tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/04/2015 : THE GROTESQUERY - The Curse of the Skinless Bride

THE GROTESQUERY

The Curse of the Skinless Bride

MusicCD
Death Metal

[70/100]   

Cyclone Empire
29/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The death metal band ‘The Grotesquery’ started a trilogy. This release is the last part. The story lines are important and well developed on the album. Lyrics and story lines are based on H.P Lovecraft and A.E. Poe. A little like King Diamond does on his albums. The emphasis is on atmosphere: sound effects, voices… it fits all well in the story line of the album.

During the intro we hear a rainstorm followed by the first song ‘Reprisal-resurrection of the Coffin Born”, that starts witty, but mediocre in terms of guitar and drum work. Unfortunately this is the case for most of the songs. Exceptions are: ‘"eturn to the House of Grotesque", that scores on all levels much better than the starter song, and "Downfall-It’s all Gone to Hell", that tends to doom metal and is slower and cumbersome, but has a nice fat sound. The rest of the songs are mediocre and serve as support for the story.

Don’ t let the playlist mislead you. It contains 14 songs, but almost half are short pieces of atmosphere with an explaning ‘storyteller’. When you don’ t follow the story, that can be irritating.

For lovers of Aborted, Gorefest, Obituary…

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/04/2015


NL

De death metal band The Grotesquery begon enkele albums terug aan een trilogie. Dit Is het laatste deel ervan. Het verhalende element in de nummers en de albums is belangrijk en goed uitgewerkt. Teksten en verhaallijnen zijn gebaseerd op werk van H.P. Lovecraft en E.A. Poe. Een beetje zoals King Diamond pleegt te doen op elk album. Er wordt erg op sfeer gewerkt: geluidseffecten, stemmen… het past allemaal in het thema en de verhaallijn van het album.

Het album begint, na een intro dat een regenbui moet voorstellen, tamelijk snedig met “intro/unholy reprisal-resurrection of the Coffin Born”. Voorts is het wel een matige song qua gitaar- en drumspel. Helaas zijn nog een aantal andere songs ook matig. Uitzonderingen zijn: “Return to the House of Grotesque”, dat op alle vlakken stukken beter is dan de openingssong, en “Downfall - It’s all Gone to Hell”, dat neigt naar doom metal en dat trager en logger is dan de meeste nummers, maar wel met een vette sound. De rest is middelmatig (snelheid, compositie…) en dient vooral als ondersteuning van het verhaal.

Laat je niet misleiden door de playlist. Er staan 14 songs op, maar zowat de helft zijn korte sfeerstukjes waarin een vertelstem een deel van de verhaallijn uit de doeken doet. Als je echter het verhaal niet volgt, dan ga je je vlug ergeren aan die tussenstukjes.

Voor liefhebbers van Aborted, Gorefest, Obituary…

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/04/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu