tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : THE BRITISH IBM - Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

THE BRITISH IBM

Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

MusicCD
IndiePop

[72/100]   

PDP8 Records
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

And now time for sugar-sweet indie pop, albeit full of sarcastic lyrics. With a band’s name like The British IBM, you might expect some Kraftwerk-like beats coming out your speakers, but that’s not the case. This band is just a guy from Cambridge who is obsessed with computers, Adrian Killens even released a single once on a floppy disk, which in times when music is brought by you through an USB flash, is not silly at all.

Aidy describes his music as lo-fi, inspired by Guided By Voices and Weezer, we ourselves thought (perhaps because of the romantic frame) more of Belle & Sebastian and The Magnetic Fields, which isn’t bad either!

Along with a whole host of guest musicians (you even hear a cello and a bassoon), The British IBM (the musical pseudonym of Aidy) just released a second album with the notable (and insane) title Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. The eleven songs have a cheerful undertone, but if you listen carefully, you’ll discover the black sarcasm of say Babybird. Some will label The British IBM as art rock, some will say it’s geek pop and then again, others will categorize it as intelligent bedroom pop. And why not, nobody ever thought that White Town once would conquer the world, maybe The British IBM can do it too.

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

En dan is het nu tijd voor zeemzoete indiepop, weliswaar vol sarcastische teksten. Bij een groepsnaam zoals The British IBM, zou je misschien verwachten dat er allerlei Kraftwerkachtige beats uit je speakers komen, maar niets is minder waar. Het gaat gewoon om een kerel uit Cambridge die bezeten is door computers, Adrian Killens bracht zelfs ooit een single op een floppy disk uit, wat in tijden waarin muziek op een USB-stick wordt aangeboden, niet eens zo gek klinkt.

Aidy omschrijft zijn muziek wel als lo-fi die geïnspireerd is door Guided By Voices en Weezer, zelf dachten we eerder (wellicht door de romantische omkadering) aan Belle & Sebastian of The Magnetic Fields. Het blijft een vreemde gedachte, maar Aidys stem klinkt als die van Sam Valkenborgh van Fixkes (en we laten in het midden of dat nu een voor- of nadeel is).

Samen met een hele resem gastmuzikanten (je hoort zelfs een cello en een fagot) heeft The British IBM (het muzikale pseudoniem van Aidy) net een tweede plaat uit met de opmerkelijke (krankzinnige) titel Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. De elf nummers hebben een vrolijke ondertoon, maar wie goed luistert, zal het zwart sarcasme van bijv. pakweg Baby Bird erin ontdekken. Sommigen zullen The British IBM als artrock bestempelen, anderen dan weer als geekpop en wie weet denkt er wel iemand dat het intelligente bedroompop is. En waarom niet, niemand die ooit dacht dat White Town de wereld zou veroveren, misschien doet The British IBM dat ook ooit. 

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love