tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : THE GRAND GESTURES - Happy Holidays

THE GRAND GESTURES

Happy Holidays

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Chute Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

During track 5, Graham Anderson's embittered but astute, reverential and referential 'til It Got Christmas, you should be now realise that this is a festive collection with a difference. As Anderson opines, "everythings turned to shit" and "merry fucking Christmas". Indeed.

 

The fourth and final Grand Gestures album was, according to its chief creator Jan Burnett, always going to be Happy Holidays and so it is. Bleak, dark, biographical, poetic, Scottish and utterly compelling, there's the usual mixture of atmospheric electronica provided by Burnett to various literary and musical chums who have in their own way already provided poignant moments in their own careers.

 

Sanjeev Kohli's archly observed I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus is the album's eight-minute centrepiece, enough of a dialogue to convince kids not to believe in the red-suited bearded icon with his big sack and almost as unsettling as Anderson's preceding homage to festive misery. Northern Irish poet Ross Thompson paints a forlorn but perversely beautiful picture of dank Dundee bedsits, the Firth, the stars and the winter chill while Hipsway's soulful singer Grahame Skinner offers up his own view of Christmas, wishing the rain would wash away the snow.

 

Perhaps the bookending tracks are as good a starting point for newcomers or the downright unconvinced. Idlewild's Andrew Mitchell serves up yet another moving piece for The Grand Gestures project. Responsible for the gorgeous In To The Darkness We Go on 2014's Third, Mitchell does it all again and more on the very very pretty The Death of a New Year while Trashcan Sinatras' John Douglas tells a tale of drunken car-walking, PC Nightshift Christmas Eve and a short spell in the clink.

 

Darkly humorous and the kind of album you have to work your way through in one sitting (with a glass of the hard stuff to hand), Happy Holidays is similar to Chris Morris' Blue Jam in so far as you get electronic backdrops and grin-raising narratives. Now that's what I call Christmas.

 

And for the record, I never saw mummy kissing Santa Claus either....

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Happy Holidays is een feestplaat, maar wel één van de andere soort. Als Graham Anderson tijdens het vijfde nummer op een verbitterde, scherpzinnige wijze de woorden Everything’s Turned To Shit en Merry Fucking Christmas zingt, weet je welk vlees je in de kuip hebt.

Eerder vertelde oprichter Jan Burnett dat de vierde cd van The Grand Gestures het ultiem meesterwerk zou worden, en dat is dan ook het woord voor Happy Holidays. De plaat is somber, donker, biografisch, poëtisch, op en top Schots en overtuigend. Alle nummers worden op de typische Burnett-wijze gebracht: atmosferische elektronica met veel aangrijpende momenten, en altijd voorzien van briljante teksten.

I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus duurt acht minuten, en geen enkel kind dat dit nummer hoort zal nadien nog in de man met zijn witte baard en rode pak geloven! Het nummer klinkt (net zoals zo meeste tracks op deze plaat) verontrustend. De Noord-Ierse dichter Ross Thompson schetst een wanhopig, pervers (maar mooi) beeld van de bedsits (een appartement -ed.) in Dundee, de firths (een Schotse baai -ed.), de sterren en het wintergevoel. Dit alles wordt mooi door Grahame Skinner vertolkt, en de Hipsway-zanger heeft zo zijn eigen kijk op Kerstmis, hij hoopt immers dat de regen zo snel mogelijk de sneeuw zal wegspoelen.

Misschien is de laatste track een goed uitgangspunt voor nieuwkomers of voor diegenen die nog niet helemaal overtuigd zijn, Andrew Mitchell van Idlewild heeft immers nog een knap werkstuk voor ons in petto. Hij deed dat ook al op de derde plaat van The Grand Gestures uit 2014 (In To The Darkness We Go), en nu doet hij het opnieuw op The Death Of A New Year. John Douglas van Trashcan Sinatras vertelt op zijn beurt in PC Nightshift Christmal Eve een dronkenmanverhaal, het gerinkel duurt maar voor eventjes.

Deze plaat staat bol van de zwarte humor en de luisteraar moet zich echt een weg door de teksten banen om het allemaal te snappen (ideaal is dan ook dat je in je hand een glas hebt met daarin iets sterks), daarom kun je Happy Holidays het best met Blue Jam van Chris Morris vergelijken. Verhaaltjes die een grijns op je gezicht toveren met op de achtergrond wat elektronica, dat is nu eens wat ik een fantastische kerst noem!

En als je het echt wil weten, ik heb mama de kerstman nog nooit zien kussen!

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer