tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : THE GLEANERS - Amateur Best

THE GLEANERS

Amateur Best

MusicCD


[60/100]   

Amateur Best
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everyone will agree with me, but in some way happy people better make no music. Cruelty and sadness break your body and it is hard to handle them, but the art that is created is often sheer beauty.

From the first notes you hear that Joe Flory is a very happy man, and he spreads his joyful feelings on the ten songs of this disc. It's all well done, and probably he has thought a hundred times about the adding of each instrument or note, but in the end you only get craftsmanship that sends you asleep. The second album of The Gleaners (the alter ego of Flory) is rather something for people who like to hear some music while ironing and are fed up by their overplayed CD of Florence & The Machine.

Joe Flory claims that he was influenced by composers such as Michael Nyman or Ryuchi Sakomoto, b ut although you never find any technical error, that’s the only thing he has in common with them. The pop music of the man who played drums for Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett, always sounds sunny, but it is always mediocre.

It sounds nice, it works on your hips (to be interpreted in your own way) and every song contains something original, the ten numbers are nothing more than soulless decoration. The only bright spot is the single Marzipan that even will make the biggest sourpuss smile: even people who think that happy people better stop making music!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Niet iedereen zal het eens zijn met mijn stelling, maar eigenlijk zouden gelukkige mensen maar beter geen muziek maken. Wreedheid en triestheid maken je lijf kapot en het valt nauwelijks te verwerken, maar de kunst die erdoor wordt gecreëerd is vaak pure schoonheid.

Vanaf de eerste noten hoor je dat Joe Flory een zeer gelukkig iemand is, en dat gevoel legt hij in de tien composities op dit schijfje. Het zit allemaal goed ineen, en waarschijnlijk heeft men over ieder toegevoegd instrument of noot wel honderd keer nagedacht, alleen blijft het niet meer dan slaapwekkend vakmanschap. De tweede plaat van The Gleaners (het alter ego van Flory) is dan ook eerder iets voor mensen die tijdens het strijken wat muziek willen horen en hun grijsgedraaide cd van Oscar & The Wolf kotsbeu zijn.

Joe Flory beweert wel dat hij is beïnvloed door componisten als Michael Nyman of Ryuchi Sakomoto, maar ofschoon je de man geen enkel technisch mankementje in de schoenen kan schuiven, blijft dat het enige raakpunt. De popmuziek van de man die drums speelde voor Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett klinkt altijd zonnig, maar het blijft altijd op de grens van de grijze middelmaat hangen.

Het klinkt mooi, het werkt op de heupen (te interpreteren naar je eigen zin) en ieder nummer bevat wel iets origineels, alleen zijn de tien tracks niet meer dan zielloze decoratie. Het enige lichtpuntje is de single Marzipan die zelfs de grootste zuurpruim zal doen glimlachen: zelfs mensen die vinden dat gelukkige mensen geen muziek mogen maken!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life