tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Fates

THE ARCH

Fates

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wave

[83/100]   

W2K Music
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Arch began in the late 80s during the heyday of Belgian new wave. The band from Breendonk especially liked the experimental approach of music and was looking for new sounds that could enrich the standard line-up of a band. Sequencers, samples, they liked it all. Their mix of guitars and electronics gave them a unique sound, the ability to be very diverse and making it hard to put them in a category. This concept was much appreciated back then and their music was also known ab road, even more than in Belgium.

Thirty years after the release of their first EP As Quiet As, The Arch presents its new album Fates. In those thirty years the Arch world changed a lot, but not the concept. Fates has thirteen tracks with classic rock instruments and all kinds of electronics that are either nicely combined or compete with each other. Again an album with nice combinations of different styles. It opens with the rather quiet Gasoline Lady, an indie rock track with a chorus that sticks easily. For that one song The Arch chooses a more rock oriented approach, while the title song Fates reminds me a lot of what Lloyd Cole did.

On Spear Of Destiny and the catchy song Monster & I, The Arch opts for synth pop and a more electronic approach. The diversity makes this a really different The Arch album. Immerzu is sung in German and creates a surprising oasis on the album. The soft vocals makes it a nice and serene track.

Describing all the styles that are used would lead us too far, simply because the songs differ too much from each other. Anyway, I'd like to draw your attention to Brainduck because I suspect that this might be an ideal song to play live. The album ends with the quiet Frozen Jungle which is, at least to me, the outsider on this album. The track has, as the title suggests, a somewhat ethnic slant and the female chants are miles away from the dark voice of singer CUVG.

A great and varied album!

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

The Arch ontstond eind jaren tachtig tijdens de hoogdagen van de Belgische en andere New Wave. Het was vooral de experimentele benadering van de muziek die de band uit Breendonk het meest aansprak. Er werd volop gezocht naar nieuwe geluiden om de standaard line-up van de band aan te vullen. Sequencers, samples niets was hen vreemd. Hun mix van gitaren en elektronica gaf hen een eigen geluid, de mogelijkheid om heel divers te zijn waardoor ze moeilijk in één hokje te stoppen zijn. Dit concept werd destijds heel erg geapprecieerd en bracht hun muziek ook over de landsgrenzen, waar ze vaak bekender was dan in eigen land.

Nu, dertig jaar na de release van hun eerste ep As Quiet As, laat The Arch zijn nieuw album Fates op de wereld los. In die dertig jaar is die wereld veel veranderd, maar niet het concept van The Arch. Fates is een dertien tracks tellend album waarop The Arch opnieuw klassieke rock instrumenten met allerhande elektronica ofwel mooi combineert ofwel ze hevig tegen elkaar laat opboksen. Zo komen we op dit album weer allerhande leuke combinaties van stijlen tegen. Het opent met het vrij rustige Gasoline Lady, een Indierocktrack met een refrein dat makkelijk blijft hangen. In de ene song kiest The Arch voor een meer rockgerichte aanpak, terwijl het titelnummer Fates voor mij een hoog Lloyd Cole-gehalte heeft.

Voor Spear Of Destiny en het catchy Monster & I wordt dan weer meer de weg van de synthpop ingeslagen en meer voor een elektronische aanpak gekozen. De diversiteit maakt van deze productie echt wel weer een The Arch-album. Met het in het Duits gezongen Immerzu creëert de band een verrassend rustpunt op het album. De zachte zang wordt heel licht begeleid, geen uitspattingen of onnodige arrangementen, gewoon een aangename en serene track die even wat rust brengt.

Alle stijlen van alle tracks beschrijven zou ons te ver leiden, daarvoor verschillen ze te veel van elkaar. Wel wil ik nog even de aandacht vestigen op Brainduck, omdat ik vermoed dat dit wel eens een fuifplaat zou kunnen worden die het uiteraard ook live heel goed zal doen. Het album wordt afgesloten met het rustige Frozen Jungle, wat mij betreft toch wel een buitenbeentje op dit album. De track heeft zoals de titel laat vermoeden een wat etnische inslag en de vrouwelijke gezangen liggen mijlen ver van de donkere stem van zanger CUVG Voorts werden de backing vocals verzorgd Chiffron's Tale

Wat mij betreft een heel degelijk en gevarieerd album voor een ruim publiek.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
AMNISTIA • Dawn
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
SINESTAR • Evolve
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw

 

Other reviews from THE ARCH
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
THE ARCH • Engine in void

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE ROCK + NEW WAVE
KEEP BREATHING • Call of Youth
LUSTS • Illuminations
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
THEN COMES SILENCE • She Lies In Wait
JUST HANDSHAKES • Say it
MODE MODERNE • Occult Delight
ASCETIC • Self Initiation
DAVID FONSECA • Seasons Rising

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive