tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : THE GLEANERS - Amateur Best

THE GLEANERS

Amateur Best

MusicCD


[60/100]   

Amateur Best
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everyone will agree with me, but in some way happy people better make no music. Cruelty and sadness break your body and it is hard to handle them, but the art that is created is often sheer beauty.

From the first notes you hear that Joe Flory is a very happy man, and he spreads his joyful feelings on the ten songs of this disc. It's all well done, and probably he has thought a hundred times about the adding of each instrument or note, but in the end you only get craftsmanship that sends you asleep. The second album of The Gleaners (the alter ego of Flory) is rather something for people who like to hear some music while ironing and are fed up by their overplayed CD of Florence & The Machine.

Joe Flory claims that he was influenced by composers such as Michael Nyman or Ryuchi Sakomoto, b ut although you never find any technical error, that’s the only thing he has in common with them. The pop music of the man who played drums for Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett, always sounds sunny, but it is always mediocre.

It sounds nice, it works on your hips (to be interpreted in your own way) and every song contains something original, the ten numbers are nothing more than soulless decoration. The only bright spot is the single Marzipan that even will make the biggest sourpuss smile: even people who think that happy people better stop making music!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Niet iedereen zal het eens zijn met mijn stelling, maar eigenlijk zouden gelukkige mensen maar beter geen muziek maken. Wreedheid en triestheid maken je lijf kapot en het valt nauwelijks te verwerken, maar de kunst die erdoor wordt gecreëerd is vaak pure schoonheid.

Vanaf de eerste noten hoor je dat Joe Flory een zeer gelukkig iemand is, en dat gevoel legt hij in de tien composities op dit schijfje. Het zit allemaal goed ineen, en waarschijnlijk heeft men over ieder toegevoegd instrument of noot wel honderd keer nagedacht, alleen blijft het niet meer dan slaapwekkend vakmanschap. De tweede plaat van The Gleaners (het alter ego van Flory) is dan ook eerder iets voor mensen die tijdens het strijken wat muziek willen horen en hun grijsgedraaide cd van Oscar & The Wolf kotsbeu zijn.

Joe Flory beweert wel dat hij is beïnvloed door componisten als Michael Nyman of Ryuchi Sakomoto, maar ofschoon je de man geen enkel technisch mankementje in de schoenen kan schuiven, blijft dat het enige raakpunt. De popmuziek van de man die drums speelde voor Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett klinkt altijd zonnig, maar het blijft altijd op de grens van de grijze middelmaat hangen.

Het klinkt mooi, het werkt op de heupen (te interpreteren naar je eigen zin) en ieder nummer bevat wel iets origineels, alleen zijn de tien tracks niet meer dan zielloze decoratie. Het enige lichtpuntje is de single Marzipan die zelfs de grootste zuurpruim zal doen glimlachen: zelfs mensen die vinden dat gelukkige mensen geen muziek mogen maken!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia