tempobet yeni adresi
like this album classics review

02/10/2015 : THE HOUSE OF LOVE - Spy In The House Of Love

THE HOUSE OF LOVE

Spy In The House Of Love

MusicAlbum Classics
IndieShoegaze

[84/100]   

Fontana Records
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

When I recently contacted Terry Bickers asking if he’s not willing to take part in our successful series of albums that changed a life time, I was overwhelmed that he answered me that at the moment he was busy in the studio recording a new album by The House Of Love. The first thing that went through my mind, apart from some joy, was that the world of today is in desperate need of another House Of Love album.

Nah, it’s true, the world hasn’t forgotten this genius band whose sound was dominated by melodic shoegaze guitars and the weird, almost angry voice of Guy Chadwick. Once in a while you can hear The Beatles And The Stones and Shine On on your radio, but that’s it! And that’s so wrong, as this band did so much more!

There was of course their legendary debut album that was hailed by the late John Peel (oh, we miss you sir!) as simply genius. But the other albums were excellent too. We all know that after the first album the band was too small for two geniuses. Terry formed Levitation and Guy went on with Pete Evans and Matt Jury. As we’re waiting for the third album of the (reunited) House Of Love, we look back on Spy In The House Of Love.

No one really knows if it’s the real title of the album, but because there was a picture on the cover with the same titled classic by Anaïs Nin on it, it was easier to have an album in your collection with a real title, especially because their second album was already named “the one with the butterfly”.

This album features some songs with Terry, as it is a collection of B-sides and lost studio tracks. They’re almost completely forgotten, but the 14 songs all have one thing in common: they’re the most beautiful tracks ever written!

Scratched Inside delivers (well) a scratch to your soul, Baby Teen is a song that’ll drive you mad, if you never had the urge to smash a mirror with your head then you will after hearing Cut The Fool Down, you’ll play air guitar on Ray and you’ll dance till you drop on Marble.

Oh, you can do so many things with tracks by The House Of Love. Rediscovering them, should be your first concern!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death