tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/06/2015 : THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF - Ruins

THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF

Ruins

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost RockTrip Hop

[90/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
30/06/2015, Benny CALUWE

In a mailbox that is full of review requests, it is hard for an original band to catch the attention. When I read that this band named Portishead as a reference, my interest was aroused. By the way, to cry wolf means to create a false alarm.

The Girl Who Cried Wolf is an Antwerp based band. After having released the EP Ohm and the single Norway in 2014, TGWCW recently released their debut album Ruins. The opening track Truly starts like a track by The XX with a duet. Subsequently it evolves to something reminiscent of Portishead. Not only musically, also the voice reminds me of Beth Gibbons. Finally it ends with a guitar eruption. Portishead might be an inspiration, but TGWCW are much more than just a Portishead clone. Songs like Silver and Taken also build up to a climax and end with a post rock outburst.

Ruins is a strong, atmospheric debut. It’s versatile but coherent. Occasionally it sounds melancholic, sometimes dark. Sometimes it’s rather simple, but often dynamic with rich instrumentations and an important role for the cello. Heleen De Stuyver impresses with her bittersweet voice.

Taken is a noteworthy spooky track. Also the title track could serve as a film soundtrack with its sinister mesmerizing repetitive cellos. This fantastic debut ends with Shipwrecked, which is truly a gem. In the dreamful chorus Heleen sings “drift away” and that’s exactly what I do while listening this beautiful song.

Benny CALUWE
30/06/2015


 

Next reviews
ADAM ROBITEL • The Taking Of Deborah Logan
BLANCK MASS • Dumb Flesh
BENNETT MILLER • Foxcatcher
FLINT GLASS & COLLAPSAR • Deus Irea
STEVE ANGELLO FEAT MAKO • Children Of The Wild
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
PIERRE MOREL • The Gunman
PRONOISE • Ten albums that changed my life!
RUPERT WYATT • The Gambler
MUSE • Reapers

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes
CRAIG ARMSTRONG • It's Nearly Tomorrow

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
On this day, only one years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60.
22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
23
01
MIREXXX
Death Angel
23
01
YAZOO
Situation
22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born