tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE BESNARD LAKES - A Coliseum Complex Museum

THE BESNARD LAKES

A Coliseum Complex Museum

MusicCD
Prog RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Besnard Lakes was formed by the couple Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas. This band is one of the most bombastic bands you can find in the shoegaze genre. It is not ashamed to imitate bands from the 70s you were supposed to be ashamed of. But why stop them? Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 13 years, and the new record with the impossible name (A Coliseum Complex Museum) is the fifth one. No, after all these years The Besnard Lakes still sounds as The Besnard Lakes, and that's not bad news!

The Bray Road Beast has the typical sound. No surprises, just the well-known choir-like vocals (The Bee Gees are never far away) combined with those beautiful shoegaze guitars. And this golden formula stills works!

Probably Golden Lion is the sing-a-long of the record. The catchy chorus comes very close to ELO. Corny, but effective!

Pressure Of Our Plans sounds sweet, but in the good sense of the word. Imagine you're a flower child, dance with your eyes closed for a moment and think about what Slowdive did in times of Catch The Breeze. The Besnard Lakes like to experiment with guitars, the superb Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound  is a wonderful proof.

The Plain Moon sounds chaotic and needs several spins, just as the wonderful closing track Tungsten 4 - The Refugee.

No, do not expect any revolutionary innovations on this new album by The Besnard Lakes, just quality!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

De Canadese band The Besnard Lakes, die door het echtpaar Jace Lasek en Olga Goreas wordt gevormd, is waarschijnlijk één van de meest bombastische bands die je in het shoegazegenre kan vinden. Ze schamen er zich niet voor om terug te grijpen naar bands uit de jaren 70 die ooit achteraan in je platenbakken zaten. Maar waarom moeten we ze tegenhouden? Ondertussen bestaat de band al meer dan 13 jaar en de plaat met de onmogelijke naam (A Coliseum Complex Museum dus) is hun vijfde. Neen, The Besnard Lakes klinkt na al die tijd nog steeds als The Besnard Lakes, en dat is verre van slecht nieuws!

The Bray Road Beast klinkt zoals we de band eigenlijk altijd hebben gekend. Van enige verrassing is nauwelijks sprake, maar de koorachtige zang (The Bee Gees zijn nooit veraf), gecombineerd met de prachtige shoegazegitaren, werkt nog steeds.

Golden Lion is wellicht de meezinger van de plaat en het aanstekelijke refrein komt aardig in de buurt van ELO. Zo melig dus, maar effectief!

Pressure Of Our Plans klinkt zeemzoet, maar in de goede zin van het woord. Waan je voor eventjes een bloemenkind, dans met je ogen toe en denk aan wat Slowdive deed in tijden van Catch The Breeze. Als The Besnard Lakes graag experimenteert, dan doen ze dat het liefst op zijn gitaren, het heerlijke Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound is daar een prachtig bewijs van.

The Plain Moon klinkt wat chaotisch en heeft nood aan meerdere luisterbeurten, wat ook geldt voor de prachtige afsluiter Tungsten 4-The Refugee.

Neen, verwacht dus geen revolutionaire vernieuwingen op deze nieuwe Besnard Lakes, wel zoals steeds kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland