tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE BESNARD LAKES - A Coliseum Complex Museum

THE BESNARD LAKES

A Coliseum Complex Museum

MusicCD
Prog RockShoegaze

[75/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The Besnard Lakes was formed by the couple Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas. This band is one of the most bombastic bands you can find in the shoegaze genre. It is not ashamed to imitate bands from the 70s you were supposed to be ashamed of. But why stop them? Meanwhile, the band has been around for over 13 years, and the new record with the impossible name (A Coliseum Complex Museum) is the fifth one. No, after all these years The Besnard Lakes still sounds as The Besnard Lakes, and that's not bad news!

The Bray Road Beast has the typical sound. No surprises, just the well-known choir-like vocals (The Bee Gees are never far away) combined with those beautiful shoegaze guitars. And this golden formula stills works!

Probably Golden Lion is the sing-a-long of the record. The catchy chorus comes very close to ELO. Corny, but effective!

Pressure Of Our Plans sounds sweet, but in the good sense of the word. Imagine you're a flower child, dance with your eyes closed for a moment and think about what Slowdive did in times of Catch The Breeze. The Besnard Lakes like to experiment with guitars, the superb Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound  is a wonderful proof.

The Plain Moon sounds chaotic and needs several spins, just as the wonderful closing track Tungsten 4 - The Refugee.

No, do not expect any revolutionary innovations on this new album by The Besnard Lakes, just quality!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

De Canadese band The Besnard Lakes, die door het echtpaar Jace Lasek en Olga Goreas wordt gevormd, is waarschijnlijk één van de meest bombastische bands die je in het shoegazegenre kan vinden. Ze schamen er zich niet voor om terug te grijpen naar bands uit de jaren 70 die ooit achteraan in je platenbakken zaten. Maar waarom moeten we ze tegenhouden? Ondertussen bestaat de band al meer dan 13 jaar en de plaat met de onmogelijke naam (A Coliseum Complex Museum dus) is hun vijfde. Neen, The Besnard Lakes klinkt na al die tijd nog steeds als The Besnard Lakes, en dat is verre van slecht nieuws!

The Bray Road Beast klinkt zoals we de band eigenlijk altijd hebben gekend. Van enige verrassing is nauwelijks sprake, maar de koorachtige zang (The Bee Gees zijn nooit veraf), gecombineerd met de prachtige shoegazegitaren, werkt nog steeds.

Golden Lion is wellicht de meezinger van de plaat en het aanstekelijke refrein komt aardig in de buurt van ELO. Zo melig dus, maar effectief!

Pressure Of Our Plans klinkt zeemzoet, maar in de goede zin van het woord. Waan je voor eventjes een bloemenkind, dans met je ogen toe en denk aan wat Slowdive deed in tijden van Catch The Breeze. Als The Besnard Lakes graag experimenteert, dan doen ze dat het liefst op zijn gitaren, het heerlijke Tower Sent Her To Sheets Of Sound is daar een prachtig bewijs van.

The Plain Moon klinkt wat chaotisch en heeft nood aan meerdere luisterbeurten, wat ook geldt voor de prachtige afsluiter Tungsten 4-The Refugee.

Neen, verwacht dus geen revolutionaire vernieuwingen op deze nieuwe Besnard Lakes, wel zoals steeds kwaliteit!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice