tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Some Vague Design

MusicVinyl
Dark PopDark Wave

[76/100]   

Avant! Records
13/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On the occasion of the release of the debut EP Modern Idea, I said that this London duo sometimes refers to the great examples of the genre, and I said I heard potency and good things. I wondered how the band has grown since.

On the new album we hear again dark and cold wave that take us back to the early years of the genre. The Cure and Lebanon Hanover flashed through my head while listening to the music (without being a copy). It has to do with the instruments and the similar atmosphere. The dreary vocals were put against a dreamy and magical sounding canvas. Thus, I get cinematic images while listening. The album sounds consistent and captivated me until the end. Some listeners will perhaps find think it all sounds the same, but after a few spins that feeling disappears. Comfortable and nicely detailed songs are: Under Reason, Law of Angels and especially Porcelain, probably the strongest track on the album.

To return to my opening statement, I can say that I do hear evolution and that the music has more individuality than the debut EP. Some Vague design contains eight songs that form one beautiful whole. For sale as a digital download on the Bandcamp page and available on vinyl via the Italian Avant! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


NL

Op de debuut-ep Modern Idea vond ik dat dit Londens duo soms nog wat te nadrukkelijk refereerde aan de grote voorbeelden, maar ik hoorde ook potentieel en goede dingen. Benieuwd in hoeverre de band gegroeid is op dit album. We horen opnieuw dark- en coldwave die doen denken aan de beginjaren van het genre. The Cure en Lebanon Hanover flitsen tijdens het beluisteren meermaals voorbij zonder dat je kan zeggen dat de muziek van deze band er echt naast heeft gelegen. Het heeft te maken met de instrumenten en met de gelijksoortige sfeer die wordt gecreëerd. De troosteloze vocals zijn in een dromerig en feeëriek klinkend kleedje gestoken. Daardoor krijg ik filmische beelden op mijn netvlies tijdens het beluisteren. Het album klinkt consistent en weet mij te boeien tot het einde. Voor vluchtige luisteraars klinkt het aanvankelijk misschien allemaal een beetje hetzelfde, maar na meerdere luisterbeurten ebt dat gevoel beslist weg. Fijne en mooi uitgewerkte songs zijn alvast: Under Reason, Law of Angels en vooral Porcelain. Die laatste is echt wel goed.

Terugkerend naar mijn eerdere statement kan ik bevestigen dat ik evolutie hoor en dat de muziek meer eigenheid bevat dan het debuut. Some Vague Design bevat acht songs die samen één mooi geheel vormen. Te koop als digitale download op de Bandcamppagina en verkrijgbaar op vinyl via het Italiaanse AVANT! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design 13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

 

Next reviews
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER • Kinky Star - 9 december
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Other reviews from THE AGNES CIRCLE
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall