tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/11/2015 : THE GLEANERS - Amateur Best

THE GLEANERS

Amateur Best

MusicCD


[60/100]   

Amateur Best
08/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Not everyone will agree with me, but in some way happy people better make no music. Cruelty and sadness break your body and it is hard to handle them, but the art that is created is often sheer beauty.

From the first notes you hear that Joe Flory is a very happy man, and he spreads his joyful feelings on the ten songs of this disc. It's all well done, and probably he has thought a hundred times about the adding of each instrument or note, but in the end you only get craftsmanship that sends you asleep. The second album of The Gleaners (the alter ego of Flory) is rather something for people who like to hear some music while ironing and are fed up by their overplayed CD of Florence & The Machine.

Joe Flory claims that he was influenced by composers such as Michael Nyman or Ryuchi Sakomoto, b ut although you never find any technical error, that’s the only thing he has in common with them. The pop music of the man who played drums for Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett, always sounds sunny, but it is always mediocre.

It sounds nice, it works on your hips (to be interpreted in your own way) and every song contains something original, the ten numbers are nothing more than soulless decoration. The only bright spot is the single Marzipan that even will make the biggest sourpuss smile: even people who think that happy people better stop making music!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


NL

Niet iedereen zal het eens zijn met mijn stelling, maar eigenlijk zouden gelukkige mensen maar beter geen muziek maken. Wreedheid en triestheid maken je lijf kapot en het valt nauwelijks te verwerken, maar de kunst die erdoor wordt gecreëerd is vaak pure schoonheid.

Vanaf de eerste noten hoor je dat Joe Flory een zeer gelukkig iemand is, en dat gevoel legt hij in de tien composities op dit schijfje. Het zit allemaal goed ineen, en waarschijnlijk heeft men over ieder toegevoegd instrument of noot wel honderd keer nagedacht, alleen blijft het niet meer dan slaapwekkend vakmanschap. De tweede plaat van The Gleaners (het alter ego van Flory) is dan ook eerder iets voor mensen die tijdens het strijken wat muziek willen horen en hun grijsgedraaide cd van Oscar & The Wolf kotsbeu zijn.

Joe Flory beweert wel dat hij is beïnvloed door componisten als Michael Nyman of Ryuchi Sakomoto, maar ofschoon je de man geen enkel technisch mankementje in de schoenen kan schuiven, blijft dat het enige raakpunt. De popmuziek van de man die drums speelde voor Chilly Gonzales & The Kaiser Quartett klinkt altijd zonnig, maar het blijft altijd op de grens van de grijze middelmaat hangen.

Het klinkt mooi, het werkt op de heupen (te interpreteren naar je eigen zin) en ieder nummer bevat wel iets origineels, alleen zijn de tien tracks niet meer dan zielloze decoratie. Het enige lichtpuntje is de single Marzipan die zelfs de grootste zuurpruim zal doen glimlachen: zelfs mensen die vinden dat gelukkige mensen geen muziek mogen maken!

Didier BECU
08/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap