tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

06/06/2015 : THE CHURCH - Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

THE CHURCH

Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

Concert


[90/100]   
06/06/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Australia's oft-forgotten troubadour Steven Kilbey is a miraculous character - in three decades plus he's been through the mill more than most (I suspect the old sex, drugs and rock and roll adage is as cliched as I can get). What with his own frosty reputation with idiot journalists brought about by an equally chilly critique of his beloved outfit since its inception, is it any wonder that The Church have frequently run the gamut of indifference despite winning awards and shifting a fair amount of sales in their time?

Personally, I've loved The Church ever since rescuing a vinyl copy of Heyday at my branch of Our Price in the late '80s. Destined for being returned to our central warehouse - a thinly-disguised description for a vinyl graveyard - our one and only copy priced at £3.99 soon became glued to my record player. Tracks like Myrrh, Tantalized, Happy Hunting Ground and Already Yesterday had elements of The Byrds, Dream Syndicate and Go-Betweens and a pleasing obsession with 12-strings and harmonies. Sold.

Roughly thirty years later and dozens of albums later, both group and solo, The Church's congregation has dwindled somewhat but remains as partisan as ever - tonight's remarkable show was proof. Kilbey and long-term Church performers Peter Koppes and Tim Powles were more than ably supported by newbie guitarist Ian Haug (of Powderfinger, no less), utilising the venue's half-decent (and half-muddy, it has to be said) soundsystem that actually sounded better in the upstairs mezzanine than downstairs.

With an excellent new album Further Deeper set for a release in June, anticipation was high although we had to wait to hear anything from it. They kicked off with early track Is This Where You Live (from Of Skins and Heart), perhaps no the most upbeat choice but certainly a statement of intent. 2003's Forget Yourself had a visit in the form of Sealine before the opening chords of the new Laurel Canyon filled the room with its lush guitar-work and accessible chorus. This is the new Church and an example of just how deftly they can weave a tune and captivate an audience.

By this time, Kilbey was loosening up and becoming more and more expressive and flamboyant as the frontman, prowling the stage and keeping his subjects seduced with that baritone and the occasional sliver of humour and repartee. The 'hits' Metropolis and Under The Milky Way demonstrated why The Church are held in such high esteem by many though it also underlines how appalling the Great British Public's taste was/is - neither single dented the Top 75 in the UK (they both fared better across the pond). Myrrh from Heyday was also a highlight as indeed was the new epic Miami which is a tour-de-force in itself. We all sensed that the visceral The Disillusionist and the pretty Old Flame rang personal bells within Kilbey's mind as the singer threw his entire heart and soul at both of them - their parent-album Priest = Aura is a favourite of his (it's pretty high up my list of Church albums too).

You Took, Day 5 and Starfish staple Reptile formed the encore part of the show, by which time all band members were firing on so many cylinders they were in danger of taking off.

It had been several years since the band's last London headliner and it showed - The Church remain blessed, free-spirited and deserving of this latest rebirth.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
06/06/2015


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue