tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/10/2015 : THE HARROW - Silhouettes

THE HARROW

Silhouettes

MusicCD
Cold WaveDreampopMinimalPost PunkSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[80/100]   

Aufnahme + Wiedergabe
01/10/2015, Luki PUKI

NYC has a sound of its own that is somehow different to anywhere else. Production is high and yet can seem austhere. Personnally I love this. Its like a teasing kiss that leaves me wanting more. This is how I felt listening to NYC Gothy Coldwave purveyors the Harrow’s debut album Silhouettes.

Somber female vocals meld seamlessly with bass, mulitlayered synths and its all accompanied by haunting picked guitars lines.

Feral Haze is the most dancable number for me flirting with synthpop and a chorus that would be great at any alternative dance fetish night.

Love Like Shadows is the pre-release single taken from the album and probably the most moving song. It touches on the theme of loneliness in wanting love, while feeling invisible and incapable of loving. Thankfully with my good looks I’ve never experienced this, but it sounds tough.

The 10 tracks comes together to make Silohouettes an uncompromising cold wave release. Its due out in November or you can pick up the Love Like Shadows digital single now, both on Aufnahme + Wierdergabe label.


 

Luki PUKI
01/10/2015


 

Next reviews
OF TANZ VICTIMS • Fighting False God
MOA PILLAR • Humanity
JACK • The Jazz Age
TERRY BICKERS (THE HOUSE OF LOVE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JESSIE JONES • Jessie Jones
THE MARY HART ATTACK • A dark Green Light
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from THE HARROW
THE HARROW • Love Like Shadows

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
O VEUX • O Veux

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NAUT • Raise The Lights
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl