tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

05/06/2014 : THE HIGH WIRE - Found in Honey

THE HIGH WIRE

Found in Honey

MusicDigital
IndieSinger Songwriter

[93/100]   
05/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The first track 'Last invitation' was so sweet that I got sticked to it. Nice female voice, acoustic guitar and more sweetness in the backings. Some violins (or is it a synth simulation?), reaching a high towards the end in a very sensitive way! 'LNOE' has more synths in it and a male voice leading. It almost sounds like a different band. Once again I'm touched by the melancholy.
The lyrics matter very much: it is indeed the possibility of the last night on earth! 'Angel speech', well the title says it all! However it's more a poppy and trip hop minded track. The sweetness of the voices, all electronics in the background and a perfect studio mix: it has it all to make it! 'The Names & The Tide' reminds me of Esben Svane, a great singer songwriter with a great voice! This track is one of my favorite ones on the album. It has a bit of X-mas feel (the twinkling stars sound for example). The greatness and sweetness goes on with 'Still'. Here I think about Smith & Burrows ('Funny looking angels') as possible influence!
The next 4 songs are pretty much in the same line (here and there a bit more of an electro sound), the sweetness and melancholy prevails. I'm very happy to get this one. It's a peaceful and relaxing thing (in between metal reviews this matters a lot).

One thing is for sure: the studio work on this one is impressive and I'm more than happy with the album! I'm counting on the fans to spread this one and let them grow!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
05/06/2014


 

Next reviews
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions
PABLO TRAPERO • Carancho
STEPHEN SOMMERS • Odd Thomas
DOLLS OF PAIN • Dolls of Pain + A7IE @ Le Viziteur (Lille, France)
MIXE1 • Starlit Skin

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
ROBERT FORSTER • Songs To Play
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat