tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER - Bounce

THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER

Bounce

MusicCD
ReggaeSka

[70/100]   

Red Essential
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The ska music that emerged in Jamaica in the 50s, got a second life by British bands around 1979 that gave the genre an English touch: Madness in London, The Specials in Coventry, and The Beat was king in Birmingham.

The first single (a cover of Smokey Robinson’s Tears Of A Clown) was a smash hit. Soon hits like Mirror in the Bathroom and the unforgettable Can’t Get Used to Losing You followed. In 1983, singer Dave Wakeling left the band and founded General Public with Ranking Roger, while the rest opted for Fine Young Cannibals.

The Beat is still around with a lineup that consists of Ranking Roger (vocals), his son Matthew Murphy (vocals), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (guitar) and Steve Harper (guitar). After thirty years The Beat is back with a fourth album: Bounce.

Immediately you notice the positive tone of the album. Nothing about a gray England. This is clearly a feel-good album with hope. That might be the reason why some fans won’t like it, because this new CD by The Beat is a mix of ska and reggae, but it is the latter which you hear most. That is not surprising, as Ranking Roger released a reggae album in 1988 (Radical Departure).

Saying that this is the best album of The Beat would be a lie (who would believe it anyway?), but you hear ska reggae as only the British can make it, starting with the fantastic single Walking On The Wrong Side.

Rankin still knows how to write a decent song and a track like Fire Burn stays (whether you like it or not) in your head. The guitars in On My Way remind you of the old days of The Beat. Sometimes it goes wrong (Work, Work, Work is just too UB 40-ish), but when you hear the New Order melodica in Close The Door, you forget commercial bland tracks like Talkin’About Her.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De skamuziek die in de jaren 50 in Jamaica ontstond, kreeg omstreeks 1979 een tweede leven door Britse bands die dit genre oppikten en er een Engelse touch aan gaven. In Londen zwaaide Madness de scepter, in Coventry waren dat The Specials en in Birmingham The Beat.

De eerste single (een cover van Smokey Robinsons Tears Of A Clown) was meteen een superhit. Snel nadien volgden hits als Mirror In The Bathroom of het onvergetelijke Can’t Get Used To Losing You. In 1983 verliet zanger Dave Wakeling de band en richtte samen met Ranking Roger General Public op, terwijl de rest voor Fine Young Cannibals koos.

The Beat is er nog steeds met een line-up die bestaat uit Ranking Roger (zang), diens zoon Matthew Murphy (zang), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (gitaar) en Steve Harper (gitaar). Niet alleen live, want dertig jaar na datum zijn ze er opnieuw met een vierde album: Bounce.

Wat meteen opvalt is de positieve toon van dit album. Van het grijze Engeland is er op Bounce nog nauwelijks sprake, dit is duidelijk een feelgoodalbum met hoop. Dat is misschien ook de reden waarom sommigen zullen afhaken, want deze nieuwe cd van The Beat is dan wel een mengeling van ska en reggae, toch is het reggae die de bovenhand krijgt. Op zich is dat ook niet zo verwonderlijk, want Ranking Roger bracht in 1988 een pure reggaeplaat uit (Radical Departure).

Beweren dat dit het beste album van The Beat is, gaan we niet doen (wie zou dat geloven?), wel hoor je op deze nieuwe plaat, die aanvangt met de fantastische single Walking On The Wrong Side, het soort skareggae dat alleen Britten kunnen bedenken.

Rankin weet nog steeds hoe je een degelijke song maakt en een track als Fire Burn blijft (of je dat nu wil of niet) in je hoofd hangen. De gitaartjes in On My Way herinneren je aan de oude dagen van The Beat, ook al gaat het soms mis (Work, Work, Work heeft gewoon een te hoog UB 40-gehalte), maar als je de melodica hoort die New Order in de begindagen gebruikte op Close The Door, dan ben je de commerciële zetjes zoals Talkin’About Her zo weer vergeten.

The Beat speelt op 20 november op Sinner’s Day.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed