tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA - Minor Sun

THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA

Minor Sun

MusicCD
Alternative RockDark WaveElectro RockGothic Rock

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since At The End Of The Sea (2010), the band of Michael Sele seems to become stronger with every new release. And he always tries to find new perspectives. Iscariot Blues was very direct and showed us his more alternative rock side, on The Myrrh Sessions the tracks were stripped down and the songs on Ghost Prayers got an organic sound.

Minor Sun has a white cover and Michael Sele with closed eyes: he looks like an angel. As always, the artwork is elegant with lyrics and atmospheric photos. If there is one constant in the music of The Beauty of Gemina, then it is undoubtedly the bittersweet lyrics about loss, dreams, sadness and goodbyes. The lyrics come with jaunty-sounding melodies. The guitar lines contain very beautiful little effects. They are subtle and very nicely done. Listen to the opening track The End to get an idea of what I mean. The End has a catchy chorus and a typical Michael Sele phrase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest sounds dreamy and contains a catchy melody.

The keys play an important role on Endless Time To See. The track reminds me of Blind by Hercules and Love Affair. Crossroads is written by one Saylor White, it has a catchy guitar riff and seems to radiate hope and other expectations. More goth rock tinged influences on Close To The Fire. On these thirteen songs (more than one hour of music), we hear musical synthesis of the approaches that have been used in the past, mixed to make it allo sound homogeneous. So, there is something for everyone, but above all with a typical The Beauty of Gemina sound. And the vocals are very good and quite varied, despite the rather melancholic tone.

One of the highlights is Another Death, an inspiring guitar track wit a delicious bass, complemented by atmospheric cello and keys for an oppressive atmosphere that evokes all kinds of emotions in me. Lovely. There are also some quieter tracks like Down On The Lane (a melancholic song with a glimmer of hope) Wonders and the long epic closing song Silent Land.

Minor Sun contains thirteen strong, beautiful and well-developed songs that hover somewhere between darkwave, goth rock and alternative rock. Must be the best the genre has to offer nowadays.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds At The End Of The Sea (2010) lijkt de band van Michael Sele met elke releases sterker te worden. Hij zocht ook telkens andere invalshoeken. Iscariot Blues was heel direct en toonde ons zijn alternatievere rockkant, op The Myrrh Sessions waren de songs uitgekleed en op Ghost Prayers hoorden we een organischer geluid.

Minor Sun is gehuld in een witte cover waarop Michael Sele er met gesloten ogen als een engel uitziet. Zoals steeds is het artwork piekfijn verzorgd. Teksten en sfeerrijke foto’s ontbreken niet. Als er één constante is in de muziek van The Beauty of Gemina dan zullen het ongetwijfeld de bitterzoete teksten zijn: over verlies, dromen, verdriet en afscheid. Ze zijn voorzien van zwierig klinkende muziek: de gitaarlijnen bevatten heel mooie effectjes en zijn subtiel en soms onderhuids gemixt. Erg mooi gedaan. Luister maar naar de opener The End om te begrijpen wat ik bedoel. The End heeft trouwens een catchy refrein en een typische Michael Sele-frase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest klinkt dromeriger en bevat een aanstekelijke melodielijn.

Op Endless Time To See krijgen de keys een vooraanstaande rol. Het doet mij wat aan het opzet van Blind van Hercules and Love Affair denken. Crossroads is geschreven door ene Saylor White en bevat een aanstekelijk gitaarriedeltje en lijkt hoop en andere verwachtingen uit te stralen. Op Close To The Fire horen we meer gothrock getinte invloeden. Gedurende dertien songs (goed voor meer dan een uur muziek) horen we muziek die haast een synthese is van de invalshoeken die in het verleden aan de orde waren, maar wel zo gemixt dat alles homogeen klinkt. Er is dus voor elk wat wils maar bovenal met een typisch The Beauty of Gemina-geluid. Ook de vocals klinken heel goed en ondanks de eerder melancholische klankkleur, vrij afwisselend.

Eén van de hoogtepunten is Another Death: een begeesterend gitaarstukje, een heerlijke bas aangevuld met sfeerrijke cello en keys die samen voor een beklemmende sfeer zorgen die bij mij allerlei emoties losmaakt. Heerlijk. Er staan ook enkele rustiger tracks op zoals Down On The Lane ( een weemoedige song met een sprankeltje hoop), Wonders en het lange epische slotnummer Silent Land.

Minor Sun bevat dertien sterke, mooi klinkende en goed uitgewerkte tracks die ergens zweven tussen darkwave, gothrock en alternative rock. Zowat het beste van wat het genre momenteel te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
KEVIN HEWICK • Touching Stones Tasting Rain
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Other reviews from THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo
FILTER • Crazy Eyes

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles

Music reviews

22
09
CULT WITH NO NAME
Heir Of The Dog
20
09
THE NAMES
German Nights
18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
THE WEATHERMEN
The inside story of how The Weathermen's big hit 'Poison' was made...
19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs

PHOTOS

23
09
MECHANICAL CABARET
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
LEBANON HANOVER
The Garage, London, UK
22
09
SHE PAST AWAY
The Garage, London, UK
13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
09
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
21
09
THE CURE
The Lovecats
20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn