tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

04/12/2015 : THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS - split out 10 inch

THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS

split out 10 inch

MusicVinyl
Noisepsychotic rock

[85/100]   

Funtime Records
04/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Besides the single Hole in the Ground ,The Guru Guru releases a split single with Brutus this month. They cover a song by Brutus: Julia. And yes, Brutus performs a song by The Guru Guru: Dance With Me. And apart from that, they both do Troy by Sinéad 'O Connor. Talking about something bold!

Julia is an adaptation of Bye Julia by Brutus. They completely rebuild the basic blocks of the original, and the result is quite clever. A balanced song with even a better structure than the original.

Reworking the classic Troy... Well, you must have the guts to do so, because I’m sure that this is one of the hardest 'O Connor songs to cover. The beginning is quite strong. Just listen to the vocal response of Stefanie to the subdued voice of Tom, this is a magical moment! An excellent cover.

As said before, Dance With Me is a song by The Guru Guru. Actually it is a remake from two of their songs: SLP and Syq Kumshod. They appeared on their previous live EP.

But how does Brutus handle it? Well, it's a short song with a rather melodic guitar, rhythmic changes and fine mad vocals of Stefanie. A song like Hole would make, or in other words: just a short and sweet gem! This 10” is recommended and available on vinyl via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


NL

Naast de Hole in the Ground-single, brengt deze maand The Guru Guru ook een splitsingle met Brutus uit. Ze spelen hier een nummer van Brutus: Julia. En jawel, Brutus speelt op zijn beurt Dance With Me, wat dus een nummer van The Guru Guru is. Samen wagen ze zich ook aan Troy van Sinéad ‘O Connor. Als dat niet gedurfd is!

Julia is een bewerking van Bye Julia van de eveneens lichtjes verknipte band Brutus. Wat ze hier met de oorspronkelijke bouwstenen van de song doen is wel knap. Het is een evenwichtige compositie geworden. De zanglijn beklijft. De song bevat meer structuur en is beter gearrangeerd dan het origineel.

Troy coveren… Je moet toch maar het lef hebben. Een van de moeilijkste ‘O Conno-songs, lijkt mij. Het begin is nochtans vrij sterk. Luister maar eens naar het vocale antwoord van Stefanie op de ingetogen zang van Tom: dit is een kippenvelmoment! Brutus-gewijs wordt er dan loos gegaan om daarna terug de grip te vinden en rockgewijs naar het einde van de song te fietsen. Een knappe cover.

Dance With Me is een cover van The Guru Guru. De cover is in feite een samenvoeging van twee nummers van The Guru Guru: SPL en Syq Kumshod. Afkomstig van hun vorige live EP. 

Maar hoe klinkt het nummer nadat Brutus het verwerkt heeft? Wel, het is een korte song geworden met vrij melodieus gitaarwerk, ritmewisselingen en de fijne vocale gekte van Stefanie. Een song à la Hole, zou je kunnen zeggen. Heerlijk nummertje. Kort en krachtig.

Een heel fijne 10 inch. Een aanrader. Ook op vinyl verkrijgbaar via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out