tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2012 : THE BREATH OF LIFE - Whispering Fields

THE BREATH OF LIFE

Whispering Fields

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothic

[85/100]   

Danse Macabre
19/11/2012, Didier BECU

We already have reviewed the album by THE BREATH OF LIFE? So what. A band like them deserves this. Not only will they be playing on the forthcoming edition of BIMfest, but they're also the sole ethereal dreampop-gothband from Belgium. Okay, since some years we can add Dark Poem to that short list, but still...

The story of THE BREATH OF LIFE makes me both sad and happy. I remember the days when I saw them playing at a festival in Liège supporting the godlike Adrian Borland (where are the times) and even if I thought they were a Siouxsie-like band (they're not!), it makes me smile that twenty years later they still do their thing. Okay, Belgium would never listen to the mysterious voice from Isabelle Dekeyser which still reminds me of Liz Frazer, but the rest of Europe was listening. Well, sort of, as THE BREATH OF LIFE were wellcome guests in Eastern Europe, which also earned them a place on the Lacrimosa's label.

And now there's finally the new album which is as good as Silver Drops, the best 4-AD album that has never been released on 4-AD. Genius ethereal voices by Isabelle, coldwave-guitars by Didier Czepczyck, reminding me of excellent bands that used to be on Lively Art, a powerful bass by Benoit and yes, there are the drums from Marc Haerden too.

No, all jokes aside, the newest album by THE BREATH OF LIFE is the result from a classy band who has never given up. Why give up anyway, they're like one of the best Belgian bands ever. Neglected by the press but not us, we even review it twice.

Oh, and apart from the great new tracks there are two new versions from Nasty Cloud included. Talking about those days in Liège....

 

 

 

Didier BECU
19/11/2012


 

Next reviews
NORTH ATLANTIC OSCILLATION • Fog Electric
EXPONENTIA • Allein
EMOTIKON • Emotikon
THE RIGEL • Sightseeing at midnight
REVOLVING DOOR • Milk & Honey
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • The House Of Love
VS • Just a sigh part1
PAVILLON ROUGE • Solmeth Pervitine
BLOWSIGHT • Life & Death
FEUERSEELE • Erntezeit

 

Other reviews from THE BREATH OF LIFE
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams