tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA - Minor Sun

THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA

Minor Sun

MusicCD
Alternative RockDark WaveElectro RockGothic Rock

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since At The End Of The Sea (2010), the band of Michael Sele seems to become stronger with every new release. And he always tries to find new perspectives. Iscariot Blues was very direct and showed us his more alternative rock side, on The Myrrh Sessions the tracks were stripped down and the songs on Ghost Prayers got an organic sound.

Minor Sun has a white cover and Michael Sele with closed eyes: he looks like an angel. As always, the artwork is elegant with lyrics and atmospheric photos. If there is one constant in the music of The Beauty of Gemina, then it is undoubtedly the bittersweet lyrics about loss, dreams, sadness and goodbyes. The lyrics come with jaunty-sounding melodies. The guitar lines contain very beautiful little effects. They are subtle and very nicely done. Listen to the opening track The End to get an idea of what I mean. The End has a catchy chorus and a typical Michael Sele phrase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest sounds dreamy and contains a catchy melody.

The keys play an important role on Endless Time To See. The track reminds me of Blind by Hercules and Love Affair. Crossroads is written by one Saylor White, it has a catchy guitar riff and seems to radiate hope and other expectations. More goth rock tinged influences on Close To The Fire. On these thirteen songs (more than one hour of music), we hear musical synthesis of the approaches that have been used in the past, mixed to make it allo sound homogeneous. So, there is something for everyone, but above all with a typical The Beauty of Gemina sound. And the vocals are very good and quite varied, despite the rather melancholic tone.

One of the highlights is Another Death, an inspiring guitar track wit a delicious bass, complemented by atmospheric cello and keys for an oppressive atmosphere that evokes all kinds of emotions in me. Lovely. There are also some quieter tracks like Down On The Lane (a melancholic song with a glimmer of hope) Wonders and the long epic closing song Silent Land.

Minor Sun contains thirteen strong, beautiful and well-developed songs that hover somewhere between darkwave, goth rock and alternative rock. Must be the best the genre has to offer nowadays.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds At The End Of The Sea (2010) lijkt de band van Michael Sele met elke releases sterker te worden. Hij zocht ook telkens andere invalshoeken. Iscariot Blues was heel direct en toonde ons zijn alternatievere rockkant, op The Myrrh Sessions waren de songs uitgekleed en op Ghost Prayers hoorden we een organischer geluid.

Minor Sun is gehuld in een witte cover waarop Michael Sele er met gesloten ogen als een engel uitziet. Zoals steeds is het artwork piekfijn verzorgd. Teksten en sfeerrijke foto’s ontbreken niet. Als er één constante is in de muziek van The Beauty of Gemina dan zullen het ongetwijfeld de bitterzoete teksten zijn: over verlies, dromen, verdriet en afscheid. Ze zijn voorzien van zwierig klinkende muziek: de gitaarlijnen bevatten heel mooie effectjes en zijn subtiel en soms onderhuids gemixt. Erg mooi gedaan. Luister maar naar de opener The End om te begrijpen wat ik bedoel. The End heeft trouwens een catchy refrein en een typische Michael Sele-frase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest klinkt dromeriger en bevat een aanstekelijke melodielijn.

Op Endless Time To See krijgen de keys een vooraanstaande rol. Het doet mij wat aan het opzet van Blind van Hercules and Love Affair denken. Crossroads is geschreven door ene Saylor White en bevat een aanstekelijk gitaarriedeltje en lijkt hoop en andere verwachtingen uit te stralen. Op Close To The Fire horen we meer gothrock getinte invloeden. Gedurende dertien songs (goed voor meer dan een uur muziek) horen we muziek die haast een synthese is van de invalshoeken die in het verleden aan de orde waren, maar wel zo gemixt dat alles homogeen klinkt. Er is dus voor elk wat wils maar bovenal met een typisch The Beauty of Gemina-geluid. Ook de vocals klinken heel goed en ondanks de eerder melancholische klankkleur, vrij afwisselend.

Eén van de hoogtepunten is Another Death: een begeesterend gitaarstukje, een heerlijke bas aangevuld met sfeerrijke cello en keys die samen voor een beklemmende sfeer zorgen die bij mij allerlei emoties losmaakt. Heerlijk. Er staan ook enkele rustiger tracks op zoals Down On The Lane ( een weemoedige song met een sprankeltje hoop), Wonders en het lange epische slotnummer Silent Land.

Minor Sun bevat dertien sterke, mooi klinkende en goed uitgewerkte tracks die ergens zweven tussen darkwave, gothrock en alternative rock. Zowat het beste van wat het genre momenteel te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
KEVIN HEWICK • Touching Stones Tasting Rain
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Other reviews from THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules