tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem

TERRY GILIAM

The Zero Theorem

Movie
Science Fiction

[45/100]   

A-Film
02/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You probably agree that Terry Gilliam is one of the most visionary artists of the past decades, unfortunately things are not going well for the Monty Phyton man. In better times the press (and the public) stood in the first row when a new work was released, but now his films do not even get to the big screen. After The Imaginarium of Dr.Parnassus became another financial blunder, it was difficult to find producers who dared to work with Gilliam. Those who did will probably regret it because, despite a star cast, The Zero Theorem was mercilessly released on the DVD market. We would happily blame the audience, as we simply love the genius that gave us beauty with 12 Monkeys and Brazil, but the truth is that The Zero Theorem is anything but a good movie.

After half an hour you realize having seen something special, but it is difficult to define the meaning or goal of the confusing (and pretty disappointing) scenario. Gilliam is nonetheless a visual master, and even though he had to work with (to his standards) a ridiculous budget, the decors are again impressive.

Qohen Leth (Christoph Waltz) works for Mancom, but he actually does not know what he is doing. No one puts the question, people are happy with their existence and are especially excited about the gadgets that make their life happier. Qohen wants to discover the meaning of it all, it all comes down to the fact that life has no meaning at all (hence the title).

Gilliam uses big words for simply saying that this life is meaningless. We are not created for a higher purpose, our earthly existence is as useless (or if you like, useful) as that of, say, a mosquito. Just as he did in his earlier films, Gilliam mocks humanity, addicted to advertising and luxury goods, but it just does not have the same effect as before. Unlike Brazil and Twelve Monkeys (these two form a trilogy with The Zero Theorem) the film lacks a real scenario. The only one who saves this film is Christoph Waltz, for the rest The Zero Theorem is no more than the painful realization that the best days of Gilliam seem to be over.

The Zero Theorem is out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


NL

Niemand zal je tegenspreken als je beweert dat Terry Gilliam één van de meest visionaire kunstenaars van de afgelopen decennia is. Helaas gaat het niet goed met de Monty Phyton-man. Vroeger stond de pers (en het publiek) op de eerste rij als hij een nieuw werk uitbracht, maar tegenwoordig halen zijn films niet eens het witte doek. Nadat The Imaginarium of Dr.Parnassus de zoveelste financiële uitschuiver was, werd het moeilijk om nog producenten te vinden die het aandurfden om met Gilliam in zee te gaan. Degenen die dat wel deden zullen het zich wellicht beklagen, want ondanks een sterrencast werd The Zero Theorem genadeloos op de dvd-markt gedropt. We zouden met plezier de schuld op de filmkijker schuiven, al was het maar omdat we zo veel respect hebben voor het genie dat ons leven met 12 Monkeys en Brazil aangenamer maakte, maar de waarheid is dat The Zero Theorem een allesbehalve goede film is.

Na anderhalf uur besef je dat je naar iets aparts heb gekeken, alleen is het moeilijk om te verwoorden wat je hebt geleerd uit het verwarrende (en vrij ontgoochelende scenario). Gilliam blijft natuurlijk een visuele meester, en ook al moest hij met een (naar zijn normen) vrij belachelijk budget werken, zijn de decors wederom indrukwekkend.

Qohen Leth (Christoph Waltz) werkt voor Mancom, maar eigenlijk weet hij niet waarmee hij bezig is. Niemand stelt zich die vraag, de mensen zijn gelukkig met hun bestaan en vooral opgetogen over alle gadgets die het leven gelukkiger maken. Qohen gaat op zoek naar de zin van dit alles, het komt er eigenlijk op neer dat het leven gewoon geen betekenis heeft (vandaar de titel).

Gilliam heeft enorm grote woorden nodig om ons gewoon te zeggen dat dit leven zinloos is. We hopen het wel, maar we zijn niet geschapen voor een hoger doel, ons aardse bestaan is even nutteloos (of zo je wil, nuttig) als dat van pakweg een mug. Net zoals in zijn eerdere films spot Gilliam met de mensheid,verslaafd aan reclame en luxe goederen, alleen heeft het allemaal niet zo veel effect meer als vroeger. Het ontbreekt de film aan een echt scenario, waar Brazil en Twelve Monkeys (deze twee vormen samen met The Zero Theorem een trilogie) niet onder leden. De enige die deze film nog enigszins tot een aanvaardbaar niveau opdrijft is Christoph Waltz, voor de rest is The Zero Theorem niet meer dan het pijnlijke besef dat we ooit (weliswaar in een ver verleden) uitkeken naar de nieuwste Gilliam, nu lijkt het eerder een martelgang op de pijnbank.

The Zero Theorem is uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)