tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

06/06/2015 : THE CHURCH - Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

THE CHURCH

Islington, O2 Academy 04/06/15

Concert


[90/100]   
06/06/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Australia's oft-forgotten troubadour Steven Kilbey is a miraculous character - in three decades plus he's been through the mill more than most (I suspect the old sex, drugs and rock and roll adage is as cliched as I can get). What with his own frosty reputation with idiot journalists brought about by an equally chilly critique of his beloved outfit since its inception, is it any wonder that The Church have frequently run the gamut of indifference despite winning awards and shifting a fair amount of sales in their time?

Personally, I've loved The Church ever since rescuing a vinyl copy of Heyday at my branch of Our Price in the late '80s. Destined for being returned to our central warehouse - a thinly-disguised description for a vinyl graveyard - our one and only copy priced at £3.99 soon became glued to my record player. Tracks like Myrrh, Tantalized, Happy Hunting Ground and Already Yesterday had elements of The Byrds, Dream Syndicate and Go-Betweens and a pleasing obsession with 12-strings and harmonies. Sold.

Roughly thirty years later and dozens of albums later, both group and solo, The Church's congregation has dwindled somewhat but remains as partisan as ever - tonight's remarkable show was proof. Kilbey and long-term Church performers Peter Koppes and Tim Powles were more than ably supported by newbie guitarist Ian Haug (of Powderfinger, no less), utilising the venue's half-decent (and half-muddy, it has to be said) soundsystem that actually sounded better in the upstairs mezzanine than downstairs.

With an excellent new album Further Deeper set for a release in June, anticipation was high although we had to wait to hear anything from it. They kicked off with early track Is This Where You Live (from Of Skins and Heart), perhaps no the most upbeat choice but certainly a statement of intent. 2003's Forget Yourself had a visit in the form of Sealine before the opening chords of the new Laurel Canyon filled the room with its lush guitar-work and accessible chorus. This is the new Church and an example of just how deftly they can weave a tune and captivate an audience.

By this time, Kilbey was loosening up and becoming more and more expressive and flamboyant as the frontman, prowling the stage and keeping his subjects seduced with that baritone and the occasional sliver of humour and repartee. The 'hits' Metropolis and Under The Milky Way demonstrated why The Church are held in such high esteem by many though it also underlines how appalling the Great British Public's taste was/is - neither single dented the Top 75 in the UK (they both fared better across the pond). Myrrh from Heyday was also a highlight as indeed was the new epic Miami which is a tour-de-force in itself. We all sensed that the visceral The Disillusionist and the pretty Old Flame rang personal bells within Kilbey's mind as the singer threw his entire heart and soul at both of them - their parent-album Priest = Aura is a favourite of his (it's pretty high up my list of Church albums too).

You Took, Day 5 and Starfish staple Reptile formed the encore part of the show, by which time all band members were firing on so many cylinders they were in danger of taking off.

It had been several years since the band's last London headliner and it showed - The Church remain blessed, free-spirited and deserving of this latest rebirth.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
06/06/2015


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed