tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

21/06/2014 : THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE - What Time is Love?

THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE

What Time is Love?

MusicVinyl
Cold EBMDark ElectroMinimalNew wave

[100/100]   

Aufname + Wiedergabe
21/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'What Time is love' got to be a live track and it sounds surprisingly into electro (and indeed: it's a KLF cover and that explains a lot, no?)! To my total surprise it even sounds like an old undiscovered Front242 track! I'm totally into it, as it's totally not sounding like all those crappy copies! This can make it on the dance floors!

'Nod' (Black Egg Remix)' sounds like a minimal wave version of Dead Can Dance, it's a strange combination and very unique! It's clearly time for some deep space exploration on the highest level and I absolutely love it! Sounds like a master chef tasting the perfect dish! 'Womb of the Night' has nice electrofied drums in it! Love the mysterious sound and dito voice!

The hypnotizing sound conjures me that this has also a chance on the dance floors all over the world! The repetitive beats are perfectly mixed with great synths! I adore this track! The last track 'Elisa Fields' is more a strange and scary soundscape, say like In slaughter Natives. It's a bit weird coming back to the first track and start dancing after having this scary feeling. It's for sure a record with mixed emotions and showing off all the possibilities! I loved it!

Once again Ashley completely surprised me in the most positive way!

All thumbs up!

Click here to hear their music

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/06/2014


 

Next reviews
• Deadline 25/5
AMBERIAN DAWN • Magic Forest
JOSH BOONE • Stuck In Love
DIE FORM • Schaulust
• True Blood Season 6
TRIFFIDS, THE • CLASSICS: Love In Bright Landscapes
AD INFERNA • Opus7: Elevation
MATT BETTINELLI-OLPIN • Devil's Due
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear

 

Other reviews from THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep

 

Same genre: COLD EBM
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
JIHAD • Retrospekt
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
ALLES • Post
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
INVASION OF FEMALE LOGIC • Alternativlos

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets