tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE 1975 - I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

THE 1975

I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

MusicCD
Indie

[50/100]   

Polydor
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Three years after their humungous success of their self-titled debut, The 1975 follow it up with more of the same and a ridiculously fey moniker to boot. Matthew Healy's charges have confounded critics - they sound like Notorious-era Duran Duran, they echo INXS in sexual chemistry rankings and hardly trouble Pulitzer Prize panels with the lyrics - "I'll quote 'On The Road' like a twat and wind my way out of the city..." (city annoyingly pronouced ci-ee) being the pick of Change of Heart.

Yet the songs slot nicely into today's ineffectual popworld - neat quirky machined grooves, slick double-speed vocals, profanities to spice things up and retreads of '80s classics. Best tracks on the album for me are the euphoric instrumental Please Be Naked and the epic Lostmyhead which collides with The Blue Nile, Mogwai and M83 via some rejigged lyrics from older track Facetime. But what starts as something of an enjoyable concept at the heart of the album - which essentially sticks to the mundanities of break-ups, shagging, break-ups, more shagging and unrequited desire - ends with more magnolia soul-pop numbers like Somebody Else and the truly awful Loving Someone.

Things take a turn for the better with the elegiac title-track and the odd The Sound which has me wondering whether The 1975 would consider making an album of instrumental/near-instrumental pieces rather than burying them alongside the pap.

OK, I'm being a bit glib - Healy and pals occasionally make interesting hypnotic electro ballads and quote the greatest line from '70s masterpiece Get Carter - "...pissholes in the snow..." - but have The 1975 really got anything timeless in that locker of theirs?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte hun eerste plaat wel NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je ze eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar van ja! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en hun invloeden liggen er soms enorm vingerdik op zonder dat dit op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder weer het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziek als The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein schiet is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een nummer dat de titel I Hate The Weekend draagt?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt