tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE BESNARD LAKES - A Coliseum Complex Museum

THE BESNARD LAKES

A Coliseum Complex Museum

MusicCD
Prog RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Besnard Lakes was formed by the couple Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas. This band is one of the most bombastic bands you can find in the shoegaze genre. It is not ashamed to imitate bands from the 70s you were supposed to be ashamed of. But why stop them? Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 13 years, and the new record with the impossible name (A Coliseum Complex Museum) is the fifth one. No, after all these years The Besnard Lakes still sounds as The Besnard Lakes, and that's not bad news!

The Bray Road Beast has the typical sound. No surprises, just the well-known choir-like vocals (The Bee Gees are never far away) combined with those beautiful shoegaze guitars. And this golden formula stills works!

Probably Golden Lion is the sing-a-long of the record. The catchy chorus comes very close to ELO. Corny, but effective!

Pressure Of Our Plans sounds sweet, but in the good sense of the word. Imagine you're a flower child, dance with your eyes closed for a moment and think about what Slowdive did in times of Catch The Breeze. The Besnard Lakes like to experiment with guitars, the superb Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound  is a wonderful proof.

The Plain Moon sounds chaotic and needs several spins, just as the wonderful closing track Tungsten 4 - The Refugee.

No, do not expect any revolutionary innovations on this new album by The Besnard Lakes, just quality!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

De Canadese band The Besnard Lakes, die door het echtpaar Jace Lasek en Olga Goreas wordt gevormd, is waarschijnlijk één van de meest bombastische bands die je in het shoegazegenre kan vinden. Ze schamen er zich niet voor om terug te grijpen naar bands uit de jaren 70 die ooit achteraan in je platenbakken zaten. Maar waarom moeten we ze tegenhouden? Ondertussen bestaat de band al meer dan 13 jaar en de plaat met de onmogelijke naam (A Coliseum Complex Museum dus) is hun vijfde. Neen, The Besnard Lakes klinkt na al die tijd nog steeds als The Besnard Lakes, en dat is verre van slecht nieuws!

The Bray Road Beast klinkt zoals we de band eigenlijk altijd hebben gekend. Van enige verrassing is nauwelijks sprake, maar de koorachtige zang (The Bee Gees zijn nooit veraf), gecombineerd met de prachtige shoegazegitaren, werkt nog steeds.

Golden Lion is wellicht de meezinger van de plaat en het aanstekelijke refrein komt aardig in de buurt van ELO. Zo melig dus, maar effectief!

Pressure Of Our Plans klinkt zeemzoet, maar in de goede zin van het woord. Waan je voor eventjes een bloemenkind, dans met je ogen toe en denk aan wat Slowdive deed in tijden van Catch The Breeze. Als The Besnard Lakes graag experimenteert, dan doen ze dat het liefst op zijn gitaren, het heerlijke Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound is daar een prachtig bewijs van.

The Plain Moon klinkt wat chaotisch en heeft nood aan meerdere luisterbeurten, wat ook geldt voor de prachtige afsluiter Tungsten 4-The Refugee.

Neen, verwacht dus geen revolutionaire vernieuwingen op deze nieuwe Besnard Lakes, wel zoals steeds kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag