tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA - Minor Sun

THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA

Minor Sun

MusicCD
Alternative RockDark WaveElectro RockGothic Rock

[90/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Since At The End Of The Sea (2010), the band of Michael Sele seems to become stronger with every new release. And he always tries to find new perspectives. Iscariot Blues was very direct and showed us his more alternative rock side, on The Myrrh Sessions the tracks were stripped down and the songs on Ghost Prayers got an organic sound.

Minor Sun has a white cover and Michael Sele with closed eyes: he looks like an angel. As always, the artwork is elegant with lyrics and atmospheric photos. If there is one constant in the music of The Beauty of Gemina, then it is undoubtedly the bittersweet lyrics about loss, dreams, sadness and goodbyes. The lyrics come with jaunty-sounding melodies. The guitar lines contain very beautiful little effects. They are subtle and very nicely done. Listen to the opening track The End to get an idea of what I mean. The End has a catchy chorus and a typical Michael Sele phrase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest sounds dreamy and contains a catchy melody.

The keys play an important role on Endless Time To See. The track reminds me of Blind by Hercules and Love Affair. Crossroads is written by one Saylor White, it has a catchy guitar riff and seems to radiate hope and other expectations. More goth rock tinged influences on Close To The Fire. On these thirteen songs (more than one hour of music), we hear musical synthesis of the approaches that have been used in the past, mixed to make it allo sound homogeneous. So, there is something for everyone, but above all with a typical The Beauty of Gemina sound. And the vocals are very good and quite varied, despite the rather melancholic tone.

One of the highlights is Another Death, an inspiring guitar track wit a delicious bass, complemented by atmospheric cello and keys for an oppressive atmosphere that evokes all kinds of emotions in me. Lovely. There are also some quieter tracks like Down On The Lane (a melancholic song with a glimmer of hope) Wonders and the long epic closing song Silent Land.

Minor Sun contains thirteen strong, beautiful and well-developed songs that hover somewhere between darkwave, goth rock and alternative rock. Must be the best the genre has to offer nowadays.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Sinds At The End Of The Sea (2010) lijkt de band van Michael Sele met elke releases sterker te worden. Hij zocht ook telkens andere invalshoeken. Iscariot Blues was heel direct en toonde ons zijn alternatievere rockkant, op The Myrrh Sessions waren de songs uitgekleed en op Ghost Prayers hoorden we een organischer geluid.

Minor Sun is gehuld in een witte cover waarop Michael Sele er met gesloten ogen als een engel uitziet. Zoals steeds is het artwork piekfijn verzorgd. Teksten en sfeerrijke foto’s ontbreken niet. Als er één constante is in de muziek van The Beauty of Gemina dan zullen het ongetwijfeld de bitterzoete teksten zijn: over verlies, dromen, verdriet en afscheid. Ze zijn voorzien van zwierig klinkende muziek: de gitaarlijnen bevatten heel mooie effectjes en zijn subtiel en soms onderhuids gemixt. Erg mooi gedaan. Luister maar naar de opener The End om te begrijpen wat ik bedoel. The End heeft trouwens een catchy refrein en een typische Michael Sele-frase: When I'm dying, Love is Dying. Waiting in the Forest klinkt dromeriger en bevat een aanstekelijke melodielijn.

Op Endless Time To See krijgen de keys een vooraanstaande rol. Het doet mij wat aan het opzet van Blind van Hercules and Love Affair denken. Crossroads is geschreven door ene Saylor White en bevat een aanstekelijk gitaarriedeltje en lijkt hoop en andere verwachtingen uit te stralen. Op Close To The Fire horen we meer gothrock getinte invloeden. Gedurende dertien songs (goed voor meer dan een uur muziek) horen we muziek die haast een synthese is van de invalshoeken die in het verleden aan de orde waren, maar wel zo gemixt dat alles homogeen klinkt. Er is dus voor elk wat wils maar bovenal met een typisch The Beauty of Gemina-geluid. Ook de vocals klinken heel goed en ondanks de eerder melancholische klankkleur, vrij afwisselend.

Eén van de hoogtepunten is Another Death: een begeesterend gitaarstukje, een heerlijke bas aangevuld met sfeerrijke cello en keys die samen voor een beklemmende sfeer zorgen die bij mij allerlei emoties losmaakt. Heerlijk. Er staan ook enkele rustiger tracks op zoals Down On The Lane ( een weemoedige song met een sprankeltje hoop), Wonders en het lange epische slotnummer Silent Land.

Minor Sun bevat dertien sterke, mooi klinkende en goed uitgewerkte tracks die ergens zweven tussen darkwave, gothrock en alternative rock. Zowat het beste van wat het genre momenteel te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• The World of Hante
THE AGONIST • Alcatraz Club Show: The Agonist, Kortrijk, De Kreun (02/10/2016)
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
NEWMOON • Space
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
KEVIN HEWICK • Touching Stones Tasting Rain
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Other reviews from THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
SEED FROM THE GEISHA • Point Nemo
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SOME SKELETONS • Vigils

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
VICTOR LOVE • Technomancy

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
OPENED PARADISE • Buried in Rain
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
AMAUTICA • Rectificando El Sueño (EP)

Music reviews

11
05
DISCO INFERNO
In Debt 91/92
10
05
WOLFHOUNDS
Untied Kingdom
09
05
FIXMER / MCCARTHY
Chemicals
08
05
PPM
Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
06
05
WIRE
Silver / Lead
02
05
WHITE SEA
Tropical Odds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
First Light - the debut album from Fader, a new band formed by Neil Arthur (Blancmange/Near Future)
24
05
EBM juggernauts Front Line Assembly & Die Krupps sharing stage at De Casino (St-Niklaas,B) on 25th August
24
05
Tomorrow! May 25th, Exclusive Belgian 'Best Of' Clubshow by Project Pitchfork @ De Casino - St Niklaas
19
05
OMD announces new album: The Punishment of Luxury
15
05
LYDIA LUNCH & CYPRESS GROVE to release cover album 'Under The Covers'
14
05
Factice Factory release their forthcoming album 'Lines & Parallels' mid-September

Concert reviews

05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
THIS MORN'OMINA
'TMO is a strange entity, it seems to possess and control us'
24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'

PHOTOS

27
05
PROJECT PITCHFORK
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
27
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
07
05
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DARKWOOD
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
THOROFON
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DIE WEISSE ROSE
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
LIQUID TRAUMA
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
28
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Purge
27
05
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
26
05
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
25
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
24
05
PARADE GROUND
Moans
23
05
KRAFTWERK
Boing Boom Tschak/Techno Pop/Music Non Stop