tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : THE BLOWOUTS - A Veteran of Sorts

THE BLOWOUTS

A Veteran of Sorts

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
17/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Postpunk rock from Plymouth. With this debut album The Blow Outs offers us post-punk/indie rock songs that reminds you of The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes and Interpol. Not very original, we hear you say. Maybe not, but they sound convincing and fresh. You can hear elements of indie, punk and rock with some great riffs and a voice that demands attention. The sound of these men is just like a rough diamond that still needs to be polished, but you hear the quality.

When you hear the term indie, you might think of some bespectacled nerd with a guitar in his hand, but there is a lot of rock involved here. The title track A Veteran Of Sorts is pure rock with varied guitar riffs. The vocals fit very well here. Same can be said about On A Roll, just the chorus is a bit of a mediocre level.

Peace Talks reminds me of the Belgian band Nemo. We're Safe in Here is a fragile song, somewhat in the style of Suede's Saturday Night or Europe Is Our Playground. Not bad at all and it kind of divides the album in two.

Kill Your Darlings is again too mediocre to leave a big impression. 237 is an instrumental song that floats on a bass line and a hunting guitar riff. The album ends with a similar song as at the start: a slow song with a lot of emotion and a rocking end. A fine album that occasionally gives me some adrenaline, it reminds me of the Friday feeling during my teenage years.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


NL

Postpunkrock uit Plymouth. Met dit album brengen The Blowouts hun debuut uit dat vol met postpunk-/indierockliedjes staat die je aan The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes of Interpol doen denken. Niet origineel dus, zal je denken. Misschien, maar ze klinken wel overtuigend en fris. Je hoort elementen van indie, punk en rock met veel riffs en een stem die de aandacht opeist. Het geluid van deze mannen is nog een beetje als een ruwe diamant waaraan hier en daar nog wat kan worden gepolijst, maar je hoort de kwaliteit.

Bij indierock denk je misschien wel eens aan een gebrilde nerd met een gitaar in zijn hand, maar hier mag je gerust de nadruk op rock leggen. Het titelnummer A Veteran of Sorts rockt met zijn livegeluid en afwisselende gitaarriffs. Ook de zang past er heel goed bij. Dat is ook het geval op On A Roll, waarvan het refrein wel eerder middelmatig is.

Opener Stop Loss Policy begint eerder ingetogen en breekt daarna open. Een heel mooi opgebouwde song waarin alles klopt. Peace Talks doet me wat denken aan de Belgische band Nemo. We’re Safe in Here is een breekbare song, een beetje in de stijl van Suede’s Saturday Night of Europe Is Our Playground. Niet slecht gedaan en het deelt het album wat in twee op.

Kill Your Darlings is dan weer te middelmatig om grote indruk te maken. 237 is een instrumentaal nummer dat drijft op een zingende baslijn en een jagende gitaarriff. Het album eindigt met een gelijksoortige song zoals in het begin: een nummer dat traag op gang komt, met veel emotie en een rockend einde. Een aangenaam plaatje dat mij nu en dan adrenaline geeft, het herinnert mij aan het vrijdagavondgevoel tijdens mijn tienerjaren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass