tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/06/2015 : THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF - Ruins

THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF

Ruins

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePost RockTrip Hop

[90/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
30/06/2015, Benny CALUWE

In a mailbox that is full of review requests, it is hard for an original band to catch the attention. When I read that this band named Portishead as a reference, my interest was aroused. By the way, to cry wolf means to create a false alarm.

The Girl Who Cried Wolf is an Antwerp based band. After having released the EP Ohm and the single Norway in 2014, TGWCW recently released their debut album Ruins. The opening track Truly starts like a track by The XX with a duet. Subsequently it evolves to something reminiscent of Portishead. Not only musically, also the voice reminds me of Beth Gibbons. Finally it ends with a guitar eruption. Portishead might be an inspiration, but TGWCW are much more than just a Portishead clone. Songs like Silver and Taken also build up to a climax and end with a post rock outburst.

Ruins is a strong, atmospheric debut. It’s versatile but coherent. Occasionally it sounds melancholic, sometimes dark. Sometimes it’s rather simple, but often dynamic with rich instrumentations and an important role for the cello. Heleen De Stuyver impresses with her bittersweet voice.

Taken is a noteworthy spooky track. Also the title track could serve as a film soundtrack with its sinister mesmerizing repetitive cellos. This fantastic debut ends with Shipwrecked, which is truly a gem. In the dreamful chorus Heleen sings “drift away” and that’s exactly what I do while listening this beautiful song.

Benny CALUWE
30/06/2015


 

Next reviews
ADAM ROBITEL • The Taking Of Deborah Logan
BLANCK MASS • Dumb Flesh
BENNETT MILLER • Foxcatcher
FLINT GLASS & COLLAPSAR • Deus Irea
STEVE ANGELLO FEAT MAKO • Children Of The Wild
SUICIDE COMMANDO • The Pain That You Like
PIERRE MOREL • The Gunman
PRONOISE • Ten albums that changed my life!
RUPERT WYATT • The Gambler
MUSE • Reapers

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
1LUM3 • Antinomia
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl