tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

06/06/2015 : THE CHURCH - Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

THE CHURCH

Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

Concert


[90/100]   
06/06/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Australia's oft-forgotten troubadour Steven Kilbey is a miraculous character - in three decades plus he's been through the mill more than most (I suspect the old sex, drugs and rock and roll adage is as cliched as I can get). What with his own frosty reputation with idiot journalists brought about by an equally chilly critique of his beloved outfit since its inception, is it any wonder that The Church have frequently run the gamut of indifference despite winning awards and shifting a fair amount of sales in their time?

Personally, I've loved The Church ever since rescuing a vinyl copy of Heyday at my branch of Our Price in the late '80s. Destined for being returned to our central warehouse - a thinly-disguised description for a vinyl graveyard - our one and only copy priced at £3.99 soon became glued to my record player. Tracks like Myrrh, Tantalized, Happy Hunting Ground and Already Yesterday had elements of The Byrds, Dream Syndicate and Go-Betweens and a pleasing obsession with 12-strings and harmonies. Sold.

Roughly thirty years later and dozens of albums later, both group and solo, The Church's congregation has dwindled somewhat but remains as partisan as ever - tonight's remarkable show was proof. Kilbey and long-term Church performers Peter Koppes and Tim Powles were more than ably supported by newbie guitarist Ian Haug (of Powderfinger, no less), utilising the venue's half-decent (and half-muddy, it has to be said) soundsystem that actually sounded better in the upstairs mezzanine than downstairs.

With an excellent new album Further Deeper set for a release in June, anticipation was high although we had to wait to hear anything from it. They kicked off with early track Is This Where You Live (from Of Skins and Heart), perhaps no the most upbeat choice but certainly a statement of intent. 2003's Forget Yourself had a visit in the form of Sealine before the opening chords of the new Laurel Canyon filled the room with its lush guitar-work and accessible chorus. This is the new Church and an example of just how deftly they can weave a tune and captivate an audience.

By this time, Kilbey was loosening up and becoming more and more expressive and flamboyant as the frontman, prowling the stage and keeping his subjects seduced with that baritone and the occasional sliver of humour and repartee. The 'hits' Metropolis and Under The Milky Way demonstrated why The Church are held in such high esteem by many though it also underlines how appalling the Great British Public's taste was/is - neither single dented the Top 75 in the UK (they both fared better across the pond). Myrrh from Heyday was also a highlight as indeed was the new epic Miami which is a tour-de-force in itself. We all sensed that the visceral The Disillusionist and the pretty Old Flame rang personal bells within Kilbey's mind as the singer threw his entire heart and soul at both of them - their parent-album Priest = Aura is a favourite of his (it's pretty high up my list of Church albums too).

You Took, Day 5 and Starfish staple Reptile formed the encore part of the show, by which time all band members were firing on so many cylinders they were in danger of taking off.

It had been several years since the band's last London headliner and it showed - The Church remain blessed, free-spirited and deserving of this latest rebirth.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
06/06/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque