tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/08/2014 : THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD - The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation

THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD

The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation

MusicCD
BritpopCold WaveDark WaveNew wavePost PunkPost RockPunkRock

[89/100]   

Russianwinterrecords
03/08/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

10 tracks from 10 bands I have never heard of, but the sound of the first ones was good enough to give it a shot as I love to discover unkonw pearls! The idea behind this compilation is a search for more airplay for bands that got on a radio show. Well: at least now I run into them, so part of the mission is a success and now it's your turn...

James Stevenson opens with 'Twilight Riders' a nice retro rocker with a melancholic male voice. It sounds pretty catchy (for sure with the soul-minded backings) and is simply the best track on the album!

More into Punk Rock and New Wave is James Straight and the Wide Stance 'Higher Elevation'. The Buzzcocks ('Ever Fallen in love') comes close to it. The New Frustrations 'Biggest Lie' remind of the young version of Billy Idol. I would call it retro punk wave, I love the melancholic sound and well speeded up guitars! Suzy Blu brings 'Well' a nice New Wave tinted and female fronted track. I like the 80's guitar touch. Ruby Rae 'Deena Met the Devil' reminds me of Hole in a country and western version, a bit like the opening track of 'True Blood'! Workforce 'Body Sweat' sounds like an electronic or New Wave kind of a work out! It takes you indeed to the gym! A nice Yello versus Front242 minded track very much into the 80's! A Fifth Column 'A Fifth Column' sounds a bit like Marc Almond in a dramatic mood. The Feel Bad Hit of the Winter 'Smile' is a nice retro New Wave track and very radio friendly.

Kevin Nolan 'Splinter' is a nice soft rocker, with a bit of a dreamer’s rhythm, very gently weeping you into a deep sleep. Didn't Planet 'We're Goin' Nowhere' is pretty nice post punk with nice vocals and very catchy!

Well: it was worth it! I hope you give it a chance!

Bandcamp

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/08/2014


 

Next reviews
ROSA†CRVX • Live in Thoix (Dark Ritual Night IV) & Lisse (Castlefest)
DAVID WINTERS • The Last Horror Film
ACE FREHLEY • Space Invader
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN
ROB REINER • The Sure Thing
SPIKE JONZE • Her
VIEON • Starfighter
EMPYRIUM • The Turn Of The Tides
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2014, DAY 1 • Thunder in Cologne: Project Pitchfork, Front 242, Blutengel, The Klinik, Clan Of Xymox...

 

Same genre: BRITPOP
MENSWEAR • Nuisance
JAMES • Girl At The End Of The World
NISHE • Underlaps (EP)
YEALLOW • Homebred
GENGAHR • A Dream Outside
BLUR • The Magic Whip
INSPIRAL CARPETS • Inspiral Carpets
JOHNNY MARR • Playland
THE CHARLATANS • Talking In Tones

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PUNK
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked