tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE BESNARD LAKES - A Coliseum Complex Museum

THE BESNARD LAKES

A Coliseum Complex Museum

MusicCD
Prog RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Besnard Lakes was formed by the couple Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas. This band is one of the most bombastic bands you can find in the shoegaze genre. It is not ashamed to imitate bands from the 70s you were supposed to be ashamed of. But why stop them? Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 13 years, and the new record with the impossible name (A Coliseum Complex Museum) is the fifth one. No, after all these years The Besnard Lakes still sounds as The Besnard Lakes, and that's not bad news!

The Bray Road Beast has the typical sound. No surprises, just the well-known choir-like vocals (The Bee Gees are never far away) combined with those beautiful shoegaze guitars. And this golden formula stills works!

Probably Golden Lion is the sing-a-long of the record. The catchy chorus comes very close to ELO. Corny, but effective!

Pressure Of Our Plans sounds sweet, but in the good sense of the word. Imagine you're a flower child, dance with your eyes closed for a moment and think about what Slowdive did in times of Catch The Breeze. The Besnard Lakes like to experiment with guitars, the superb Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound  is a wonderful proof.

The Plain Moon sounds chaotic and needs several spins, just as the wonderful closing track Tungsten 4 - The Refugee.

No, do not expect any revolutionary innovations on this new album by The Besnard Lakes, just quality!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

De Canadese band The Besnard Lakes, die door het echtpaar Jace Lasek en Olga Goreas wordt gevormd, is waarschijnlijk één van de meest bombastische bands die je in het shoegazegenre kan vinden. Ze schamen er zich niet voor om terug te grijpen naar bands uit de jaren 70 die ooit achteraan in je platenbakken zaten. Maar waarom moeten we ze tegenhouden? Ondertussen bestaat de band al meer dan 13 jaar en de plaat met de onmogelijke naam (A Coliseum Complex Museum dus) is hun vijfde. Neen, The Besnard Lakes klinkt na al die tijd nog steeds als The Besnard Lakes, en dat is verre van slecht nieuws!

The Bray Road Beast klinkt zoals we de band eigenlijk altijd hebben gekend. Van enige verrassing is nauwelijks sprake, maar de koorachtige zang (The Bee Gees zijn nooit veraf), gecombineerd met de prachtige shoegazegitaren, werkt nog steeds.

Golden Lion is wellicht de meezinger van de plaat en het aanstekelijke refrein komt aardig in de buurt van ELO. Zo melig dus, maar effectief!

Pressure Of Our Plans klinkt zeemzoet, maar in de goede zin van het woord. Waan je voor eventjes een bloemenkind, dans met je ogen toe en denk aan wat Slowdive deed in tijden van Catch The Breeze. Als The Besnard Lakes graag experimenteert, dan doen ze dat het liefst op zijn gitaren, het heerlijke Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound is daar een prachtig bewijs van.

The Plain Moon klinkt wat chaotisch en heeft nood aan meerdere luisterbeurten, wat ook geldt voor de prachtige afsluiter Tungsten 4-The Refugee.

Neen, verwacht dus geen revolutionaire vernieuwingen op deze nieuwe Besnard Lakes, wel zoals steeds kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt