tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE ARCH - Fates

THE ARCH

Fates

MusicCD
Indie RockNew wave

[83/100]   

W2K Music
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Arch began in the late 80s during the heyday of Belgian new wave. The band from Breendonk especially liked the experimental approach of music and was looking for new sounds that could enrich the standard line-up of a band. Sequencers, samples, they liked it all. Their mix of guitars and electronics gave them a unique sound, the ability to be very diverse and making it hard to put them in a category. This concept was much appreciated back then and their music was also known ab road, even more than in Belgium.

Thirty years after the release of their first EP As Quiet As, The Arch presents its new album Fates. In those thirty years the Arch world changed a lot, but not the concept. Fates has thirteen tracks with classic rock instruments and all kinds of electronics that are either nicely combined or compete with each other. Again an album with nice combinations of different styles. It opens with the rather quiet Gasoline Lady, an indie rock track with a chorus that sticks easily. For that one song The Arch chooses a more rock oriented approach, while the title song Fates reminds me a lot of what Lloyd Cole did.

On Spear Of Destiny and the catchy song Monster & I, The Arch opts for synth pop and a more electronic approach. The diversity makes this a really different The Arch album. Immerzu is sung in German and creates a surprising oasis on the album. The soft vocals makes it a nice and serene track.

Describing all the styles that are used would lead us too far, simply because the songs differ too much from each other. Anyway, I'd like to draw your attention to Brainduck because I suspect that this might be an ideal song to play live. The album ends with the quiet Frozen Jungle which is, at least to me, the outsider on this album. The track has, as the title suggests, a somewhat ethnic slant and the female chants are miles away from the dark voice of singer CUVG.

A great and varied album!

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

The Arch ontstond eind jaren tachtig tijdens de hoogdagen van de Belgische en andere New Wave. Het was vooral de experimentele benadering van de muziek die de band uit Breendonk het meest aansprak. Er werd volop gezocht naar nieuwe geluiden om de standaard line-up van de band aan te vullen. Sequencers, samples niets was hen vreemd. Hun mix van gitaren en elektronica gaf hen een eigen geluid, de mogelijkheid om heel divers te zijn waardoor ze moeilijk in één hokje te stoppen zijn. Dit concept werd destijds heel erg geapprecieerd en bracht hun muziek ook over de landsgrenzen, waar ze vaak bekender was dan in eigen land.

Nu, dertig jaar na de release van hun eerste ep As Quiet As, laat The Arch zijn nieuw album Fates op de wereld los. In die dertig jaar is die wereld veel veranderd, maar niet het concept van The Arch. Fates is een dertien tracks tellend album waarop The Arch opnieuw klassieke rock instrumenten met allerhande elektronica ofwel mooi combineert ofwel ze hevig tegen elkaar laat opboksen. Zo komen we op dit album weer allerhande leuke combinaties van stijlen tegen. Het opent met het vrij rustige Gasoline Lady, een Indierocktrack met een refrein dat makkelijk blijft hangen. In de ene song kiest The Arch voor een meer rockgerichte aanpak, terwijl het titelnummer Fates voor mij een hoog Lloyd Cole-gehalte heeft.

Voor Spear Of Destiny en het catchy Monster & I wordt dan weer meer de weg van de synthpop ingeslagen en meer voor een elektronische aanpak gekozen. De diversiteit maakt van deze productie echt wel weer een The Arch-album. Met het in het Duits gezongen Immerzu creëert de band een verrassend rustpunt op het album. De zachte zang wordt heel licht begeleid, geen uitspattingen of onnodige arrangementen, gewoon een aangename en serene track die even wat rust brengt.

Alle stijlen van alle tracks beschrijven zou ons te ver leiden, daarvoor verschillen ze te veel van elkaar. Wel wil ik nog even de aandacht vestigen op Brainduck, omdat ik vermoed dat dit wel eens een fuifplaat zou kunnen worden die het uiteraard ook live heel goed zal doen. Het album wordt afgesloten met het rustige Frozen Jungle, wat mij betreft toch wel een buitenbeentje op dit album. De track heeft zoals de titel laat vermoeden een wat etnische inslag en de vrouwelijke gezangen liggen mijlen ver van de donkere stem van zanger CUVG Voorts werden de backing vocals verzorgd Chiffron's Tale

Wat mij betreft een heel degelijk en gevarieerd album voor een ruim publiek.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS