tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : THE BLOWOUTS - A Veteran of Sorts

THE BLOWOUTS

A Veteran of Sorts

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
17/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Postpunk rock from Plymouth. With this debut album The Blow Outs offers us post-punk/indie rock songs that reminds you of The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes and Interpol. Not very original, we hear you say. Maybe not, but they sound convincing and fresh. You can hear elements of indie, punk and rock with some great riffs and a voice that demands attention. The sound of these men is just like a rough diamond that still needs to be polished, but you hear the quality.

When you hear the term indie, you might think of some bespectacled nerd with a guitar in his hand, but there is a lot of rock involved here. The title track A Veteran Of Sorts is pure rock with varied guitar riffs. The vocals fit very well here. Same can be said about On A Roll, just the chorus is a bit of a mediocre level.

Peace Talks reminds me of the Belgian band Nemo. We're Safe in Here is a fragile song, somewhat in the style of Suede's Saturday Night or Europe Is Our Playground. Not bad at all and it kind of divides the album in two.

Kill Your Darlings is again too mediocre to leave a big impression. 237 is an instrumental song that floats on a bass line and a hunting guitar riff. The album ends with a similar song as at the start: a slow song with a lot of emotion and a rocking end. A fine album that occasionally gives me some adrenaline, it reminds me of the Friday feeling during my teenage years.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


NL

Postpunkrock uit Plymouth. Met dit album brengen The Blowouts hun debuut uit dat vol met postpunk-/indierockliedjes staat die je aan The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes of Interpol doen denken. Niet origineel dus, zal je denken. Misschien, maar ze klinken wel overtuigend en fris. Je hoort elementen van indie, punk en rock met veel riffs en een stem die de aandacht opeist. Het geluid van deze mannen is nog een beetje als een ruwe diamant waaraan hier en daar nog wat kan worden gepolijst, maar je hoort de kwaliteit.

Bij indierock denk je misschien wel eens aan een gebrilde nerd met een gitaar in zijn hand, maar hier mag je gerust de nadruk op rock leggen. Het titelnummer A Veteran of Sorts rockt met zijn livegeluid en afwisselende gitaarriffs. Ook de zang past er heel goed bij. Dat is ook het geval op On A Roll, waarvan het refrein wel eerder middelmatig is.

Opener Stop Loss Policy begint eerder ingetogen en breekt daarna open. Een heel mooi opgebouwde song waarin alles klopt. Peace Talks doet me wat denken aan de Belgische band Nemo. We’re Safe in Here is een breekbare song, een beetje in de stijl van Suede’s Saturday Night of Europe Is Our Playground. Niet slecht gedaan en het deelt het album wat in twee op.

Kill Your Darlings is dan weer te middelmatig om grote indruk te maken. 237 is een instrumentaal nummer dat drijft op een zingende baslijn en een jagende gitaarriff. Het album eindigt met een gelijksoortige song zoals in het begin: een nummer dat traag op gang komt, met veel emotie en een rockend einde. Een aangenaam plaatje dat mij nu en dan adrenaline geeft, het herinnert mij aan het vrijdagavondgevoel tijdens mijn tienerjaren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


Music reviews

25
03
UNKNOWN INSTRUCTORS
Unwilling To Explain
24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker
22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
03
BORGHESIA
Like Every Style Of Music, EBM Also Had A Limited Period Of Duration
16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
03
HOLE
Celebrity Skin
25
03
FAUNLET
Anatomy
24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)