tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Some Vague Design

MusicVinyl
Dark PopDark Wave

[76/100]   

Avant! Records
13/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On the occasion of the release of the debut EP Modern Idea, I said that this London duo sometimes refers to the great examples of the genre, and I said I heard potency and good things. I wondered how the band has grown since.

On the new album we hear again dark and cold wave that take us back to the early years of the genre. The Cure and Lebanon Hanover flashed through my head while listening to the music (without being a copy). It has to do with the instruments and the similar atmosphere. The dreary vocals were put against a dreamy and magical sounding canvas. Thus, I get cinematic images while listening. The album sounds consistent and captivated me until the end. Some listeners will perhaps find think it all sounds the same, but after a few spins that feeling disappears. Comfortable and nicely detailed songs are: Under Reason, Law of Angels and especially Porcelain, probably the strongest track on the album.

To return to my opening statement, I can say that I do hear evolution and that the music has more individuality than the debut EP. Some Vague design contains eight songs that form one beautiful whole. For sale as a digital download on the Bandcamp page and available on vinyl via the Italian Avant! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


NL

Op de debuut-ep Modern Idea vond ik dat dit Londens duo soms nog wat te nadrukkelijk refereerde aan de grote voorbeelden, maar ik hoorde ook potentieel en goede dingen. Benieuwd in hoeverre de band gegroeid is op dit album. We horen opnieuw dark- en coldwave die doen denken aan de beginjaren van het genre. The Cure en Lebanon Hanover flitsen tijdens het beluisteren meermaals voorbij zonder dat je kan zeggen dat de muziek van deze band er echt naast heeft gelegen. Het heeft te maken met de instrumenten en met de gelijksoortige sfeer die wordt gecreëerd. De troosteloze vocals zijn in een dromerig en feeëriek klinkend kleedje gestoken. Daardoor krijg ik filmische beelden op mijn netvlies tijdens het beluisteren. Het album klinkt consistent en weet mij te boeien tot het einde. Voor vluchtige luisteraars klinkt het aanvankelijk misschien allemaal een beetje hetzelfde, maar na meerdere luisterbeurten ebt dat gevoel beslist weg. Fijne en mooi uitgewerkte songs zijn alvast: Under Reason, Law of Angels en vooral Porcelain. Die laatste is echt wel goed.

Terugkerend naar mijn eerdere statement kan ik bevestigen dat ik evolutie hoor en dat de muziek meer eigenheid bevat dan het debuut. Some Vague Design bevat acht songs die samen één mooi geheel vormen. Te koop als digitale download op de Bandcamppagina en verkrijgbaar op vinyl via het Italiaanse AVANT! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design 13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

 

Next reviews
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER • Kinky Star - 9 december
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Other reviews from THE AGNES CIRCLE
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)