tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE CULT - Hidden City

THE CULT

Hidden City

MusicCD
Alternative RockGothic Rock

[82/100]   

cooking vinyl
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Cult is basically Duffy and Astbury. Fortunately, after some turbulent periods they’re reunited. They won’t make another gothic album like Love as since Sonic Temple, the main core is hard rock and metal. Sporadically you hear some gothic elements. Since Born Into This we also notice that The Cult writes better songs. Their last album Choice of Weapon was enjoyable and deserved more airplay. So, I was wondering if they still could lift up (the already high) level on Hidden City.

The album is wrapped in a white sleeve featuring white lilies with blood drops. The first gothic element is already present.

Dark Energy opens the album with a typical Duffy riff and Astbury’s lyrics about revolution. A recognizable and clever song, but I miss a catchy chorus. No Love Lost begins with nice drumming and a rocking guitar. The vocals are inspired, with a beautiful melody in the chorus. To me it’s the first highlight.

Dance The Night is like a bunch of well-known riffs, complemented with a few nice melodies. In Blood opens with a piano, synth orchestration and a reverberating guitar. Ian’s voice reminds me of Mark Lanegan. A song with lots of details and a superb structure. Stunning.

The single Hinterland has a pumping bass and a lovely rusty guitar. Add Ian’s excellent vocals to that, and we have a brilliant rock song. On GOAT we hear an AC/DC-like riff, but the song doesn’t convince me. Deeply Ordered Chaos has a long atmospheric intro, created by synths and subtle guitar work. The song sounds quite dark and you feel that The Cult is looking for innovation. A successful attempt, just like Avalanche Of Light. Sound And Fury closes as a slow and melancholic track, similar to what the did on the last album in Elemental Light.

Hidden City is a mix of their early and later period, with some new elements. This is mainly due to the synths. On Choice of Weapon, the heavy guitars rule, but on Hidden City The Cult chooses for more nuanced guitars. The guitar work of Duffy and the production by Bob Rock are top notch. Everything sounds elegant. Ian’s voice is more mature, and on Lilies and Sound And Fury he almost croons.

The Cult made ​​a good album. Hidden City is not a masterpiece, but a highly enjoyable CD. Fans of goth rock and rock in general can buy this album without hesitation...

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

The Cult is in feite Duffy en Astbury. Gelukkig hebben ze na wat woelige periodes elkaar teruggevonden. Een gothalbum zoals Love zit er niet meer in. Hun basisgeluid ligt sinds Sonic Temple eerder in harde rock en metal, hoewel de gothelementen sporadisch nog eens de revue passeren. Sedert Born Into This merken we ook dat het songmateriaal opnieuw beter wordt. Hun vorig album Choice of Weapon was zeer genietbaar en mocht gerust wat meer airplay krijgen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd of ze met Hidden City het niveau nog op konden trekken.

Het album zit in een witte hoes met witte lelies en daaronder bloeddruppels, het eerste gothelement is meteen al aanwezig.

Dark Energy opent het album met een typische Duffy-riff en een tekst door Astbury over revolutie. Een herkenbare en knappe song waarin een catchy refrein wat ontbreekt. No Love Lost begint met mooi drumwerk en een rockende gitaar. De zang is geïnspireerd en krijgt een prachtige zanglijn in het refrein. Voor mij een eerste hoogtepunt.

Dance The Night
 is net een aaneenschakeling van bekende riffs met daarbovenop een paar mooie melodielijnen. In Blood opent met piano, synths en een galmende gitaar. De gelouterde stem doet wat aan Mark Lanegan denken. Een track met veel details en een sterke opbouw. Schitterend.

 De single Hinterland heeft een pompende bas en een roestige gitaar. Voeg daarbij de prima zang van Ian en we hebben een schitterende rocksong. Op GOAT horen we een AC/DC-achtige riff, maar de song kan mij toch niet overtuigen. Deeply Ordered Chaos heeft een lang en sfeerrijk intro van mooie synths en subtiel gitaarwerk. De song klinkt vrij donker en je voelt dat The Cult naar vernieuwing zoekt. Een geslaagde poging. Dit is ook het geval met Avalanche of Light. Sound And Fury sluit trager af en is een melancholisch gezongen track. Een beetje zoals Elemental Light uit hun vorig album.

Waar kunnen we dit album in hun oeuvre situeren? Mij lijkt het een mengeling van hun vroege en latere werk, met hier en daar toch vernieuwende elementen. Dit is vooral te danken aan de synths die voor de moderne toets zorgen. Werd op Choice of Weapon voor snedig en zwaar gitaarwerk gekozen, dan zijn het op deze plaat meer genuanceerdere gitaren die de scepter zwaaien. Het gitaarwerk van Duffy en de productie door Bob Rock zijn top. Alles klinkt piekfijn. De stem van Astbury is ook wat rijper geworden en op Lilies en Sound And Fury croont hij zelfs.

The Cult heeft een goed album gemaakt. De band trekt zich niets aan van trends, maar doet z'n eigen ding en doet dat goed. Het is geen meesterwerk, maar heel aangenaam en eentje dat je regelmatig zal beluisteren. Fans van gothrock en rock in het algemeen kunnen dit album zonder nadenken kopen…

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE CULT - Hidden City 08/12/2016 : THE CULT - Hidden City 08/12/2016 : THE CULT - Hidden City

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser