tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER - Bounce

THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER

Bounce

MusicCD
ReggaeSka

[70/100]   

Red Essential
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The ska music that emerged in Jamaica in the 50s, got a second life by British bands around 1979 that gave the genre an English touch: Madness in London, The Specials in Coventry, and The Beat was king in Birmingham.

The first single (a cover of Smokey Robinson’s Tears Of A Clown) was a smash hit. Soon hits like Mirror in the Bathroom and the unforgettable Can’t Get Used to Losing You followed. In 1983, singer Dave Wakeling left the band and founded General Public with Ranking Roger, while the rest opted for Fine Young Cannibals.

The Beat is still around with a lineup that consists of Ranking Roger (vocals), his son Matthew Murphy (vocals), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (guitar) and Steve Harper (guitar). After thirty years The Beat is back with a fourth album: Bounce.

Immediately you notice the positive tone of the album. Nothing about a gray England. This is clearly a feel-good album with hope. That might be the reason why some fans won’t like it, because this new CD by The Beat is a mix of ska and reggae, but it is the latter which you hear most. That is not surprising, as Ranking Roger released a reggae album in 1988 (Radical Departure).

Saying that this is the best album of The Beat would be a lie (who would believe it anyway?), but you hear ska reggae as only the British can make it, starting with the fantastic single Walking On The Wrong Side.

Rankin still knows how to write a decent song and a track like Fire Burn stays (whether you like it or not) in your head. The guitars in On My Way remind you of the old days of The Beat. Sometimes it goes wrong (Work, Work, Work is just too UB 40-ish), but when you hear the New Order melodica in Close The Door, you forget commercial bland tracks like Talkin’About Her.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De skamuziek die in de jaren 50 in Jamaica ontstond, kreeg omstreeks 1979 een tweede leven door Britse bands die dit genre oppikten en er een Engelse touch aan gaven. In Londen zwaaide Madness de scepter, in Coventry waren dat The Specials en in Birmingham The Beat.

De eerste single (een cover van Smokey Robinsons Tears Of A Clown) was meteen een superhit. Snel nadien volgden hits als Mirror In The Bathroom of het onvergetelijke Can’t Get Used To Losing You. In 1983 verliet zanger Dave Wakeling de band en richtte samen met Ranking Roger General Public op, terwijl de rest voor Fine Young Cannibals koos.

The Beat is er nog steeds met een line-up die bestaat uit Ranking Roger (zang), diens zoon Matthew Murphy (zang), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (gitaar) en Steve Harper (gitaar). Niet alleen live, want dertig jaar na datum zijn ze er opnieuw met een vierde album: Bounce.

Wat meteen opvalt is de positieve toon van dit album. Van het grijze Engeland is er op Bounce nog nauwelijks sprake, dit is duidelijk een feelgoodalbum met hoop. Dat is misschien ook de reden waarom sommigen zullen afhaken, want deze nieuwe cd van The Beat is dan wel een mengeling van ska en reggae, toch is het reggae die de bovenhand krijgt. Op zich is dat ook niet zo verwonderlijk, want Ranking Roger bracht in 1988 een pure reggaeplaat uit (Radical Departure).

Beweren dat dit het beste album van The Beat is, gaan we niet doen (wie zou dat geloven?), wel hoor je op deze nieuwe plaat, die aanvangt met de fantastische single Walking On The Wrong Side, het soort skareggae dat alleen Britten kunnen bedenken.

Rankin weet nog steeds hoe je een degelijke song maakt en een track als Fire Burn blijft (of je dat nu wil of niet) in je hoofd hangen. De gitaartjes in On My Way herinneren je aan de oude dagen van The Beat, ook al gaat het soms mis (Work, Work, Work heeft gewoon een te hoog UB 40-gehalte), maar als je de melodica hoort die New Order in de begindagen gebruikte op Close The Door, dan ben je de commerciële zetjes zoals Talkin’About Her zo weer vergeten.

The Beat speelt op 20 november op Sinner’s Day.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald