tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

04/12/2015 : THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS - split out 10 inch

THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS

split out 10 inch

MusicVinyl
Noisepsychotic rock

[85/100]   

Funtime Records
04/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Besides the single Hole in the Ground ,The Guru Guru releases a split single with Brutus this month. They cover a song by Brutus: Julia. And yes, Brutus performs a song by The Guru Guru: Dance With Me. And apart from that, they both do Troy by Sinéad 'O Connor. Talking about something bold!

Julia is an adaptation of Bye Julia by Brutus. They completely rebuild the basic blocks of the original, and the result is quite clever. A balanced song with even a better structure than the original.

Reworking the classic Troy... Well, you must have the guts to do so, because I’m sure that this is one of the hardest 'O Connor songs to cover. The beginning is quite strong. Just listen to the vocal response of Stefanie to the subdued voice of Tom, this is a magical moment! An excellent cover.

As said before, Dance With Me is a song by The Guru Guru. Actually it is a remake from two of their songs: SLP and Syq Kumshod. They appeared on their previous live EP.

But how does Brutus handle it? Well, it's a short song with a rather melodic guitar, rhythmic changes and fine mad vocals of Stefanie. A song like Hole would make, or in other words: just a short and sweet gem! This 10” is recommended and available on vinyl via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


NL

Naast de Hole in the Ground-single, brengt deze maand The Guru Guru ook een splitsingle met Brutus uit. Ze spelen hier een nummer van Brutus: Julia. En jawel, Brutus speelt op zijn beurt Dance With Me, wat dus een nummer van The Guru Guru is. Samen wagen ze zich ook aan Troy van Sinéad ‘O Connor. Als dat niet gedurfd is!

Julia is een bewerking van Bye Julia van de eveneens lichtjes verknipte band Brutus. Wat ze hier met de oorspronkelijke bouwstenen van de song doen is wel knap. Het is een evenwichtige compositie geworden. De zanglijn beklijft. De song bevat meer structuur en is beter gearrangeerd dan het origineel.

Troy coveren… Je moet toch maar het lef hebben. Een van de moeilijkste ‘O Conno-songs, lijkt mij. Het begin is nochtans vrij sterk. Luister maar eens naar het vocale antwoord van Stefanie op de ingetogen zang van Tom: dit is een kippenvelmoment! Brutus-gewijs wordt er dan loos gegaan om daarna terug de grip te vinden en rockgewijs naar het einde van de song te fietsen. Een knappe cover.

Dance With Me is een cover van The Guru Guru. De cover is in feite een samenvoeging van twee nummers van The Guru Guru: SPL en Syq Kumshod. Afkomstig van hun vorige live EP. 

Maar hoe klinkt het nummer nadat Brutus het verwerkt heeft? Wel, het is een korte song geworden met vrij melodieus gitaarwerk, ritmewisselingen en de fijne vocale gekte van Stefanie. Een song à la Hole, zou je kunnen zeggen. Heerlijk nummertje. Kort en krachtig.

Een heel fijne 10 inch. Een aanrader. Ook op vinyl verkrijgbaar via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death