tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES

Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Concert
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Wednesday, November 16, The Human League played the sublime Soundtrack to a Generation in a fully packed De Roma, in Antwerp. For many in the public, yours truly included, this of course is their soundtrack.

Ten years after the infamous autopilot gig at the AB in Brussels, Phil Oakey, Susan Ann Suley and Joanne Catheral, backed by excellent musicians, played a brilliant concert. From the more recent Sky to the glorious Together in Electric Dreams, the band performed a well balanced and varied set. We definitely felt fascination, sung along and danced away, thanks Phil, Susan Ann, Joanne & Co!

Before The Human League was on, Ekkoes had the honour to support the band. Ekkoes is inspired by The Human League and contemporary bands, as the band confirmed. You surely could hear those influences, but unfortunately it did not lead to an exciting and original music. It was not even close, definitely no cigar.

Was it that bad? Actually, yes, if you ask me. The biggest mistake was perhaps the inclusion of Laura Branigan's Self Control, the second song in the set. The song wasn't done justice. The dance moves by barefooted beauty Rosalee O'Connel couldn't make up for the little inspired dime a dozen synthipop echoes. A pitty!

At about half past nine The Human League, exactly ten minutes later than scheduled, walked on stage. The synthipop feast could begin! And a feast it was! De Roma witnessed a band that did all it could to please the hungry audience, providing a fantastic sound and playing a setlist which was composed in a very ingenious way: a perfect mix of the best known songs and lesser known gems.

Phil Oakey was in a good voice and kept tune very well, although it seemed to go wrong for a moment during Sky. The ever charming and lovely Susan Ann Suley had a little problem keeping tune during her lead on One Man in My Heart.

A very talkative Phil couldn't stop complimenting the Antwerp/Belgian audience and declared his love to the fashion city. Speaking of fashion: fashion fan Oakley changed outfits a couple of times during the show, all part of the game of course. Not that it's important. What is important is the way the very British synthesize group performed the eighties gems in a sublime way. The synthipop, blitz and newwave still sound very fresh in 2016!

My favourite moments of the evening were the renditions of The Sound of the Crowd, Seconds, The Lebanon, (Keep Feeling) Fascination, Filling Up With Heaven, Together in Electric Dreams, Love Action and also Human, actually never a favorite of mine, but wow, what a version!

I missed Louise and Marianne in the set, but of course we had plenty of other sweets to devour, didn't we? Look at the setlist and see my point proven! The Very British Synthesizer Group threw a perfect party in Antwerp!

Recently The Human League was announced as headliner of the W-festival on August 20. If I were you, I wouldn't doubt, so order that ticket!

Setlist:
Sky / Mirror Man / The Sound of the Crowd / Open Your Heart / Filling Up With Heaven / Heart Like a Wheel / Soundtrack to a Generation / Seconds / The Lebanon / One Man In My Heart (lead vocal: Suzanne) / Human / Stay With Me Tonight / Love Action / Tell me When / (Keep Feeling) Fascination / Don't You Want Me Baby

Encores:
Being Boiled / Together in Electric Dreams

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Met een bang hartje trok ik woensdag 16 november 2016 naar De Roma, maar ook met goede moed. Het ultrakorte en vooral erg makke concert van 2006 in de AB indachtig enerzijds maar anderzijds gemotiveerd door vele recente positeve kritieken. En om meteen duidelijk te zijn: dat concert van toen is bij deze vergeten en vergeven. Phil Oakey, Susan Ann Suley en Joanne Catheral, gesteund door gedegen muzikanten, waren in top form in De Roma! The Human League zette een mooie uitgebalanceerde set neer, beginnend bij het recente Sky en glorieus eindigend met Together in Electric Dreams.

We moesten eerst nog Ekkoes ondergaan, een band die zich naar eigen zeggen laat inspireren door The Human League en tijdgenoten. Dat hoorde je inderdaad. Het leidde helaas niet tot veel interessante of originele songs. En als je tweede song in de set in de set al een cover is, en dan nog een barslechte interpretatie van Laura Braningan's Self Control, dan zit het niet echt snor natuurlijk. Het probleem met Ekkoes is verder dat elke song met de andere in te ruilen valt en het niet bijster origineel is. Het werd ook nooit spannend. De danskunstjes van de blootvoetse bevallige Rosalee O' Connel waren ook steeds dezelfde. De goedkope dertien in een dozijn synthipop kon jullie verslaggever niet bekoren.

Om twintig na negen was het dan tijd voor The Human League al zouden die het rekken tot half tien om op het podium te verschijnen. Maar het wachten werd dan ook beloond; Oakey & co serveerden ons hun sublieme Soundtrack to a Generation, ondergetekende en menigeen in de zaal voelden zich aangesproken, onze generatie, ja!

Phil Oakey was erg goed bij stem, ook dat was tien jaar eerder in de AB wel anders, meestal ook toonvast. Alleen bij de opener Sky ging het ei zo na mis maar dat heeft Phil mooi opgevangen. Susan Ann Suley, nog steeds even bekorig, was iets minder stemvast en bij One Man In My Heart waar zij de lead vocals voor zich nam, was dat een beetje pijnlijk. En zo zijn meteen de énige minpuntjes benoemd.

Er stond een band op het podium die alles uit de kast haalde om het publiek te bekoren, met een geweldige sound en een setlist die erg verstandig opgebouwd was: heel erg bekende nummers met minder bekende nummers afwisselend. Phil sprak meermaals zijn waardering uit voor het belgische publiek en stak zijn liefde voor modestad Antwerpen niet onder stoelen of banken. Modebewust als Oakey is, wisselde man ook regelmatig van kostuum. Niet dat zo belangrijk is natuurlijk. Veel belangrijker is dat de aanstekelijke synthipop, new wave en blitz van The Human League anno 2016 nog okselfris klinkt.

Mijn favorietjes van de avond: The Sound of the Crowd, Seconds, The Lebanon, (Keep Feeling) Fascination, Filling up with Heaven, Together in Electric Dreams... Oh, en ook Love Action en Human nochtans niet echt een van mijn favoriete League-songs!

Jammer dat Louise niet bij zat, noch Marianne zo bedenk ik me nu, maar een blik op de setlist zal je overtuigen dat er genoeg ander lekkers te snoepen was! The Very British Synthesizer Group had overduidelijk veel plezier in en bouwde een bijzonder tof feestje in Antwerpen!

Recent werd bekend dat de band op het W-festival prijkt op zondag 20 augustus 2017, ik zou niet twijfelen als ik jou was!

Setlist:
Sky / Mirror Man / The Sound of the Crowd / Open Your Heart / Filling Up With Heaven / Heart Like a Wheel / Soundtrack to a Generation / Seconds / The Lebanon / One Man In My Heart (lead vocal: Suzanne) / Human / Stay With Me Tonight / Love Action / Tell me When / (Keep Feeling) Fascination / Don't You Want Me Baby

Bis:
Being Boiled / Together in Electric Dreams

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016) 11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016) 11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016) 11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016) 11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016) 11/12/2016 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES - Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

 

Next reviews
PENFIELD • Parallaxi5
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
PIG • The Gospel
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
JAN SWERTS • Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)
ODDLAND • Origin
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTH WAVE
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
MECHANIMAL • Delta Pi Delta
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
FLASH CERO • 1988
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Tales Of A Fragile Mind
ALLES • Post
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
11
11
THE MISSION
De Casino
11
11
DEPARTMENT S
De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)
13
11
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer