tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : THE BLOWOUTS - A Veteran of Sorts

THE BLOWOUTS

A Veteran of Sorts

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
17/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Postpunk rock from Plymouth. With this debut album The Blow Outs offers us post-punk/indie rock songs that reminds you of The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes and Interpol. Not very original, we hear you say. Maybe not, but they sound convincing and fresh. You can hear elements of indie, punk and rock with some great riffs and a voice that demands attention. The sound of these men is just like a rough diamond that still needs to be polished, but you hear the quality.

When you hear the term indie, you might think of some bespectacled nerd with a guitar in his hand, but there is a lot of rock involved here. The title track A Veteran Of Sorts is pure rock with varied guitar riffs. The vocals fit very well here. Same can be said about On A Roll, just the chorus is a bit of a mediocre level.

Peace Talks reminds me of the Belgian band Nemo. We're Safe in Here is a fragile song, somewhat in the style of Suede's Saturday Night or Europe Is Our Playground. Not bad at all and it kind of divides the album in two.

Kill Your Darlings is again too mediocre to leave a big impression. 237 is an instrumental song that floats on a bass line and a hunting guitar riff. The album ends with a similar song as at the start: a slow song with a lot of emotion and a rocking end. A fine album that occasionally gives me some adrenaline, it reminds me of the Friday feeling during my teenage years.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


NL

Postpunkrock uit Plymouth. Met dit album brengen The Blowouts hun debuut uit dat vol met postpunk-/indierockliedjes staat die je aan The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes of Interpol doen denken. Niet origineel dus, zal je denken. Misschien, maar ze klinken wel overtuigend en fris. Je hoort elementen van indie, punk en rock met veel riffs en een stem die de aandacht opeist. Het geluid van deze mannen is nog een beetje als een ruwe diamant waaraan hier en daar nog wat kan worden gepolijst, maar je hoort de kwaliteit.

Bij indierock denk je misschien wel eens aan een gebrilde nerd met een gitaar in zijn hand, maar hier mag je gerust de nadruk op rock leggen. Het titelnummer A Veteran of Sorts rockt met zijn livegeluid en afwisselende gitaarriffs. Ook de zang past er heel goed bij. Dat is ook het geval op On A Roll, waarvan het refrein wel eerder middelmatig is.

Opener Stop Loss Policy begint eerder ingetogen en breekt daarna open. Een heel mooi opgebouwde song waarin alles klopt. Peace Talks doet me wat denken aan de Belgische band Nemo. We’re Safe in Here is een breekbare song, een beetje in de stijl van Suede’s Saturday Night of Europe Is Our Playground. Niet slecht gedaan en het deelt het album wat in twee op.

Kill Your Darlings is dan weer te middelmatig om grote indruk te maken. 237 is een instrumentaal nummer dat drijft op een zingende baslijn en een jagende gitaarriff. Het album eindigt met een gelijksoortige song zoals in het begin: een nummer dat traag op gang komt, met veel emotie en een rockend einde. Een aangenaam plaatje dat mij nu en dan adrenaline geeft, het herinnert mij aan het vrijdagavondgevoel tijdens mijn tienerjaren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House