tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2012 : THE BREATH OF LIFE - Whispering Fields

THE BREATH OF LIFE

Whispering Fields

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothic

[85/100]   

Danse Macabre
19/11/2012, Didier BECU

We already have reviewed the album by THE BREATH OF LIFE? So what. A band like them deserves this. Not only will they be playing on the forthcoming edition of BIMfest, but they're also the sole ethereal dreampop-gothband from Belgium. Okay, since some years we can add Dark Poem to that short list, but still...

The story of THE BREATH OF LIFE makes me both sad and happy. I remember the days when I saw them playing at a festival in Liège supporting the godlike Adrian Borland (where are the times) and even if I thought they were a Siouxsie-like band (they're not!), it makes me smile that twenty years later they still do their thing. Okay, Belgium would never listen to the mysterious voice from Isabelle Dekeyser which still reminds me of Liz Frazer, but the rest of Europe was listening. Well, sort of, as THE BREATH OF LIFE were wellcome guests in Eastern Europe, which also earned them a place on the Lacrimosa's label.

And now there's finally the new album which is as good as Silver Drops, the best 4-AD album that has never been released on 4-AD. Genius ethereal voices by Isabelle, coldwave-guitars by Didier Czepczyck, reminding me of excellent bands that used to be on Lively Art, a powerful bass by Benoit and yes, there are the drums from Marc Haerden too.

No, all jokes aside, the newest album by THE BREATH OF LIFE is the result from a classy band who has never given up. Why give up anyway, they're like one of the best Belgian bands ever. Neglected by the press but not us, we even review it twice.

Oh, and apart from the great new tracks there are two new versions from Nasty Cloud included. Talking about those days in Liège....

 

 

 

Didier BECU
19/11/2012


 

Next reviews
NORTH ATLANTIC OSCILLATION • Fog Electric
EXPONENTIA • Allein
EMOTIKON • Emotikon
THE RIGEL • Sightseeing at midnight
REVOLVING DOOR • Milk & Honey
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • The House Of Love
VS • Just a sigh part1
PAVILLON ROUGE • Solmeth Pervitine
BLOWSIGHT • Life & Death
FEUERSEELE • Erntezeit

 

Other reviews from THE BREATH OF LIFE
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams