tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

02/10/2015 : THE HOUSE OF LOVE - Spy In The House Of Love

THE HOUSE OF LOVE

Spy In The House Of Love

MusicAlbum Classics
IndieShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fontana Records
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

When I recently contacted Terry Bickers asking if he’s not willing to take part in our successful series of albums that changed a life time, I was overwhelmed that he answered me that at the moment he was busy in the studio recording a new album by The House Of Love. The first thing that went through my mind, apart from some joy, was that the world of today is in desperate need of another House Of Love album.

Nah, it’s true, the world hasn’t forgotten this genius band whose sound was dominated by melodic shoegaze guitars and the weird, almost angry voice of Guy Chadwick. Once in a while you can hear The Beatles And The Stones and Shine On on your radio, but that’s it! And that’s so wrong, as this band did so much more!

There was of course their legendary debut album that was hailed by the late John Peel (oh, we miss you sir!) as simply genius. But the other albums were excellent too. We all know that after the first album the band was too small for two geniuses. Terry formed Levitation and Guy went on with Pete Evans and Matt Jury. As we’re waiting for the third album of the (reunited) House Of Love, we look back on Spy In The House Of Love.

No one really knows if it’s the real title of the album, but because there was a picture on the cover with the same titled classic by Anaïs Nin on it, it was easier to have an album in your collection with a real title, especially because their second album was already named “the one with the butterfly”.

This album features some songs with Terry, as it is a collection of B-sides and lost studio tracks. They’re almost completely forgotten, but the 14 songs all have one thing in common: they’re the most beautiful tracks ever written!

Scratched Inside delivers (well) a scratch to your soul, Baby Teen is a song that’ll drive you mad, if you never had the urge to smash a mirror with your head then you will after hearing Cut The Fool Down, you’ll play air guitar on Ray and you’ll dance till you drop on Marble.

Oh, you can do so many things with tracks by The House Of Love. Rediscovering them, should be your first concern!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence