tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER - Bounce

THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER

Bounce

MusicCD
ReggaeSka

[70/100]   

Red Essential
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The ska music that emerged in Jamaica in the 50s, got a second life by British bands around 1979 that gave the genre an English touch: Madness in London, The Specials in Coventry, and The Beat was king in Birmingham.

The first single (a cover of Smokey Robinson’s Tears Of A Clown) was a smash hit. Soon hits like Mirror in the Bathroom and the unforgettable Can’t Get Used to Losing You followed. In 1983, singer Dave Wakeling left the band and founded General Public with Ranking Roger, while the rest opted for Fine Young Cannibals.

The Beat is still around with a lineup that consists of Ranking Roger (vocals), his son Matthew Murphy (vocals), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (guitar) and Steve Harper (guitar). After thirty years The Beat is back with a fourth album: Bounce.

Immediately you notice the positive tone of the album. Nothing about a gray England. This is clearly a feel-good album with hope. That might be the reason why some fans won’t like it, because this new CD by The Beat is a mix of ska and reggae, but it is the latter which you hear most. That is not surprising, as Ranking Roger released a reggae album in 1988 (Radical Departure).

Saying that this is the best album of The Beat would be a lie (who would believe it anyway?), but you hear ska reggae as only the British can make it, starting with the fantastic single Walking On The Wrong Side.

Rankin still knows how to write a decent song and a track like Fire Burn stays (whether you like it or not) in your head. The guitars in On My Way remind you of the old days of The Beat. Sometimes it goes wrong (Work, Work, Work is just too UB 40-ish), but when you hear the New Order melodica in Close The Door, you forget commercial bland tracks like Talkin’About Her.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De skamuziek die in de jaren 50 in Jamaica ontstond, kreeg omstreeks 1979 een tweede leven door Britse bands die dit genre oppikten en er een Engelse touch aan gaven. In Londen zwaaide Madness de scepter, in Coventry waren dat The Specials en in Birmingham The Beat.

De eerste single (een cover van Smokey Robinsons Tears Of A Clown) was meteen een superhit. Snel nadien volgden hits als Mirror In The Bathroom of het onvergetelijke Can’t Get Used To Losing You. In 1983 verliet zanger Dave Wakeling de band en richtte samen met Ranking Roger General Public op, terwijl de rest voor Fine Young Cannibals koos.

The Beat is er nog steeds met een line-up die bestaat uit Ranking Roger (zang), diens zoon Matthew Murphy (zang), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (gitaar) en Steve Harper (gitaar). Niet alleen live, want dertig jaar na datum zijn ze er opnieuw met een vierde album: Bounce.

Wat meteen opvalt is de positieve toon van dit album. Van het grijze Engeland is er op Bounce nog nauwelijks sprake, dit is duidelijk een feelgoodalbum met hoop. Dat is misschien ook de reden waarom sommigen zullen afhaken, want deze nieuwe cd van The Beat is dan wel een mengeling van ska en reggae, toch is het reggae die de bovenhand krijgt. Op zich is dat ook niet zo verwonderlijk, want Ranking Roger bracht in 1988 een pure reggaeplaat uit (Radical Departure).

Beweren dat dit het beste album van The Beat is, gaan we niet doen (wie zou dat geloven?), wel hoor je op deze nieuwe plaat, die aanvangt met de fantastische single Walking On The Wrong Side, het soort skareggae dat alleen Britten kunnen bedenken.

Rankin weet nog steeds hoe je een degelijke song maakt en een track als Fire Burn blijft (of je dat nu wil of niet) in je hoofd hangen. De gitaartjes in On My Way herinneren je aan de oude dagen van The Beat, ook al gaat het soms mis (Work, Work, Work heeft gewoon een te hoog UB 40-gehalte), maar als je de melodica hoort die New Order in de begindagen gebruikte op Close The Door, dan ben je de commerciële zetjes zoals Talkin’About Her zo weer vergeten.

The Beat speelt op 20 november op Sinner’s Day.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery