tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/11/2015 : THE BLOWOUTS - A Veteran of Sorts

THE BLOWOUTS

A Veteran of Sorts

MusicCD
Indie RockPost Punk

[78/100]   

Self-released
17/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Postpunk rock from Plymouth. With this debut album The Blow Outs offers us post-punk/indie rock songs that reminds you of The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes and Interpol. Not very original, we hear you say. Maybe not, but they sound convincing and fresh. You can hear elements of indie, punk and rock with some great riffs and a voice that demands attention. The sound of these men is just like a rough diamond that still needs to be polished, but you hear the quality.

When you hear the term indie, you might think of some bespectacled nerd with a guitar in his hand, but there is a lot of rock involved here. The title track A Veteran Of Sorts is pure rock with varied guitar riffs. The vocals fit very well here. Same can be said about On A Roll, just the chorus is a bit of a mediocre level.

Peace Talks reminds me of the Belgian band Nemo. We're Safe in Here is a fragile song, somewhat in the style of Suede's Saturday Night or Europe Is Our Playground. Not bad at all and it kind of divides the album in two.

Kill Your Darlings is again too mediocre to leave a big impression. 237 is an instrumental song that floats on a bass line and a hunting guitar riff. The album ends with a similar song as at the start: a slow song with a lot of emotion and a rocking end. A fine album that occasionally gives me some adrenaline, it reminds me of the Friday feeling during my teenage years.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


NL

Postpunkrock uit Plymouth. Met dit album brengen The Blowouts hun debuut uit dat vol met postpunk-/indierockliedjes staat die je aan The Rapture, Gang of Four, The Strokes of Interpol doen denken. Niet origineel dus, zal je denken. Misschien, maar ze klinken wel overtuigend en fris. Je hoort elementen van indie, punk en rock met veel riffs en een stem die de aandacht opeist. Het geluid van deze mannen is nog een beetje als een ruwe diamant waaraan hier en daar nog wat kan worden gepolijst, maar je hoort de kwaliteit.

Bij indierock denk je misschien wel eens aan een gebrilde nerd met een gitaar in zijn hand, maar hier mag je gerust de nadruk op rock leggen. Het titelnummer A Veteran of Sorts rockt met zijn livegeluid en afwisselende gitaarriffs. Ook de zang past er heel goed bij. Dat is ook het geval op On A Roll, waarvan het refrein wel eerder middelmatig is.

Opener Stop Loss Policy begint eerder ingetogen en breekt daarna open. Een heel mooi opgebouwde song waarin alles klopt. Peace Talks doet me wat denken aan de Belgische band Nemo. We’re Safe in Here is een breekbare song, een beetje in de stijl van Suede’s Saturday Night of Europe Is Our Playground. Niet slecht gedaan en het deelt het album wat in twee op.

Kill Your Darlings is dan weer te middelmatig om grote indruk te maken. 237 is een instrumentaal nummer dat drijft op een zingende baslijn en een jagende gitaarriff. Het album eindigt met een gelijksoortige song zoals in het begin: een nummer dat traag op gang komt, met veel emotie en een rockend einde. Een aangenaam plaatje dat mij nu en dan adrenaline geeft, het herinnert mij aan het vrijdagavondgevoel tijdens mijn tienerjaren.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/11/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)