tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE BESNARD LAKES - A Coliseum Complex Museum

THE BESNARD LAKES

A Coliseum Complex Museum

MusicCD
Prog RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Besnard Lakes was formed by the couple Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas. This band is one of the most bombastic bands you can find in the shoegaze genre. It is not ashamed to imitate bands from the 70s you were supposed to be ashamed of. But why stop them? Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 13 years, and the new record with the impossible name (A Coliseum Complex Museum) is the fifth one. No, after all these years The Besnard Lakes still sounds as The Besnard Lakes, and that's not bad news!

The Bray Road Beast has the typical sound. No surprises, just the well-known choir-like vocals (The Bee Gees are never far away) combined with those beautiful shoegaze guitars. And this golden formula stills works!

Probably Golden Lion is the sing-a-long of the record. The catchy chorus comes very close to ELO. Corny, but effective!

Pressure Of Our Plans sounds sweet, but in the good sense of the word. Imagine you're a flower child, dance with your eyes closed for a moment and think about what Slowdive did in times of Catch The Breeze. The Besnard Lakes like to experiment with guitars, the superb Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound  is a wonderful proof.

The Plain Moon sounds chaotic and needs several spins, just as the wonderful closing track Tungsten 4 - The Refugee.

No, do not expect any revolutionary innovations on this new album by The Besnard Lakes, just quality!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

De Canadese band The Besnard Lakes, die door het echtpaar Jace Lasek en Olga Goreas wordt gevormd, is waarschijnlijk één van de meest bombastische bands die je in het shoegazegenre kan vinden. Ze schamen er zich niet voor om terug te grijpen naar bands uit de jaren 70 die ooit achteraan in je platenbakken zaten. Maar waarom moeten we ze tegenhouden? Ondertussen bestaat de band al meer dan 13 jaar en de plaat met de onmogelijke naam (A Coliseum Complex Museum dus) is hun vijfde. Neen, The Besnard Lakes klinkt na al die tijd nog steeds als The Besnard Lakes, en dat is verre van slecht nieuws!

The Bray Road Beast klinkt zoals we de band eigenlijk altijd hebben gekend. Van enige verrassing is nauwelijks sprake, maar de koorachtige zang (The Bee Gees zijn nooit veraf), gecombineerd met de prachtige shoegazegitaren, werkt nog steeds.

Golden Lion is wellicht de meezinger van de plaat en het aanstekelijke refrein komt aardig in de buurt van ELO. Zo melig dus, maar effectief!

Pressure Of Our Plans klinkt zeemzoet, maar in de goede zin van het woord. Waan je voor eventjes een bloemenkind, dans met je ogen toe en denk aan wat Slowdive deed in tijden van Catch The Breeze. Als The Besnard Lakes graag experimenteert, dan doen ze dat het liefst op zijn gitaren, het heerlijke Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound is daar een prachtig bewijs van.

The Plain Moon klinkt wat chaotisch en heeft nood aan meerdere luisterbeurten, wat ook geldt voor de prachtige afsluiter Tungsten 4-The Refugee.

Neen, verwacht dus geen revolutionaire vernieuwingen op deze nieuwe Besnard Lakes, wel zoals steeds kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido