tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : THE GRAND GESTURES - Happy Holidays

THE GRAND GESTURES

Happy Holidays

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Chute Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

During track 5, Graham Anderson's embittered but astute, reverential and referential 'til It Got Christmas, you should be now realise that this is a festive collection with a difference. As Anderson opines, "everythings turned to shit" and "merry fucking Christmas". Indeed.

 

The fourth and final Grand Gestures album was, according to its chief creator Jan Burnett, always going to be Happy Holidays and so it is. Bleak, dark, biographical, poetic, Scottish and utterly compelling, there's the usual mixture of atmospheric electronica provided by Burnett to various literary and musical chums who have in their own way already provided poignant moments in their own careers.

 

Sanjeev Kohli's archly observed I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus is the album's eight-minute centrepiece, enough of a dialogue to convince kids not to believe in the red-suited bearded icon with his big sack and almost as unsettling as Anderson's preceding homage to festive misery. Northern Irish poet Ross Thompson paints a forlorn but perversely beautiful picture of dank Dundee bedsits, the Firth, the stars and the winter chill while Hipsway's soulful singer Grahame Skinner offers up his own view of Christmas, wishing the rain would wash away the snow.

 

Perhaps the bookending tracks are as good a starting point for newcomers or the downright unconvinced. Idlewild's Andrew Mitchell serves up yet another moving piece for The Grand Gestures project. Responsible for the gorgeous In To The Darkness We Go on 2014's Third, Mitchell does it all again and more on the very very pretty The Death of a New Year while Trashcan Sinatras' John Douglas tells a tale of drunken car-walking, PC Nightshift Christmas Eve and a short spell in the clink.

 

Darkly humorous and the kind of album you have to work your way through in one sitting (with a glass of the hard stuff to hand), Happy Holidays is similar to Chris Morris' Blue Jam in so far as you get electronic backdrops and grin-raising narratives. Now that's what I call Christmas.

 

And for the record, I never saw mummy kissing Santa Claus either....

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Happy Holidays is een feestplaat, maar wel één van de andere soort. Als Graham Anderson tijdens het vijfde nummer op een verbitterde, scherpzinnige wijze de woorden Everything’s Turned To Shit en Merry Fucking Christmas zingt, weet je welk vlees je in de kuip hebt.

Eerder vertelde oprichter Jan Burnett dat de vierde cd van The Grand Gestures het ultiem meesterwerk zou worden, en dat is dan ook het woord voor Happy Holidays. De plaat is somber, donker, biografisch, poëtisch, op en top Schots en overtuigend. Alle nummers worden op de typische Burnett-wijze gebracht: atmosferische elektronica met veel aangrijpende momenten, en altijd voorzien van briljante teksten.

I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus duurt acht minuten, en geen enkel kind dat dit nummer hoort zal nadien nog in de man met zijn witte baard en rode pak geloven! Het nummer klinkt (net zoals zo meeste tracks op deze plaat) verontrustend. De Noord-Ierse dichter Ross Thompson schetst een wanhopig, pervers (maar mooi) beeld van de bedsits (een appartement -ed.) in Dundee, de firths (een Schotse baai -ed.), de sterren en het wintergevoel. Dit alles wordt mooi door Grahame Skinner vertolkt, en de Hipsway-zanger heeft zo zijn eigen kijk op Kerstmis, hij hoopt immers dat de regen zo snel mogelijk de sneeuw zal wegspoelen.

Misschien is de laatste track een goed uitgangspunt voor nieuwkomers of voor diegenen die nog niet helemaal overtuigd zijn, Andrew Mitchell van Idlewild heeft immers nog een knap werkstuk voor ons in petto. Hij deed dat ook al op de derde plaat van The Grand Gestures uit 2014 (In To The Darkness We Go), en nu doet hij het opnieuw op The Death Of A New Year. John Douglas van Trashcan Sinatras vertelt op zijn beurt in PC Nightshift Christmal Eve een dronkenmanverhaal, het gerinkel duurt maar voor eventjes.

Deze plaat staat bol van de zwarte humor en de luisteraar moet zich echt een weg door de teksten banen om het allemaal te snappen (ideaal is dan ook dat je in je hand een glas hebt met daarin iets sterks), daarom kun je Happy Holidays het best met Blue Jam van Chris Morris vergelijken. Verhaaltjes die een grijns op je gezicht toveren met op de achtergrond wat elektronica, dat is nu eens wat ik een fantastische kerst noem!

En als je het echt wil weten, ik heb mama de kerstman nog nooit zien kussen!

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)