tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Some Vague Design

MusicVinyl
Dark PopDark Wave

[76/100]   

Avant! Records
13/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On the occasion of the release of the debut EP Modern Idea, I said that this London duo sometimes refers to the great examples of the genre, and I said I heard potency and good things. I wondered how the band has grown since.

On the new album we hear again dark and cold wave that take us back to the early years of the genre. The Cure and Lebanon Hanover flashed through my head while listening to the music (without being a copy). It has to do with the instruments and the similar atmosphere. The dreary vocals were put against a dreamy and magical sounding canvas. Thus, I get cinematic images while listening. The album sounds consistent and captivated me until the end. Some listeners will perhaps find think it all sounds the same, but after a few spins that feeling disappears. Comfortable and nicely detailed songs are: Under Reason, Law of Angels and especially Porcelain, probably the strongest track on the album.

To return to my opening statement, I can say that I do hear evolution and that the music has more individuality than the debut EP. Some Vague design contains eight songs that form one beautiful whole. For sale as a digital download on the Bandcamp page and available on vinyl via the Italian Avant! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


NL

Op de debuut-ep Modern Idea vond ik dat dit Londens duo soms nog wat te nadrukkelijk refereerde aan de grote voorbeelden, maar ik hoorde ook potentieel en goede dingen. Benieuwd in hoeverre de band gegroeid is op dit album. We horen opnieuw dark- en coldwave die doen denken aan de beginjaren van het genre. The Cure en Lebanon Hanover flitsen tijdens het beluisteren meermaals voorbij zonder dat je kan zeggen dat de muziek van deze band er echt naast heeft gelegen. Het heeft te maken met de instrumenten en met de gelijksoortige sfeer die wordt gecreëerd. De troosteloze vocals zijn in een dromerig en feeëriek klinkend kleedje gestoken. Daardoor krijg ik filmische beelden op mijn netvlies tijdens het beluisteren. Het album klinkt consistent en weet mij te boeien tot het einde. Voor vluchtige luisteraars klinkt het aanvankelijk misschien allemaal een beetje hetzelfde, maar na meerdere luisterbeurten ebt dat gevoel beslist weg. Fijne en mooi uitgewerkte songs zijn alvast: Under Reason, Law of Angels en vooral Porcelain. Die laatste is echt wel goed.

Terugkerend naar mijn eerdere statement kan ik bevestigen dat ik evolutie hoor en dat de muziek meer eigenheid bevat dan het debuut. Some Vague Design bevat acht songs die samen één mooi geheel vormen. Te koop als digitale download op de Bandcamppagina en verkrijgbaar op vinyl via het Italiaanse AVANT! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design 13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

 

Next reviews
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER • Kinky Star - 9 december
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Other reviews from THE AGNES CIRCLE
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Der Eisenberg Sampler Vol 4

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You