verklaren waarom een album net dat beetje extra’s mist. Smoke & Mirrors van Tenek is zo een plaat. Ze staat vol met prima uitgewerkte tracks. De zang van Peter Steer is ver boven het gemiddelde en ook muzikaal gezien staat die als een huis. Het ontbreekt de band echter aan een of meerdere uitschieters. De muziek blijft namelijk een hele plaat lang veilig binnen de krijtlijnen van elektropop en elektrorock. De gladde productie helpt de muziek niet echt. Af en toe wat scherpere en rafelige randjes hadden de plaat veel meer afwisseling geboden. Als bijv. de elektrische gitaar prominenter in de mix was gezet in Headlights, had die track veel explosiever geklonken. Het grote gemis zit ook in de ballades. Vergelijk A New Foundation bijv. met iets van De/Vision. Kwalitatief scheelt het niets, maar in het overbrengen van het gevoel des te meer.

Tenek sleept je niet echt mee, maar laat het ’slechts’ lekker klinken. Smoke & Mirrors klinkt lekker als achtergrondmuziek, maar soms wordt er meer gevraagd. Hun landgenoten Hurts hebben eigenlijk hetzelfde probleem. Klinkt leuk, maar het besef dat de band veel beter kan verpest het een beetje. Tenek is een album dat zeker het luisteren waard is voor fans van elektropop of elektrorock, maar een echte klassieker zal het niet worden.

Ron SCHOONWATER
06/12/2015


 

Next reviews
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
KAOS! • Moments Of Perfection
THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS • split out 10 inch
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi