tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : THE GRAND GESTURES - Happy Holidays

THE GRAND GESTURES

Happy Holidays

MusicCD
Indie

[80/100]   

Chute Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

During track 5, Graham Anderson's embittered but astute, reverential and referential 'til It Got Christmas, you should be now realise that this is a festive collection with a difference. As Anderson opines, "everythings turned to shit" and "merry fucking Christmas". Indeed.

 

The fourth and final Grand Gestures album was, according to its chief creator Jan Burnett, always going to be Happy Holidays and so it is. Bleak, dark, biographical, poetic, Scottish and utterly compelling, there's the usual mixture of atmospheric electronica provided by Burnett to various literary and musical chums who have in their own way already provided poignant moments in their own careers.

 

Sanjeev Kohli's archly observed I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus is the album's eight-minute centrepiece, enough of a dialogue to convince kids not to believe in the red-suited bearded icon with his big sack and almost as unsettling as Anderson's preceding homage to festive misery. Northern Irish poet Ross Thompson paints a forlorn but perversely beautiful picture of dank Dundee bedsits, the Firth, the stars and the winter chill while Hipsway's soulful singer Grahame Skinner offers up his own view of Christmas, wishing the rain would wash away the snow.

 

Perhaps the bookending tracks are as good a starting point for newcomers or the downright unconvinced. Idlewild's Andrew Mitchell serves up yet another moving piece for The Grand Gestures project. Responsible for the gorgeous In To The Darkness We Go on 2014's Third, Mitchell does it all again and more on the very very pretty The Death of a New Year while Trashcan Sinatras' John Douglas tells a tale of drunken car-walking, PC Nightshift Christmas Eve and a short spell in the clink.

 

Darkly humorous and the kind of album you have to work your way through in one sitting (with a glass of the hard stuff to hand), Happy Holidays is similar to Chris Morris' Blue Jam in so far as you get electronic backdrops and grin-raising narratives. Now that's what I call Christmas.

 

And for the record, I never saw mummy kissing Santa Claus either....

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Happy Holidays is een feestplaat, maar wel één van de andere soort. Als Graham Anderson tijdens het vijfde nummer op een verbitterde, scherpzinnige wijze de woorden Everything’s Turned To Shit en Merry Fucking Christmas zingt, weet je welk vlees je in de kuip hebt.

Eerder vertelde oprichter Jan Burnett dat de vierde cd van The Grand Gestures het ultiem meesterwerk zou worden, en dat is dan ook het woord voor Happy Holidays. De plaat is somber, donker, biografisch, poëtisch, op en top Schots en overtuigend. Alle nummers worden op de typische Burnett-wijze gebracht: atmosferische elektronica met veel aangrijpende momenten, en altijd voorzien van briljante teksten.

I Never Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus duurt acht minuten, en geen enkel kind dat dit nummer hoort zal nadien nog in de man met zijn witte baard en rode pak geloven! Het nummer klinkt (net zoals zo meeste tracks op deze plaat) verontrustend. De Noord-Ierse dichter Ross Thompson schetst een wanhopig, pervers (maar mooi) beeld van de bedsits (een appartement -ed.) in Dundee, de firths (een Schotse baai -ed.), de sterren en het wintergevoel. Dit alles wordt mooi door Grahame Skinner vertolkt, en de Hipsway-zanger heeft zo zijn eigen kijk op Kerstmis, hij hoopt immers dat de regen zo snel mogelijk de sneeuw zal wegspoelen.

Misschien is de laatste track een goed uitgangspunt voor nieuwkomers of voor diegenen die nog niet helemaal overtuigd zijn, Andrew Mitchell van Idlewild heeft immers nog een knap werkstuk voor ons in petto. Hij deed dat ook al op de derde plaat van The Grand Gestures uit 2014 (In To The Darkness We Go), en nu doet hij het opnieuw op The Death Of A New Year. John Douglas van Trashcan Sinatras vertelt op zijn beurt in PC Nightshift Christmal Eve een dronkenmanverhaal, het gerinkel duurt maar voor eventjes.

Deze plaat staat bol van de zwarte humor en de luisteraar moet zich echt een weg door de teksten banen om het allemaal te snappen (ideaal is dan ook dat je in je hand een glas hebt met daarin iets sterks), daarom kun je Happy Holidays het best met Blue Jam van Chris Morris vergelijken. Verhaaltjes die een grijns op je gezicht toveren met op de achtergrond wat elektronica, dat is nu eens wat ik een fantastische kerst noem!

En als je het echt wil weten, ik heb mama de kerstman nog nooit zien kussen!

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis