tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : THE GRAND GESTURES - Happy Holidays

THE GRAND GESTURES

Happy Holidays

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Chute Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

During track 5, Graham Anderson's embittered but astute, reverential and referential 'til It Got Christmas, you should be now realise that this is a festive collection with a difference. As Anderson opines, "everythings turned to shit" and "merry fucking Christmas". Indeed.

 

The fourth and final Grand Gestures album was, according to its chief creator Jan Burnett, always going to be Happy Holidays and so it is. Bleak, dark, biographical, poetic, Scottish and utterly compelling, there's the usual mixture of atmospheric electronica provided by Burnett to various literary and musical chums who have in their own way already provided poignant moments in their own careers.

 

Sanjeev Kohli's archly observed I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus is the album's eight-minute centrepiece, enough of a dialogue to convince kids not to believe in the red-suited bearded icon with his big sack and almost as unsettling as Anderson's preceding homage to festive misery. Northern Irish poet Ross Thompson paints a forlorn but perversely beautiful picture of dank Dundee bedsits, the Firth, the stars and the winter chill while Hipsway's soulful singer Grahame Skinner offers up his own view of Christmas, wishing the rain would wash away the snow.

 

Perhaps the bookending tracks are as good a starting point for newcomers or the downright unconvinced. Idlewild's Andrew Mitchell serves up yet another moving piece for The Grand Gestures project. Responsible for the gorgeous In To The Darkness We Go on 2014's Third, Mitchell does it all again and more on the very very pretty The Death of a New Year while Trashcan Sinatras' John Douglas tells a tale of drunken car-walking, PC Nightshift Christmas Eve and a short spell in the clink.

 

Darkly humorous and the kind of album you have to work your way through in one sitting (with a glass of the hard stuff to hand), Happy Holidays is similar to Chris Morris' Blue Jam in so far as you get electronic backdrops and grin-raising narratives. Now that's what I call Christmas.

 

And for the record, I never saw mummy kissing Santa Claus either....

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Happy Holidays is een feestplaat, maar wel één van de andere soort. Als Graham Anderson tijdens het vijfde nummer op een verbitterde, scherpzinnige wijze de woorden Everything’s Turned To Shit en Merry Fucking Christmas zingt, weet je welk vlees je in de kuip hebt.

Eerder vertelde oprichter Jan Burnett dat de vierde cd van The Grand Gestures het ultiem meesterwerk zou worden, en dat is dan ook het woord voor Happy Holidays. De plaat is somber, donker, biografisch, poëtisch, op en top Schots en overtuigend. Alle nummers worden op de typische Burnett-wijze gebracht: atmosferische elektronica met veel aangrijpende momenten, en altijd voorzien van briljante teksten.

I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus duurt acht minuten, en geen enkel kind dat dit nummer hoort zal nadien nog in de man met zijn witte baard en rode pak geloven! Het nummer klinkt (net zoals zo meeste tracks op deze plaat) verontrustend. De Noord-Ierse dichter Ross Thompson schetst een wanhopig, pervers (maar mooi) beeld van de bedsits (een appartement -ed.) in Dundee, de firths (een Schotse baai -ed.), de sterren en het wintergevoel. Dit alles wordt mooi door Grahame Skinner vertolkt, en de Hipsway-zanger heeft zo zijn eigen kijk op Kerstmis, hij hoopt immers dat de regen zo snel mogelijk de sneeuw zal wegspoelen.

Misschien is de laatste track een goed uitgangspunt voor nieuwkomers of voor diegenen die nog niet helemaal overtuigd zijn, Andrew Mitchell van Idlewild heeft immers nog een knap werkstuk voor ons in petto. Hij deed dat ook al op de derde plaat van The Grand Gestures uit 2014 (In To The Darkness We Go), en nu doet hij het opnieuw op The Death Of A New Year. John Douglas van Trashcan Sinatras vertelt op zijn beurt in PC Nightshift Christmal Eve een dronkenmanverhaal, het gerinkel duurt maar voor eventjes.

Deze plaat staat bol van de zwarte humor en de luisteraar moet zich echt een weg door de teksten banen om het allemaal te snappen (ideaal is dan ook dat je in je hand een glas hebt met daarin iets sterks), daarom kun je Happy Holidays het best met Blue Jam van Chris Morris vergelijken. Verhaaltjes die een grijns op je gezicht toveren met op de achtergrond wat elektronica, dat is nu eens wat ik een fantastische kerst noem!

En als je het echt wil weten, ik heb mama de kerstman nog nooit zien kussen!

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis