tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

04/12/2015 : THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS - split out 10 inch

THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS

split out 10 inch

MusicVinyl
Noisepsychotic rock

[85/100]   

Funtime Records
04/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Besides the single Hole in the Ground ,The Guru Guru releases a split single with Brutus this month. They cover a song by Brutus: Julia. And yes, Brutus performs a song by The Guru Guru: Dance With Me. And apart from that, they both do Troy by Sinéad 'O Connor. Talking about something bold!

Julia is an adaptation of Bye Julia by Brutus. They completely rebuild the basic blocks of the original, and the result is quite clever. A balanced song with even a better structure than the original.

Reworking the classic Troy... Well, you must have the guts to do so, because I’m sure that this is one of the hardest 'O Connor songs to cover. The beginning is quite strong. Just listen to the vocal response of Stefanie to the subdued voice of Tom, this is a magical moment! An excellent cover.

As said before, Dance With Me is a song by The Guru Guru. Actually it is a remake from two of their songs: SLP and Syq Kumshod. They appeared on their previous live EP.

But how does Brutus handle it? Well, it's a short song with a rather melodic guitar, rhythmic changes and fine mad vocals of Stefanie. A song like Hole would make, or in other words: just a short and sweet gem! This 10” is recommended and available on vinyl via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


NL

Naast de Hole in the Ground-single, brengt deze maand The Guru Guru ook een splitsingle met Brutus uit. Ze spelen hier een nummer van Brutus: Julia. En jawel, Brutus speelt op zijn beurt Dance With Me, wat dus een nummer van The Guru Guru is. Samen wagen ze zich ook aan Troy van Sinéad ‘O Connor. Als dat niet gedurfd is!

Julia is een bewerking van Bye Julia van de eveneens lichtjes verknipte band Brutus. Wat ze hier met de oorspronkelijke bouwstenen van de song doen is wel knap. Het is een evenwichtige compositie geworden. De zanglijn beklijft. De song bevat meer structuur en is beter gearrangeerd dan het origineel.

Troy coveren… Je moet toch maar het lef hebben. Een van de moeilijkste ‘O Conno-songs, lijkt mij. Het begin is nochtans vrij sterk. Luister maar eens naar het vocale antwoord van Stefanie op de ingetogen zang van Tom: dit is een kippenvelmoment! Brutus-gewijs wordt er dan loos gegaan om daarna terug de grip te vinden en rockgewijs naar het einde van de song te fietsen. Een knappe cover.

Dance With Me is een cover van The Guru Guru. De cover is in feite een samenvoeging van twee nummers van The Guru Guru: SPL en Syq Kumshod. Afkomstig van hun vorige live EP. 

Maar hoe klinkt het nummer nadat Brutus het verwerkt heeft? Wel, het is een korte song geworden met vrij melodieus gitaarwerk, ritmewisselingen en de fijne vocale gekte van Stefanie. Een song à la Hole, zou je kunnen zeggen. Heerlijk nummertje. Kort en krachtig.

Een heel fijne 10 inch. Een aanrader. Ook op vinyl verkrijgbaar via interpunk.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery