tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER - Bounce

THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER

Bounce

MusicCD
ReggaeSka

[70/100]   

Red Essential
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The ska music that emerged in Jamaica in the 50s, got a second life by British bands around 1979 that gave the genre an English touch: Madness in London, The Specials in Coventry, and The Beat was king in Birmingham.

The first single (a cover of Smokey Robinson’s Tears Of A Clown) was a smash hit. Soon hits like Mirror in the Bathroom and the unforgettable Can’t Get Used to Losing You followed. In 1983, singer Dave Wakeling left the band and founded General Public with Ranking Roger, while the rest opted for Fine Young Cannibals.

The Beat is still around with a lineup that consists of Ranking Roger (vocals), his son Matthew Murphy (vocals), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (guitar) and Steve Harper (guitar). After thirty years The Beat is back with a fourth album: Bounce.

Immediately you notice the positive tone of the album. Nothing about a gray England. This is clearly a feel-good album with hope. That might be the reason why some fans won’t like it, because this new CD by The Beat is a mix of ska and reggae, but it is the latter which you hear most. That is not surprising, as Ranking Roger released a reggae album in 1988 (Radical Departure).

Saying that this is the best album of The Beat would be a lie (who would believe it anyway?), but you hear ska reggae as only the British can make it, starting with the fantastic single Walking On The Wrong Side.

Rankin still knows how to write a decent song and a track like Fire Burn stays (whether you like it or not) in your head. The guitars in On My Way remind you of the old days of The Beat. Sometimes it goes wrong (Work, Work, Work is just too UB 40-ish), but when you hear the New Order melodica in Close The Door, you forget commercial bland tracks like Talkin’About Her.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

De skamuziek die in de jaren 50 in Jamaica ontstond, kreeg omstreeks 1979 een tweede leven door Britse bands die dit genre oppikten en er een Engelse touch aan gaven. In Londen zwaaide Madness de scepter, in Coventry waren dat The Specials en in Birmingham The Beat.

De eerste single (een cover van Smokey Robinsons Tears Of A Clown) was meteen een superhit. Snel nadien volgden hits als Mirror In The Bathroom of het onvergetelijke Can’t Get Used To Losing You. In 1983 verliet zanger Dave Wakeling de band en richtte samen met Ranking Roger General Public op, terwijl de rest voor Fine Young Cannibals koos.

The Beat is er nog steeds met een line-up die bestaat uit Ranking Roger (zang), diens zoon Matthew Murphy (zang), Fuzz Townshend (drums), Andy Pearson (gitaar) en Steve Harper (gitaar). Niet alleen live, want dertig jaar na datum zijn ze er opnieuw met een vierde album: Bounce.

Wat meteen opvalt is de positieve toon van dit album. Van het grijze Engeland is er op Bounce nog nauwelijks sprake, dit is duidelijk een feelgoodalbum met hoop. Dat is misschien ook de reden waarom sommigen zullen afhaken, want deze nieuwe cd van The Beat is dan wel een mengeling van ska en reggae, toch is het reggae die de bovenhand krijgt. Op zich is dat ook niet zo verwonderlijk, want Ranking Roger bracht in 1988 een pure reggaeplaat uit (Radical Departure).

Beweren dat dit het beste album van The Beat is, gaan we niet doen (wie zou dat geloven?), wel hoor je op deze nieuwe plaat, die aanvangt met de fantastische single Walking On The Wrong Side, het soort skareggae dat alleen Britten kunnen bedenken.

Rankin weet nog steeds hoe je een degelijke song maakt en een track als Fire Burn blijft (of je dat nu wil of niet) in je hoofd hangen. De gitaartjes in On My Way herinneren je aan de oude dagen van The Beat, ook al gaat het soms mis (Work, Work, Work heeft gewoon een te hoog UB 40-gehalte), maar als je de melodica hoort die New Order in de begindagen gebruikte op Close The Door, dan ben je de commerciële zetjes zoals Talkin’About Her zo weer vergeten.

The Beat speelt op 20 november op Sinner’s Day.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi