tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : THE BLOWOUTS - A Veteran of Sorts

THE BLOWOUTS

A Veteran of Sorts

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
17/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Postpunk rock from Plymouth. With this debut album The Blow Outs offers us post-punk/indie rock songs that reminds you of The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes and Interpol. Not very original, we hear you say. Maybe not, but they sound convincing and fresh. You can hear elements of indie, punk and rock with some great riffs and a voice that demands attention. The sound of these men is just like a rough diamond that still needs to be polished, but you hear the quality.

When you hear the term indie, you might think of some bespectacled nerd with a guitar in his hand, but there is a lot of rock involved here. The title track A Veteran Of Sorts is pure rock with varied guitar riffs. The vocals fit very well here. Same can be said about On A Roll, just the chorus is a bit of a mediocre level.

Peace Talks reminds me of the Belgian band Nemo. We're Safe in Here is a fragile song, somewhat in the style of Suede's Saturday Night or Europe Is Our Playground. Not bad at all and it kind of divides the album in two.

Kill Your Darlings is again too mediocre to leave a big impression. 237 is an instrumental song that floats on a bass line and a hunting guitar riff. The album ends with a similar song as at the start: a slow song with a lot of emotion and a rocking end. A fine album that occasionally gives me some adrenaline, it reminds me of the Friday feeling during my teenage years.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


NL

Postpunkrock uit Plymouth. Met dit album brengen The Blowouts hun debuut uit dat vol met postpunk-/indierockliedjes staat die je aan The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes of Interpol doen denken. Niet origineel dus, zal je denken. Misschien, maar ze klinken wel overtuigend en fris. Je hoort elementen van indie, punk en rock met veel riffs en een stem die de aandacht opeist. Het geluid van deze mannen is nog een beetje als een ruwe diamant waaraan hier en daar nog wat kan worden gepolijst, maar je hoort de kwaliteit.

Bij indierock denk je misschien wel eens aan een gebrilde nerd met een gitaar in zijn hand, maar hier mag je gerust de nadruk op rock leggen. Het titelnummer A Veteran of Sorts rockt met zijn livegeluid en afwisselende gitaarriffs. Ook de zang past er heel goed bij. Dat is ook het geval op On A Roll, waarvan het refrein wel eerder middelmatig is.

Opener Stop Loss Policy begint eerder ingetogen en breekt daarna open. Een heel mooi opgebouwde song waarin alles klopt. Peace Talks doet me wat denken aan de Belgische band Nemo. We’re Safe in Here is een breekbare song, een beetje in de stijl van Suede’s Saturday Night of Europe Is Our Playground. Niet slecht gedaan en het deelt het album wat in twee op.

Kill Your Darlings is dan weer te middelmatig om grote indruk te maken. 237 is een instrumentaal nummer dat drijft op een zingende baslijn en een jagende gitaarriff. Het album eindigt met een gelijksoortige song zoals in het begin: een nummer dat traag op gang komt, met veel emotie en een rockend einde. Een aangenaam plaatje dat mij nu en dan adrenaline geeft, het herinnert mij aan het vrijdagavondgevoel tijdens mijn tienerjaren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights