tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : THE BLACK HEART REBELLION - People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.

THE BLACK HEART REBELLION

People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.

MusicCD
Post PunkPost RockPost-Metal

[79/100]   

9000 Records
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Black Heart Rebellion (TBHR for friends) already are more than ten years around, and the band always thought it was important to evolve. Initially, they sounded like hardcore, but now they have become an apocalyptic post rock band (or something like that). They played all around the world, and after performances in even Malaysia, their records were released in Japan. A key point was Har Nevo from 2012, which was produced by Koen Gisen as the band experimented with all sorts of tribal sounds. The new album, that has a title that comes from a poem by Baika Kitagawa (People, When You See The Smoke, Do Not Think It Is The Fields They're burning), follows the same concept.

The CD is released on the Ghent based label 9000 Records and Koen was again behind the mixing table. The result is sublime, even though you have no idea what type of music they’re actually playing, probably perhaps the music of THBR cannot be categorized.

There are eight tracks on the album, and Body Breakers is a very hard track to begin with. It's a song that breaks your soul (not your body), it’s a ritual with repetitive drums that sound like attacks. Is it Can? Or Amen Ra? Or whatever? It sounds brilliant and immediately the music takes you by the throat, and you look eagerly forward to what will come next. It would have been easy for Pieter Uyttenhove, Emeriek Verhoye, Valentine Goethals, Alexander and Tim Maekelberg Bryon to repeat this pattern in every song, but they don't, and it seems like they reinvent themselves on every track.

On Flower Bone Ornaments Stef Heeren of Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat sings as a guest. It is a jet black song, music that can’t be any darker, strange psychedelics without hope, and the mystical accordion sounds reminds you of the best that Nico has done. A band from Ghent that is compared with the best female musician ever, yes! On Benza Satto Hung On To you hear all kinds of bells that evoke a ritual atmosphere, although the sounds of the loud guitars are cutting through your soul. The Black Heart Rebellion makes music that makes you happy, but you never get the chance to put a smile on your face, as the noise immediately beats you senseless. That counts for Silk Bow And Arrow too, with wonderful distorted guitars and a style that some undoubtedly will link with Pink Floyd.

However, there is also room for some rest, or rather reflection, on Near To Fire For Bricks and Violent Love in which Annelies Van Dinter of Echo Beatty takes the microphone.

No, we really do not want to repeat that title, but the new TBHR is a must!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

The Black Heart Rebellion (TBHR voor de vrienden) zit al meer dan tien jaar in het vak, en de band heeft het steeds belangrijk gevonden om te evolueren. Aanvankelijk klonken ze als hardcore, maar ondertussen zijn ze een apocalyptische post-rockband (of zoiets) geworden. Het speelveld van deze band is de hele wereld, en na optredens tot in Maleisië, werden hun platen in Japan uitgebracht. Een sleutelpunt werd Har Nevo uit 2012, dat door Koen Gisen is geproduceerd en waarop de band met allerlei tribal geluiden experimenteert. De nieuwe plaat heeft een titel die uit de pen van de poëet Baika Kitagawa komt: People, When You See The Smoke, Do Not Think It Is The Fields They’re Burning.

De cd is op het Gentse 9000 Records verschenen en Koen zat opnieuw achter de mixtafel en het resultaat is ronduit subliem, ook al heb je geen flauw idee onder welke noemer hun muziek precies valt, wellicht omdat de muziek van THBR niet te categoriseren is.

Er staan acht nummers op deze plaat, en een zwaarder begin dan Body Breakers is moeilijk denkbaar. Het is een nummer dat je ziel breekt (niet je lijf), een ritueel met repetitieve drums die als aanslagen klinken. Is het Can? Of Amen Ra? Of wat dan ook? Het klinkt briljant en meteen heeft het nummer je bij de keel, en kijk je vol spanning uit naar wat komen zal. Het zou voor Pieter Uyttenhove, Emeriek Verhoye, Valentijn Goethals, Alexander Maekelberg en Tim Bryon gemakkelijk zijn om dit stramien in iedere song te herhalen, maar ze doen dat niet en lijken zich in ieder nummer heruit te vinden.

Op Flower Bone Ornaments vertolkt Stef Heeren van Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat een gastrolletje. Het is een gitzwart nummer, muziek die niet donkerder kan, vreemde psychedelica zonder hoop en door de mystieke accordeongeluiden denk je aan het mooiste van wat Nico heeft gemaakt. Een Gentse band die met de beste artieste ooit wordt vergeleken, jawel!

Op Om Benza Satto Hung zorgen allerlei belletjes voor een rituele sfeer, alhoewel de klanken van de gitaren hard door je ziel snijden. The Black Heart Rebellion maakt muziek die je tegelijkertijd blij maakt, maar je krijgt nooit de kans om een glimlach op je gezicht te toveren, de noise slaat je onmiddellijk murw. Dat geldt ook voor Bow And Silk Arrow met zijn heerlijke distorted gitaren en een stijl die sommigen ongetwijfeld met Pink Floyd zullen linken.

Er is echter ook plaats voor wat rust, of beter gezegd: bezinning, op Near To Fire For Bricks en Violent Love, waarop Annelies Van Dinter van Echo Beatty de microfoon in handen neemt.

Neen, de titel herhalen we echt niet meer, maar de nieuwe TBHR is een gevarieerde must. Zeg dat een Gentenaar het gezegd heeft!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP

 

Other reviews from THE BLACK HEART REBELLION
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK + POST-METAL
IN MY DREAMS • XII Reasons To Remember

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith