tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

THE ARCH

Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Arch is popular, but not necessary in its own country. This band was formed in 1986, worked with the famous Belgian producer Ludo Camberlin and the rest is like a small success story, at least abroad. The releases (from The Messier Album to In Sofa ) got The Arch to various European venues. Last year, we got an impression of Fates at BIMFest, but last Friday, the entire CD was presented (a collaboration between Why2K Music and Trisol) in the Brussels city center.

The Backpacker Bar is a cozy club, and we immediately noted that The Arch always adapts itself to the possibilities, even if they’re small or limited. The band always sounds like an extremely professional band. Very underrated by both the Belgian press and public, but who knows, maybe the band will win the battle one day.

The Arch started with the most intense song of the new album: Immerzu, a ballad in German. It is a song which is quite unusual for theband and in which we hear another (unknown) side of the charismatic vocalist Gerd Van Geel.

Soon Gasoline Lady, Fates and Spear Of Destiny were performed. Three tracks that are typical for The Arch’s new album: the music has its roots in goth rock, but it's much more than that! The Arch is not, like so many other bands in the genre, searching for a way to sound like the next Sisters or Mission clone, but it creates a completely unique sound that rises above the level of the average goth rock band. That adorns the Arch and makes it unique.

The band promised us a few old hits, and quite early in the set played Babsi Ist Töt and Wait of the As Quiet A EP that was released (gasp) thirty years ago.

Also Body 'n Angels of the Echozone-time was played, and of course the rest of the (almost perfect) CD Fates. Monsters & I, Robot Sapiens, the subdued One By One, the quite aggressive (well, in a way) Eyes Wide Open and the fantastic Empty Garden (if The Arch ever made the perfect pop song, then this is it!).

After an hour, the gig was over, but Ian, Ivan, Peter , Chiffon 's Tale and Gerd came back to do No Noise and Brain Duck. No, we can not repeat it enough: Fates by The Arch is a record that clings on you and it should be in your collection without any hesitation!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sant in eigen land is een leuke uitdrukking, helaas geldt die niet voor The Arch. Deze band ontstond in 1986, ging toen in zee met producer Ludo Camberlin en de rest van de geschiedenis is een klein succesverhaal, ten minste in het buitenland. De releases (van The Messier Album tot In Sofa) brachten The Arch op allerlei Europese podia. Vorig jaar konden we op BIMFest nog een glimp opvangen van wat we zouden horen op hun nieuweling Fates (een samenwerking tussen Why2K Music en Trisol), maar afgelopen vrijdag werd in het Brusselse stadscentrum de volledige cd aan het publiek voorgesteld.

The Backpacker Bar is een gezellig clubje, en wat meteen opvalt: The Arch past zich steeds aan, hoe klein of beperkt de mogelijkheden ook zijn. Altijd klinkt The Arch als een uiterst professionele band. Ferm ondergewaardeerd door zowel de pers als het publiek, maar wie weet wordt dat gevecht ooit nog wel eens gewonnen.

De band begon met het meest intense lied van de nieuwe cd: Immerzu, een in het Duits gezongen ballade. Het is een song die wat ongewoon is voor The Arch en waarop we de charismatische zanger Gerd Van Geel van een andere, onbekende kant leren kennen.

Meteen daarna kwamen Gasoline Lady, Fates en Spear Of Destiny aan de beurt. Drie tracks die typisch zijn voor de nieuwe plaat van The Arch: muziek die wel haar wortels heeft in de gothrock, maar het is toch veel meer dan dat! The Arch gaat niet, zoals zo vele andere bands uit het genre, op zoek naar alweer een manier om als de zoveelste Sisters- of Missionkloon te klinken, maar creëert een heel eigen sound die boven het niveau van de doorsneegothrock uitstijgt. Dat siert de band en maakt hem tevens uniek.

De band beloofde ons dat we ook nog een paar oude hitjes zouden horen, en jawel, vrij vlug in de set hoorden we zowel Babsi Ist Töt als Wait uit de ep As Quiet As, die bijna (slik) dertig jaar geleden uitkwam. Ook Body ’n Angels (uit de Echozone-periode) werd gespeeld, en natuurlijk de rest van die (bijna perfecte) plaat die Fates toch is. Monsters & I (op plaat met de medewerking van Ronny Moorings), Robot Sapiens, het ingetogen One By One, het vrij agressieve (nou ja) Eyes Wide Open en het fantastische Empty Garden (als The Arch ooit de perfecte popsong schreef, dan moet het deze wel zijn!) Na een uurtje was het afgelopen en kwamen Ian, Ivan, Pieter, Chiffon's Tale en Gerd terug met o.a. No Noise en Brainduck.

Neen, we kunnen het niet genoeg herhalen: Fates van The Arch is een plaat die zich aan je vastnagelt en die zonder enige aarzeling in je collectie moet!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation