tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE FIRM INCORPORATED - Veritas

THE FIRM INCORPORATED

Veritas

MusicCD
Electro

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
09/12/2016, Britta Tabrit

EN

Founded in 2014, The Firm Inc. releases its debut album called Veritas. Ex-Funker Vogt singer Jens Kästel, Guido Henning and Jan Abraham (both members of E-Craft) brought all their experiences together to create a fresh and creative EMB project. Veritas seems to hold up a mirror to our blurred realities to make us see the truth of our human existence. So let’s have a look at the points of criticism The Firm Inc. denounces.

Am Anfang (Intro) is the opener of this album. The instrumental track introduces us to the world of The Firm Inc. and whets our appetite for Veritas. BUTF (Brotherhood & Unity) makes obvious what this firm is all about: danceable electro beats and words, brief and to the point, and made in Germany. By the way, if you’re looking for music with English vocals, this album will deceive your hopes. The Firm Inc. only comes in German.

Geschichten ohne Wert is a song about a person we all know.: the one who tries to manipulate his surrounding world with useless stories, lies and slander; the one who makes you feel either small or become rebellious, depending on what kind of person you are. Apparently there’s something like a development of the Firm-style. Schluss mit Lustig is quite a heroic track. Take life as it is or do you have a choice? Be strong, don’t waste your time on words. For me this song is a bit too much ham up. It reminds me pretty much of old Funker Vogt. But I guess Jens Kästel is used to more than my sane critic, so sorry guys, this one overstates its case a little.

In return, the instrumental song Reflektion offsets my nagging. I didn’t expect a track like this on this album. Honestly, I’m pleasantly surprised. A welcome change, a hidden diamond and the calm anchor of Veritas! But The Firm Inc. doesn’t give you time to breathe. Projektil is a live bullet fired in your direction. Martial beats and a military commanding tone are definitely not for the squeamish. And neither is Leben (Speed). What is life about? Being hurt, being cheated, being alone. Take it or leave it. This track pushes you right into the arms of Ausgebrannt, which is also the first single. Instrumentally, it’s the best track so far. Its clear structure gives you easy access and that’s a guarantee for success. At least in the clubs.

BoXxXer levels off again. I guess it’s because I personally struggle with this kind of music. I’m missing profundity here. Schuld is more to my liking. A fluent beat and the dance floor is back to my mind, even though I get this Funker Vogt feeling every now and then. But I guess this is simply due to Kästel’s voice and the way in which the music is packaged. Feuer is my favorite song! It’s this “own style thing” again that shines through. EBM meets Jens Kästel, one could say. I hope for more of this soon! You shouldn’t miss this one! The last track is called Frei and it is a wonderful ending for a successful debut album. Soft and slow the three guys set you free again. You are in a world where you're glad you got hit with their musical truth (Veritas).

Well, at the end of the day I’m sure this album will bring up a great variety of opinions and divide the minds. For me it was a mix of elements that I already knew, with a few nice surprises. But one thing is certain: The Firm Inc. has everything to make it into the electro scene.

Britta Tabrit
09/12/2016


NL

The Firm Inc. is in 2014 opgericht, het debuut heet Veritas. De band bestaat uit zanger Jens Kästel (ex- Funker Vogt), Guido Henning en Jan Abraham (beiden lid van E-Craft). De drie verzamelden al hun ervaringen voor een creatief EMB-project. Veritas lijkt wel een spiegel van onze wazige werkelijkheid, de waarheid van ons menselijke gelaat. Laten we een kijkje nemen wat The Firm Inc. zo al hekelt.

Am Anfang (Intro) is de opener van dit album. Het instrumentale nummer laat ons kennismaken met de wereld van The Firm Inc. BUTF (Brotherhood & Unity) maakt duidelijk waar de band voor staat: dansbare elektro met beats en woorden, kort en rechttoe rechtaan. En dit allemaal gemaakt in Duitsland. Trouwens, als je Engels wil horen, vergeet het! The Firm Inc. doet alles in het Duits.

Geschichten ohne Wert is een lied over iemand die we allemaal wel kennen: degene die probeert om zijn omgeving te manipuleren met nutteloze verhalen, leugens en laster; degene die je je klein laat voelen of die je net opstandig maakt, afhankelijk van wat voor soort persoon je bent. Blijkbaar bestaat er zoiets als een Firm-stijl. Schluss mit Lustig is eerder heroïsch. Neem het leven zoals het is of heb je een andere keuze? Wees sterk, verspil je woorden niet. Voor mij is deze song een beetje te veel van het goede. Hij doet aan de oude Funker Vogt-dagen denken. Maar goed, ik ben er zeker van dat Jens Kästel tegen een stootje kan, dus sorry jongens, jullie overdrijven hier een beetje.

De instrumentale track Reflektion compenseert mijn gezeur. Ik had zo’n lied als dit niet verwacht op dit album. Eerlijk gezegd ben ik er aangenaam door verrast. Een welkome verandering, een verborgen diamant en de rust van Veritas! Maar The Firm Inc. geeft je niet veel tijd om op adem te komen. Projektil is een kogel die in je richting wordt afgevuurd. De martial beats en de militaire toon zijn zeker niet voor doetjes. Dat is Leben (Speed) ook al niet. Waar gaat het leven over? Gekwetst en bedrogen worden, alleen zijn. Het is te nemen of te laten. Deze track duwt je recht in de armen van Ausgebrannt, de eerste single van dit project. Het is het beste lied tot nu toe. De duidelijke structuur is een garantie voor succes, althans in de clubs.

Met BoXxXer daalt het niveau een beetje. Nu goed, ik denk dat het gewoon is omdat ik persoonlijk moeite heb met dit soort muziek. Ik mis wat diepgang. Schuld is dan weer meer mijn smaak. Een vlotte beat en weer zit de dansvloer in mijn gedachten, hoewel ik nu en dan ook wel een Funker Vogt-gevoel krijg. Maar ik denk dat dit gewoon te wijten is aan Kästels stem en de manier waarop hij zijn muziek verpakt. Feuer is mijn favoriete liedje! Het is deze 'eigen stijl ' die nogmaals doorschijnt. Zeg maar, de kruising tussen EBM en Jens Kästel. Ik hoop binnenkort meer van dit soort dingen te horen! Dit mag je echt niet missen! De laatste track Frei is een prachtige afsluiter van een geslaagd debuutalbum. Zacht en langzaam laten de drie jongens je weer vrij. Je bent in een wereld waarin je blij bent dat je met hun muzikale waarheid wordt geraakt (Veritas).

De meningen zullen wel verdeeld zijn over dit album. Voor mij was het een mix van elementen die ik al ken, met een paar leuke verrassingen. Maar één ding is zeker: The Firm Inc. heeft alles om het te maken in de elektroscène.

Britta Tabrit
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland