tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE 1975 - I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

THE 1975

I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It

MusicCD
Indie

[50/100]   

Polydor
09/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Three years after their humungous success of their self-titled debut, The 1975 follow it up with more of the same and a ridiculously fey moniker to boot. Matthew Healy's charges have confounded critics - they sound like Notorious-era Duran Duran, they echo INXS in sexual chemistry rankings and hardly trouble Pulitzer Prize panels with the lyrics - "I'll quote 'On The Road' like a twat and wind my way out of the city..." (city annoyingly pronouced ci-ee) being the pick of Change of Heart.

Yet the songs slot nicely into today's ineffectual popworld - neat quirky machined grooves, slick double-speed vocals, profanities to spice things up and retreads of '80s classics. Best tracks on the album for me are the euphoric instrumental Please Be Naked and the epic Lostmyhead which collides with The Blue Nile, Mogwai and M83 via some rejigged lyrics from older track Facetime. But what starts as something of an enjoyable concept at the heart of the album - which essentially sticks to the mundanities of break-ups, shagging, break-ups, more shagging and unrequited desire - ends with more magnolia soul-pop numbers like Somebody Else and the truly awful Loving Someone.

Things take a turn for the better with the elegiac title-track and the odd The Sound which has me wondering whether The 1975 would consider making an album of instrumental/near-instrumental pieces rather than burying them alongside the pap.

OK, I'm being a bit glib - Healy and pals occasionally make interesting hypnotic electro ballads and quote the greatest line from '70s masterpiece Get Carter - "...pissholes in the snow..." - but have The 1975 really got anything timeless in that locker of theirs?

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte hun eerste plaat wel NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je ze eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar van ja! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en hun invloeden liggen er soms enorm vingerdik op zonder dat dit op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder weer het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziek als The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein schiet is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een nummer dat de titel I Hate The Weekend draagt?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Paul PLEDGER
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body