tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

06/06/2015 : THE CHURCH - Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

THE CHURCH

Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

Concert


[90/100]   
06/06/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Australia's oft-forgotten troubadour Steven Kilbey is a miraculous character - in three decades plus he's been through the mill more than most (I suspect the old sex, drugs and rock and roll adage is as cliched as I can get). What with his own frosty reputation with idiot journalists brought about by an equally chilly critique of his beloved outfit since its inception, is it any wonder that The Church have frequently run the gamut of indifference despite winning awards and shifting a fair amount of sales in their time?

Personally, I've loved The Church ever since rescuing a vinyl copy of Heyday at my branch of Our Price in the late '80s. Destined for being returned to our central warehouse - a thinly-disguised description for a vinyl graveyard - our one and only copy priced at £3.99 soon became glued to my record player. Tracks like Myrrh, Tantalized, Happy Hunting Ground and Already Yesterday had elements of The Byrds, Dream Syndicate and Go-Betweens and a pleasing obsession with 12-strings and harmonies. Sold.

Roughly thirty years later and dozens of albums later, both group and solo, The Church's congregation has dwindled somewhat but remains as partisan as ever - tonight's remarkable show was proof. Kilbey and long-term Church performers Peter Koppes and Tim Powles were more than ably supported by newbie guitarist Ian Haug (of Powderfinger, no less), utilising the venue's half-decent (and half-muddy, it has to be said) soundsystem that actually sounded better in the upstairs mezzanine than downstairs.

With an excellent new album Further Deeper set for a release in June, anticipation was high although we had to wait to hear anything from it. They kicked off with early track Is This Where You Live (from Of Skins and Heart), perhaps no the most upbeat choice but certainly a statement of intent. 2003's Forget Yourself had a visit in the form of Sealine before the opening chords of the new Laurel Canyon filled the room with its lush guitar-work and accessible chorus. This is the new Church and an example of just how deftly they can weave a tune and captivate an audience.

By this time, Kilbey was loosening up and becoming more and more expressive and flamboyant as the frontman, prowling the stage and keeping his subjects seduced with that baritone and the occasional sliver of humour and repartee. The 'hits' Metropolis and Under The Milky Way demonstrated why The Church are held in such high esteem by many though it also underlines how appalling the Great British Public's taste was/is - neither single dented the Top 75 in the UK (they both fared better across the pond). Myrrh from Heyday was also a highlight as indeed was the new epic Miami which is a tour-de-force in itself. We all sensed that the visceral The Disillusionist and the pretty Old Flame rang personal bells within Kilbey's mind as the singer threw his entire heart and soul at both of them - their parent-album Priest = Aura is a favourite of his (it's pretty high up my list of Church albums too).

You Took, Day 5 and Starfish staple Reptile formed the encore part of the show, by which time all band members were firing on so many cylinders they were in danger of taking off.

It had been several years since the band's last London headliner and it showed - The Church remain blessed, free-spirited and deserving of this latest rebirth.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
06/06/2015


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)