tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : THE BLACK HEART REBELLION - People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.

THE BLACK HEART REBELLION

People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.

MusicCD
Post PunkPost RockPost-Metal

[79/100]   

9000 Records
27/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Black Heart Rebellion (TBHR for friends) already are more than ten years around, and the band always thought it was important to evolve. Initially, they sounded like hardcore, but now they have become an apocalyptic post rock band (or something like that). They played all around the world, and after performances in even Malaysia, their records were released in Japan. A key point was Har Nevo from 2012, which was produced by Koen Gisen as the band experimented with all sorts of tribal sounds. The new album, that has a title that comes from a poem by Baika Kitagawa (People, When You See The Smoke, Do Not Think It Is The Fields They're burning), follows the same concept.

The CD is released on the Ghent based label 9000 Records and Koen was again behind the mixing table. The result is sublime, even though you have no idea what type of music they’re actually playing, probably perhaps the music of THBR cannot be categorized.

There are eight tracks on the album, and Body Breakers is a very hard track to begin with. It's a song that breaks your soul (not your body), it’s a ritual with repetitive drums that sound like attacks. Is it Can? Or Amen Ra? Or whatever? It sounds brilliant and immediately the music takes you by the throat, and you look eagerly forward to what will come next. It would have been easy for Pieter Uyttenhove, Emeriek Verhoye, Valentine Goethals, Alexander and Tim Maekelberg Bryon to repeat this pattern in every song, but they don't, and it seems like they reinvent themselves on every track.

On Flower Bone Ornaments Stef Heeren of Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat sings as a guest. It is a jet black song, music that can’t be any darker, strange psychedelics without hope, and the mystical accordion sounds reminds you of the best that Nico has done. A band from Ghent that is compared with the best female musician ever, yes! On Benza Satto Hung On To you hear all kinds of bells that evoke a ritual atmosphere, although the sounds of the loud guitars are cutting through your soul. The Black Heart Rebellion makes music that makes you happy, but you never get the chance to put a smile on your face, as the noise immediately beats you senseless. That counts for Silk Bow And Arrow too, with wonderful distorted guitars and a style that some undoubtedly will link with Pink Floyd.

However, there is also room for some rest, or rather reflection, on Near To Fire For Bricks and Violent Love in which Annelies Van Dinter of Echo Beatty takes the microphone.

No, we really do not want to repeat that title, but the new TBHR is a must!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


NL

The Black Heart Rebellion (TBHR voor de vrienden) zit al meer dan tien jaar in het vak, en de band heeft het steeds belangrijk gevonden om te evolueren. Aanvankelijk klonken ze als hardcore, maar ondertussen zijn ze een apocalyptische post-rockband (of zoiets) geworden. Het speelveld van deze band is de hele wereld, en na optredens tot in Maleisië, werden hun platen in Japan uitgebracht. Een sleutelpunt werd Har Nevo uit 2012, dat door Koen Gisen is geproduceerd en waarop de band met allerlei tribal geluiden experimenteert. De nieuwe plaat heeft een titel die uit de pen van de poëet Baika Kitagawa komt: People, When You See The Smoke, Do Not Think It Is The Fields They’re Burning.

De cd is op het Gentse 9000 Records verschenen en Koen zat opnieuw achter de mixtafel en het resultaat is ronduit subliem, ook al heb je geen flauw idee onder welke noemer hun muziek precies valt, wellicht omdat de muziek van THBR niet te categoriseren is.

Er staan acht nummers op deze plaat, en een zwaarder begin dan Body Breakers is moeilijk denkbaar. Het is een nummer dat je ziel breekt (niet je lijf), een ritueel met repetitieve drums die als aanslagen klinken. Is het Can? Of Amen Ra? Of wat dan ook? Het klinkt briljant en meteen heeft het nummer je bij de keel, en kijk je vol spanning uit naar wat komen zal. Het zou voor Pieter Uyttenhove, Emeriek Verhoye, Valentijn Goethals, Alexander Maekelberg en Tim Bryon gemakkelijk zijn om dit stramien in iedere song te herhalen, maar ze doen dat niet en lijken zich in ieder nummer heruit te vinden.

Op Flower Bone Ornaments vertolkt Stef Heeren van Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat een gastrolletje. Het is een gitzwart nummer, muziek die niet donkerder kan, vreemde psychedelica zonder hoop en door de mystieke accordeongeluiden denk je aan het mooiste van wat Nico heeft gemaakt. Een Gentse band die met de beste artieste ooit wordt vergeleken, jawel!

Op Om Benza Satto Hung zorgen allerlei belletjes voor een rituele sfeer, alhoewel de klanken van de gitaren hard door je ziel snijden. The Black Heart Rebellion maakt muziek die je tegelijkertijd blij maakt, maar je krijgt nooit de kans om een glimlach op je gezicht te toveren, de noise slaat je onmiddellijk murw. Dat geldt ook voor Bow And Silk Arrow met zijn heerlijke distorted gitaren en een stijl die sommigen ongetwijfeld met Pink Floyd zullen linken.

Er is echter ook plaats voor wat rust, of beter gezegd: bezinning, op Near To Fire For Bricks en Violent Love, waarop Annelies Van Dinter van Echo Beatty de microfoon in handen neemt.

Neen, de titel herhalen we echt niet meer, maar de nieuwe TBHR is een gevarieerde must. Zeg dat een Gentenaar het gezegd heeft!

Didier BECU
27/10/2015


 

Next reviews
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP

 

Other reviews from THE BLACK HEART REBELLION
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • Ghent, De Handelsbeurs (07/11/15)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK + POST-METAL
IN MY DREAMS • XII Reasons To Remember

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
RISE • Resilience
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)