tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE FIRM INCORPORATED - Veritas

THE FIRM INCORPORATED

Veritas

MusicCD
Electro

[80/100]   

Infacted Recordings
09/12/2016, Britta Tabrit

EN

Founded in 2014, The Firm Inc. releases its debut album called Veritas. Ex-Funker Vogt singer Jens Kästel, Guido Henning and Jan Abraham (both members of E-Craft) brought all their experiences together to create a fresh and creative EMB project. Veritas seems to hold up a mirror to our blurred realities to make us see the truth of our human existence. So let’s have a look at the points of criticism The Firm Inc. denounces.

Am Anfang (Intro) is the opener of this album. The instrumental track introduces us to the world of The Firm Inc. and whets our appetite for Veritas. BUTF (Brotherhood & Unity) makes obvious what this firm is all about: danceable electro beats and words, brief and to the point, and made in Germany. By the way, if you’re looking for music with English vocals, this album will deceive your hopes. The Firm Inc. only comes in German.

Geschichten ohne Wert is a song about a person we all know.: the one who tries to manipulate his surrounding world with useless stories, lies and slander; the one who makes you feel either small or become rebellious, depending on what kind of person you are. Apparently there’s something like a development of the Firm-style. Schluss mit Lustig is quite a heroic track. Take life as it is or do you have a choice? Be strong, don’t waste your time on words. For me this song is a bit too much ham up. It reminds me pretty much of old Funker Vogt. But I guess Jens Kästel is used to more than my sane critic, so sorry guys, this one overstates its case a little.

In return, the instrumental song Reflektion offsets my nagging. I didn’t expect a track like this on this album. Honestly, I’m pleasantly surprised. A welcome change, a hidden diamond and the calm anchor of Veritas! But The Firm Inc. doesn’t give you time to breathe. Projektil is a live bullet fired in your direction. Martial beats and a military commanding tone are definitely not for the squeamish. And neither is Leben (Speed). What is life about? Being hurt, being cheated, being alone. Take it or leave it. This track pushes you right into the arms of Ausgebrannt, which is also the first single. Instrumentally, it’s the best track so far. Its clear structure gives you easy access and that’s a guarantee for success. At least in the clubs.

BoXxXer levels off again. I guess it’s because I personally struggle with this kind of music. I’m missing profundity here. Schuld is more to my liking. A fluent beat and the dance floor is back to my mind, even though I get this Funker Vogt feeling every now and then. But I guess this is simply due to Kästel’s voice and the way in which the music is packaged. Feuer is my favorite song! It’s this “own style thing” again that shines through. EBM meets Jens Kästel, one could say. I hope for more of this soon! You shouldn’t miss this one! The last track is called Frei and it is a wonderful ending for a successful debut album. Soft and slow the three guys set you free again. You are in a world where you're glad you got hit with their musical truth (Veritas).

Well, at the end of the day I’m sure this album will bring up a great variety of opinions and divide the minds. For me it was a mix of elements that I already knew, with a few nice surprises. But one thing is certain: The Firm Inc. has everything to make it into the electro scene.

Britta Tabrit
09/12/2016


NL

The Firm Inc. is in 2014 opgericht, het debuut heet Veritas. De band bestaat uit zanger Jens Kästel (ex- Funker Vogt), Guido Henning en Jan Abraham (beiden lid van E-Craft). De drie verzamelden al hun ervaringen voor een creatief EMB-project. Veritas lijkt wel een spiegel van onze wazige werkelijkheid, de waarheid van ons menselijke gelaat. Laten we een kijkje nemen wat The Firm Inc. zo al hekelt.

Am Anfang (Intro) is de opener van dit album. Het instrumentale nummer laat ons kennismaken met de wereld van The Firm Inc. BUTF (Brotherhood & Unity) maakt duidelijk waar de band voor staat: dansbare elektro met beats en woorden, kort en rechttoe rechtaan. En dit allemaal gemaakt in Duitsland. Trouwens, als je Engels wil horen, vergeet het! The Firm Inc. doet alles in het Duits.

Geschichten ohne Wert is een lied over iemand die we allemaal wel kennen: degene die probeert om zijn omgeving te manipuleren met nutteloze verhalen, leugens en laster; degene die je je klein laat voelen of die je net opstandig maakt, afhankelijk van wat voor soort persoon je bent. Blijkbaar bestaat er zoiets als een Firm-stijl. Schluss mit Lustig is eerder heroïsch. Neem het leven zoals het is of heb je een andere keuze? Wees sterk, verspil je woorden niet. Voor mij is deze song een beetje te veel van het goede. Hij doet aan de oude Funker Vogt-dagen denken. Maar goed, ik ben er zeker van dat Jens Kästel tegen een stootje kan, dus sorry jongens, jullie overdrijven hier een beetje.

De instrumentale track Reflektion compenseert mijn gezeur. Ik had zo’n lied als dit niet verwacht op dit album. Eerlijk gezegd ben ik er aangenaam door verrast. Een welkome verandering, een verborgen diamant en de rust van Veritas! Maar The Firm Inc. geeft je niet veel tijd om op adem te komen. Projektil is een kogel die in je richting wordt afgevuurd. De martial beats en de militaire toon zijn zeker niet voor doetjes. Dat is Leben (Speed) ook al niet. Waar gaat het leven over? Gekwetst en bedrogen worden, alleen zijn. Het is te nemen of te laten. Deze track duwt je recht in de armen van Ausgebrannt, de eerste single van dit project. Het is het beste lied tot nu toe. De duidelijke structuur is een garantie voor succes, althans in de clubs.

Met BoXxXer daalt het niveau een beetje. Nu goed, ik denk dat het gewoon is omdat ik persoonlijk moeite heb met dit soort muziek. Ik mis wat diepgang. Schuld is dan weer meer mijn smaak. Een vlotte beat en weer zit de dansvloer in mijn gedachten, hoewel ik nu en dan ook wel een Funker Vogt-gevoel krijg. Maar ik denk dat dit gewoon te wijten is aan Kästels stem en de manier waarop hij zijn muziek verpakt. Feuer is mijn favoriete liedje! Het is deze 'eigen stijl ' die nogmaals doorschijnt. Zeg maar, de kruising tussen EBM en Jens Kästel. Ik hoop binnenkort meer van dit soort dingen te horen! Dit mag je echt niet missen! De laatste track Frei is een prachtige afsluiter van een geslaagd debuutalbum. Zacht en langzaam laten de drie jongens je weer vrij. Je bent in een wereld waarin je blij bent dat je met hun muzikale waarheid wordt geraakt (Veritas).

De meningen zullen wel verdeeld zijn over dit album. Voor mij was het een mix van elementen die ik al ken, met een paar leuke verrassingen. Maar één ding is zeker: The Firm Inc. heeft alles om het te maken in de elektroscène.

Britta Tabrit
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots