tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Some Vague Design

MusicVinyl
Dark PopDark Wave

[76/100]   

Avant! Records
13/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On the occasion of the release of the debut EP Modern Idea, I said that this London duo sometimes refers to the great examples of the genre, and I said I heard potency and good things. I wondered how the band has grown since.

On the new album we hear again dark and cold wave that take us back to the early years of the genre. The Cure and Lebanon Hanover flashed through my head while listening to the music (without being a copy). It has to do with the instruments and the similar atmosphere. The dreary vocals were put against a dreamy and magical sounding canvas. Thus, I get cinematic images while listening. The album sounds consistent and captivated me until the end. Some listeners will perhaps find think it all sounds the same, but after a few spins that feeling disappears. Comfortable and nicely detailed songs are: Under Reason, Law of Angels and especially Porcelain, probably the strongest track on the album.

To return to my opening statement, I can say that I do hear evolution and that the music has more individuality than the debut EP. Some Vague design contains eight songs that form one beautiful whole. For sale as a digital download on the Bandcamp page and available on vinyl via the Italian Avant! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


NL

Op de debuut-ep Modern Idea vond ik dat dit Londens duo soms nog wat te nadrukkelijk refereerde aan de grote voorbeelden, maar ik hoorde ook potentieel en goede dingen. Benieuwd in hoeverre de band gegroeid is op dit album. We horen opnieuw dark- en coldwave die doen denken aan de beginjaren van het genre. The Cure en Lebanon Hanover flitsen tijdens het beluisteren meermaals voorbij zonder dat je kan zeggen dat de muziek van deze band er echt naast heeft gelegen. Het heeft te maken met de instrumenten en met de gelijksoortige sfeer die wordt gecreëerd. De troosteloze vocals zijn in een dromerig en feeëriek klinkend kleedje gestoken. Daardoor krijg ik filmische beelden op mijn netvlies tijdens het beluisteren. Het album klinkt consistent en weet mij te boeien tot het einde. Voor vluchtige luisteraars klinkt het aanvankelijk misschien allemaal een beetje hetzelfde, maar na meerdere luisterbeurten ebt dat gevoel beslist weg. Fijne en mooi uitgewerkte songs zijn alvast: Under Reason, Law of Angels en vooral Porcelain. Die laatste is echt wel goed.

Terugkerend naar mijn eerdere statement kan ik bevestigen dat ik evolutie hoor en dat de muziek meer eigenheid bevat dan het debuut. Some Vague Design bevat acht songs die samen één mooi geheel vormen. Te koop als digitale download op de Bandcamppagina en verkrijgbaar op vinyl via het Italiaanse AVANT! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design 13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

 

Next reviews
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER • Kinky Star - 9 december
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Other reviews from THE AGNES CIRCLE
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction

Music reviews

17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man