tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

02/10/2015 : THE HOUSE OF LOVE - Spy In The House Of Love

THE HOUSE OF LOVE

Spy In The House Of Love

MusicAlbum Classics
IndieShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fontana Records
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

When I recently contacted Terry Bickers asking if he’s not willing to take part in our successful series of albums that changed a life time, I was overwhelmed that he answered me that at the moment he was busy in the studio recording a new album by The House Of Love. The first thing that went through my mind, apart from some joy, was that the world of today is in desperate need of another House Of Love album.

Nah, it’s true, the world hasn’t forgotten this genius band whose sound was dominated by melodic shoegaze guitars and the weird, almost angry voice of Guy Chadwick. Once in a while you can hear The Beatles And The Stones and Shine On on your radio, but that’s it! And that’s so wrong, as this band did so much more!

There was of course their legendary debut album that was hailed by the late John Peel (oh, we miss you sir!) as simply genius. But the other albums were excellent too. We all know that after the first album the band was too small for two geniuses. Terry formed Levitation and Guy went on with Pete Evans and Matt Jury. As we’re waiting for the third album of the (reunited) House Of Love, we look back on Spy In The House Of Love.

No one really knows if it’s the real title of the album, but because there was a picture on the cover with the same titled classic by Anaïs Nin on it, it was easier to have an album in your collection with a real title, especially because their second album was already named “the one with the butterfly”.

This album features some songs with Terry, as it is a collection of B-sides and lost studio tracks. They’re almost completely forgotten, but the 14 songs all have one thing in common: they’re the most beautiful tracks ever written!

Scratched Inside delivers (well) a scratch to your soul, Baby Teen is a song that’ll drive you mad, if you never had the urge to smash a mirror with your head then you will after hearing Cut The Fool Down, you’ll play air guitar on Ray and you’ll dance till you drop on Marble.

Oh, you can do so many things with tracks by The House Of Love. Rediscovering them, should be your first concern!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR