tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Some Vague Design

MusicVinyl
Dark PopDark Wave

[76/100]   

Avant! Records
13/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On the occasion of the release of the debut EP Modern Idea, I said that this London duo sometimes refers to the great examples of the genre, and I said I heard potency and good things. I wondered how the band has grown since.

On the new album we hear again dark and cold wave that take us back to the early years of the genre. The Cure and Lebanon Hanover flashed through my head while listening to the music (without being a copy). It has to do with the instruments and the similar atmosphere. The dreary vocals were put against a dreamy and magical sounding canvas. Thus, I get cinematic images while listening. The album sounds consistent and captivated me until the end. Some listeners will perhaps find think it all sounds the same, but after a few spins that feeling disappears. Comfortable and nicely detailed songs are: Under Reason, Law of Angels and especially Porcelain, probably the strongest track on the album.

To return to my opening statement, I can say that I do hear evolution and that the music has more individuality than the debut EP. Some Vague design contains eight songs that form one beautiful whole. For sale as a digital download on the Bandcamp page and available on vinyl via the Italian Avant! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


NL

Op de debuut-ep Modern Idea vond ik dat dit Londens duo soms nog wat te nadrukkelijk refereerde aan de grote voorbeelden, maar ik hoorde ook potentieel en goede dingen. Benieuwd in hoeverre de band gegroeid is op dit album. We horen opnieuw dark- en coldwave die doen denken aan de beginjaren van het genre. The Cure en Lebanon Hanover flitsen tijdens het beluisteren meermaals voorbij zonder dat je kan zeggen dat de muziek van deze band er echt naast heeft gelegen. Het heeft te maken met de instrumenten en met de gelijksoortige sfeer die wordt gecreëerd. De troosteloze vocals zijn in een dromerig en feeëriek klinkend kleedje gestoken. Daardoor krijg ik filmische beelden op mijn netvlies tijdens het beluisteren. Het album klinkt consistent en weet mij te boeien tot het einde. Voor vluchtige luisteraars klinkt het aanvankelijk misschien allemaal een beetje hetzelfde, maar na meerdere luisterbeurten ebt dat gevoel beslist weg. Fijne en mooi uitgewerkte songs zijn alvast: Under Reason, Law of Angels en vooral Porcelain. Die laatste is echt wel goed.

Terugkerend naar mijn eerdere statement kan ik bevestigen dat ik evolutie hoor en dat de muziek meer eigenheid bevat dan het debuut. Some Vague Design bevat acht songs die samen één mooi geheel vormen. Te koop als digitale download op de Bandcamppagina en verkrijgbaar op vinyl via het Italiaanse AVANT! Records.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/12/2016


13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design 13/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Some Vague Design

 

Next reviews
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER • Kinky Star - 9 december
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
OPETH • Sorceress
RON HOWARD • Inferno
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Other reviews from THE AGNES CIRCLE
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + DARK WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
BLACK EGG • Songs Of Death And Deception
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21
TOUCHING THE VOID • Obsession EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Temptations Tapes Volume II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning