tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE DIVINE COMEDY - Foreverland

THE DIVINE COMEDY

Foreverland

MusicCD
Indie

[84/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

From 1989 on, when The Divine Comedy was founded, Neil Hannon wasn’t afraid of coming up with some prestigious projects. With his new record Foreverland (the first since six years), the Northern Irish musician presents something different. Although the twelve songs are poppy and suitable for the playlist of an afternoon program on the radio, Foreverland can be best described as an indie opera. Not that truly amazing, as in 2014 The Royal Festival Hall asked him to write a piece for organ (it was a tribute to his father, who died of Alzheimer's disease), and he also worked on an opera that was based on the work of the German playwright Frank Alva Buechler. Hannon is indeed a man for all seasons.

The cover of this CD (Hannon dressed as a soldier) seems pompous, but the music is not. It is full of details you would not normally expect on a pop rock CD (the number of used instruments and its diversity is impressive). You can even say that Foreverland is a musical. Which Hannon admits. In a recent interview the musician admitted that he does not like musicals, but he likes to write them.

However, the eleventh album by The Divine Comedy is an aural adventure. In the first track Napoleon Complexy, you notice right away that he mixes classical orchestral arrangements with disco. Kitsch? Absolutely! However, good kitsch! The title track Foreverland even is similar to the fairytale world of Russian masters such as Rimsky-Korsakov and Tchaikovsky. The first single, a tribute to one of the most powerful women ever (Catherine the Great), is poppy and playful, while Funny Peculiar would fit in My Fair Lady.

Neil Hannon dares a lot, even using Latin rhythms on A Desperate Man, and how unusual it may be, the result is a masterful song. Foreverland is an uncommon, even downright bold record, but also beautiful, and every second you notice great professionalism.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Vanaf de oprichting van The Divine Comedy in 1989 zat Neil Hannon niet verlegen om één of ander prestigieus project. Met zijn nieuwste langspeler Foreverland (de eerste sinds zes jaar) mikt de Noord-Ierse muzikant echter bijzonder hoog. Hoewel de twaalf songs poppy zijn en uiterst geschikt voor de playlist van een namiddagprogramma op de radio, kan je Foreverland eigenlijk het best omschreven als een indie-opera. Niet dat dit je echt moet verbazen, in 2014 vroeg The Royal Festival Hall hem om een stuk te schrijven voor het net aangekochte orgel (het werd een ode aan zijn vader die aan alzheimer overleed) , en hij werkte ook mee aan een opera die gebaseerd was op de het werk van de Duitse toneelschrijver Frank Alva Buechler. Kortom, Hannon is een man die weet hoe hij een stuk moet componeren.

Het hoesje van deze cd (Hannon verkleed als soldaat) lijkt pompeus, maar dat is de muziek niet, wel zit ze boordevol details die je normaal niet in poprock verwacht (het aantal gebruikte instrumenten en de diversiteit ervan op het klaphoesje zijn dan ook indrukwekkend). Je kan zelfs enigszins beweren dat Foreverland een musical is, dat geeft zelfs Hannon toe. In een recent interview liet de muzikant uitschijnen dat hij niet van musicals houdt, maar dat hij ze wel graag schrijft.

Hoe je Foreverland ook omschrijft, het elfde album van The Divine Comedy is een auditief avontuur. Dat merk je meteen al bij de eerste track Napoleon Complex waarin klassieke orkestrale arrangementen met disco worden gemengd. Kitsch? Absoluut! Wel steengoede kitsch! De titeltrack Foreverland leunt zelfs aan bij de sprookjesachtige sfeer van Russische grootmeesters als Rimski-Korsakov en Tsjaikovski. De eerste single, een eerbetoon aan één van de machtigste vrouwen ooit (Catherine The Great), is poppy en speels, terwijl Funny Peculiar eigenlijk zo in My Fair Lady kon.

Neil Hannon durft veel, zelfs Latijnse ritmes op A Desperate Man, en hoe ongewoon (zelfs gevaarlijk om plat op de bek te gaan) komt hij iedere keer met een meesterlijke song op de proppen. Foreverland is een aparte, zelfs ronduit gewaagde plaat. Wel bloedstollend mooi en iedere seconde getuigt van groots professionalisme.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco