tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : THE BRITISH IBM - Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

THE BRITISH IBM

Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

MusicCD
IndiePop

[72/100]   

PDP8 Records
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

And now time for sugar-sweet indie pop, albeit full of sarcastic lyrics. With a band’s name like The British IBM, you might expect some Kraftwerk-like beats coming out your speakers, but that’s not the case. This band is just a guy from Cambridge who is obsessed with computers, Adrian Killens even released a single once on a floppy disk, which in times when music is brought by you through an USB flash, is not silly at all.

Aidy describes his music as lo-fi, inspired by Guided By Voices and Weezer, we ourselves thought (perhaps because of the romantic frame) more of Belle & Sebastian and The Magnetic Fields, which isn’t bad either!

Along with a whole host of guest musicians (you even hear a cello and a bassoon), The British IBM (the musical pseudonym of Aidy) just released a second album with the notable (and insane) title Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. The eleven songs have a cheerful undertone, but if you listen carefully, you’ll discover the black sarcasm of say Babybird. Some will label The British IBM as art rock, some will say it’s geek pop and then again, others will categorize it as intelligent bedroom pop. And why not, nobody ever thought that White Town once would conquer the world, maybe The British IBM can do it too.

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

En dan is het nu tijd voor zeemzoete indiepop, weliswaar vol sarcastische teksten. Bij een groepsnaam zoals The British IBM, zou je misschien verwachten dat er allerlei Kraftwerkachtige beats uit je speakers komen, maar niets is minder waar. Het gaat gewoon om een kerel uit Cambridge die bezeten is door computers, Adrian Killens bracht zelfs ooit een single op een floppy disk uit, wat in tijden waarin muziek op een USB-stick wordt aangeboden, niet eens zo gek klinkt.

Aidy omschrijft zijn muziek wel als lo-fi die geïnspireerd is door Guided By Voices en Weezer, zelf dachten we eerder (wellicht door de romantische omkadering) aan Belle & Sebastian of The Magnetic Fields. Het blijft een vreemde gedachte, maar Aidys stem klinkt als die van Sam Valkenborgh van Fixkes (en we laten in het midden of dat nu een voor- of nadeel is).

Samen met een hele resem gastmuzikanten (je hoort zelfs een cello en een fagot) heeft The British IBM (het muzikale pseudoniem van Aidy) net een tweede plaat uit met de opmerkelijke (krankzinnige) titel Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. De elf nummers hebben een vrolijke ondertoon, maar wie goed luistert, zal het zwart sarcasme van bijv. pakweg Baby Bird erin ontdekken. Sommigen zullen The British IBM als artrock bestempelen, anderen dan weer als geekpop en wie weet denkt er wel iemand dat het intelligente bedroompop is. En waarom niet, niemand die ooit dacht dat White Town de wereld zou veroveren, misschien doet The British IBM dat ook ooit. 

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper