tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

02/10/2015 : THE HOUSE OF LOVE - Spy In The House Of Love

THE HOUSE OF LOVE

Spy In The House Of Love

MusicAlbum Classics
IndieShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fontana Records
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

When I recently contacted Terry Bickers asking if he’s not willing to take part in our successful series of albums that changed a life time, I was overwhelmed that he answered me that at the moment he was busy in the studio recording a new album by The House Of Love. The first thing that went through my mind, apart from some joy, was that the world of today is in desperate need of another House Of Love album.

Nah, it’s true, the world hasn’t forgotten this genius band whose sound was dominated by melodic shoegaze guitars and the weird, almost angry voice of Guy Chadwick. Once in a while you can hear The Beatles And The Stones and Shine On on your radio, but that’s it! And that’s so wrong, as this band did so much more!

There was of course their legendary debut album that was hailed by the late John Peel (oh, we miss you sir!) as simply genius. But the other albums were excellent too. We all know that after the first album the band was too small for two geniuses. Terry formed Levitation and Guy went on with Pete Evans and Matt Jury. As we’re waiting for the third album of the (reunited) House Of Love, we look back on Spy In The House Of Love.

No one really knows if it’s the real title of the album, but because there was a picture on the cover with the same titled classic by Anaïs Nin on it, it was easier to have an album in your collection with a real title, especially because their second album was already named “the one with the butterfly”.

This album features some songs with Terry, as it is a collection of B-sides and lost studio tracks. They’re almost completely forgotten, but the 14 songs all have one thing in common: they’re the most beautiful tracks ever written!

Scratched Inside delivers (well) a scratch to your soul, Baby Teen is a song that’ll drive you mad, if you never had the urge to smash a mirror with your head then you will after hearing Cut The Fool Down, you’ll play air guitar on Ray and you’ll dance till you drop on Marble.

Oh, you can do so many things with tracks by The House Of Love. Rediscovering them, should be your first concern!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination