tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : THE GLEANERS - Amateur Best

THE GLEANERS

Amateur Best

MusicCD


[60/100]   

Amateur Best
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everyone will agree with me, but in some way happy people better make no music. Cruelty and sadness break your body and it is hard to handle them, but the art that is created is often sheer beauty.

From the first notes you hear that Joe Flory is a very happy man, and he spreads his joyful feelings on the ten songs of this disc. It's all well done, and probably he has thought a hundred times about the adding of each instrument or note, but in the end you only get craftsmanship that sends you asleep. The second album of The Gleaners (the alter ego of Flory) is rather something for people who like to hear some music while ironing and are fed up by their overplayed CD of Florence & The Machine.

Joe Flory claims that he was influenced by composers such as Michael Nyman or Ryuchi Sakomoto, b ut although you never find any technical error, that’s the only thing he has in common with them. The pop music of the man who played drums for Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett, always sounds sunny, but it is always mediocre.

It sounds nice, it works on your hips (to be interpreted in your own way) and every song contains something original, the ten numbers are nothing more than soulless decoration. The only bright spot is the single Marzipan that even will make the biggest sourpuss smile: even people who think that happy people better stop making music!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Niet iedereen zal het eens zijn met mijn stelling, maar eigenlijk zouden gelukkige mensen maar beter geen muziek maken. Wreedheid en triestheid maken je lijf kapot en het valt nauwelijks te verwerken, maar de kunst die erdoor wordt gecreëerd is vaak pure schoonheid.

Vanaf de eerste noten hoor je dat Joe Flory een zeer gelukkig iemand is, en dat gevoel legt hij in de tien composities op dit schijfje. Het zit allemaal goed ineen, en waarschijnlijk heeft men over ieder toegevoegd instrument of noot wel honderd keer nagedacht, alleen blijft het niet meer dan slaapwekkend vakmanschap. De tweede plaat van The Gleaners (het alter ego van Flory) is dan ook eerder iets voor mensen die tijdens het strijken wat muziek willen horen en hun grijsgedraaide cd van Oscar & The Wolf kotsbeu zijn.

Joe Flory beweert wel dat hij is beïnvloed door componisten als Michael Nyman of Ryuchi Sakomoto, maar ofschoon je de man geen enkel technisch mankementje in de schoenen kan schuiven, blijft dat het enige raakpunt. De popmuziek van de man die drums speelde voor Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett klinkt altijd zonnig, maar het blijft altijd op de grens van de grijze middelmaat hangen.

Het klinkt mooi, het werkt op de heupen (te interpreteren naar je eigen zin) en ieder nummer bevat wel iets origineels, alleen zijn de tien tracks niet meer dan zielloze decoratie. Het enige lichtpuntje is de single Marzipan die zelfs de grootste zuurpruim zal doen glimlachen: zelfs mensen die vinden dat gelukkige mensen geen muziek mogen maken!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
MILDREDA
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille