tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE 1975 - I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

THE 1975

I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

MusicCD
Indie

[50/100]   

Polydor
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Three years after their humungous success of their self-titled debut, The 1975 follow it up with more of the same and a ridiculously fey moniker to boot. Matthew Healy's charges have confounded critics - they sound like Notorious-era Duran Duran, they echo INXS in sexual chemistry rankings and hardly trouble Pulitzer Prize panels with the lyrics - "I'll quote 'On The Road' like a twat and wind my way out of the city..." (city annoyingly pronouced ci-ee) being the pick of Change of Heart.

Yet the songs slot nicely into today's ineffectual popworld - neat quirky machined grooves, slick double-speed vocals, profanities to spice things up and retreads of '80s classics. Best tracks on the album for me are the euphoric instrumental Please Be Naked and the epic Lostmyhead which collides with The Blue Nile, Mogwai and M83 via some rejigged lyrics from older track Facetime. But what starts as something of an enjoyable concept at the heart of the album - which essentially sticks to the mundanities of break-ups, shagging, break-ups, more shagging and unrequited desire - ends with more magnolia soul-pop numbers like Somebody Else and the truly awful Loving Someone.

Things take a turn for the better with the elegiac title-track and the odd The Sound which has me wondering whether The 1975 would consider making an album of instrumental/near-instrumental pieces rather than burying them alongside the pap.

OK, I'm being a bit glib - Healy and pals occasionally make interesting hypnotic electro ballads and quote the greatest line from '70s masterpiece Get Carter - "...pissholes in the snow..." - but have The 1975 really got anything timeless in that locker of theirs?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte hun eerste plaat wel NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je ze eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar van ja! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en hun invloeden liggen er soms enorm vingerdik op zonder dat dit op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder weer het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziek als The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein schiet is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een nummer dat de titel I Hate The Weekend draagt?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi