tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER - Bounce

THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER

Bounce

MusicCD
ReggaeSka

[70/100]   

Red Essential
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The ska music that emerged in Jamaica in the 50s, got a second life by British bands around 1979 that gave the genre an English touch: Madness in London, The Specials in Coventry, and The Beat was king in Birmingham.

The first single (a cover of Smokey Robinson’s Tears Of A Clown) was a smash hit. Soon hits like Mirror in the Bathroom and the unforgettable Can’t Get Used to Losing You followed. In 1983, singer Dave Wakeling left the band and founded General Public with Ranking Roger, while the rest opted for Fine Young Cannibals.

The Beat is still around with a lineup that consists of Ranking Roger (vocals), his son Matthew Murphy (vocals), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (guitar) and Steve Harper (guitar). After thirty years The Beat is back with a fourth album: Bounce.

Immediately you notice the positive tone of the album. Nothing about a gray England. This is clearly a feel-good album with hope. That might be the reason why some fans won’t like it, because this new CD by The Beat is a mix of ska and reggae, but it is the latter which you hear most. That is not surprising, as Ranking Roger released a reggae album in 1988 (Radical Departure).

Saying that this is the best album of The Beat would be a lie (who would believe it anyway?), but you hear ska reggae as only the British can make it, starting with the fantastic single Walking On The Wrong Side.

Rankin still knows how to write a decent song and a track like Fire Burn stays (whether you like it or not) in your head. The guitars in On My Way remind you of the old days of The Beat. Sometimes it goes wrong (Work, Work, Work is just too UB 40-ish), but when you hear the New Order melodica in Close The Door, you forget commercial bland tracks like Talkin’About Her.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De skamuziek die in de jaren 50 in Jamaica ontstond, kreeg omstreeks 1979 een tweede leven door Britse bands die dit genre oppikten en er een Engelse touch aan gaven. In Londen zwaaide Madness de scepter, in Coventry waren dat The Specials en in Birmingham The Beat.

De eerste single (een cover van Smokey Robinsons Tears Of A Clown) was meteen een superhit. Snel nadien volgden hits als Mirror In The Bathroom of het onvergetelijke Can’t Get Used To Losing You. In 1983 verliet zanger Dave Wakeling de band en richtte samen met Ranking Roger General Public op, terwijl de rest voor Fine Young Cannibals koos.

The Beat is er nog steeds met een line-up die bestaat uit Ranking Roger (zang), diens zoon Matthew Murphy (zang), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (gitaar) en Steve Harper (gitaar). Niet alleen live, want dertig jaar na datum zijn ze er opnieuw met een vierde album: Bounce.

Wat meteen opvalt is de positieve toon van dit album. Van het grijze Engeland is er op Bounce nog nauwelijks sprake, dit is duidelijk een feelgoodalbum met hoop. Dat is misschien ook de reden waarom sommigen zullen afhaken, want deze nieuwe cd van The Beat is dan wel een mengeling van ska en reggae, toch is het reggae die de bovenhand krijgt. Op zich is dat ook niet zo verwonderlijk, want Ranking Roger bracht in 1988 een pure reggaeplaat uit (Radical Departure).

Beweren dat dit het beste album van The Beat is, gaan we niet doen (wie zou dat geloven?), wel hoor je op deze nieuwe plaat, die aanvangt met de fantastische single Walking On The Wrong Side, het soort skareggae dat alleen Britten kunnen bedenken.

Rankin weet nog steeds hoe je een degelijke song maakt en een track als Fire Burn blijft (of je dat nu wil of niet) in je hoofd hangen. De gitaartjes in On My Way herinneren je aan de oude dagen van The Beat, ook al gaat het soms mis (Work, Work, Work heeft gewoon een te hoog UB 40-gehalte), maar als je de melodica hoort die New Order in de begindagen gebruikte op Close The Door, dan ben je de commerciële zetjes zoals Talkin’About Her zo weer vergeten.

The Beat speelt op 20 november op Sinner’s Day.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
07
1 year Rüdiger Frank of Printed At Bismarck's Death and The Tors Of Dartmoor passed away...
11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'
09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
07
LAURIE ANDERSON
O Superman
11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence