tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT - Anyway

THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT

Anyway

MusicCD

Invincible Spirit Media
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Those who follow the black scene for quite a while, certainly remember The Invincible Spirit. It seems like an eternity, but when 30 years ago Thomas Lüdke left his band Invisible Limits and founded The Invincible Spirit. And that band still exists. Anyway is the brand new album. Lüdke has more than enough experience to understand that you can’t get rich when you follow your own soul in music. Anyway is self-released.

The opening track Anyway begins quite classical, with a romantic piano, but that only lasts for a few minutes. The newest CD has 17 (yes, 17!) songs. It is a very diverse collection in which almost every electronic genre is explored. It rarely happens, but even if the number of tracks is extremely high, they almost all have the same (high) level.

With Erase it is clear that Anyway is in the first place an EBM record. The beats are old school (just think of Nitzer Ebb) with a high dance factor. It sounds familiar, but nonetheless it is very original.

The Invincible Spirit clearly wants to please both the EBM lovers and clubbers. Have You contains heavy EBM beats, but because of its poppy character, you can play it on some futurepop party as well. By the way, it seems as if each song is getting stronger as Afraid Forever goes very fast! On Dark Eye lots of effects are added to the voice, and so The Invincible Spirit (again) gets another dimension.

In Naked Soul Thomas mixes harsh EBM with traditional synthpop. A strange combination, but highly effective! Soul Control is EBM at its best, pounding beats without forgetting the melody for one second!

Everytime I Move has an irresistible DAF start. No, not very original, but irresistible. Decide is nice synthpop with some harder beats and it is somewhat similar to Absolute Body Control (which of course is a good sign!) On Hate You and Frustrated, Thomas proves that he knows what good EBM stands for. The best track of the album comes at the end: the melancholic, melodious A Nation.

The Invincible Spirit is not “a band of the past”. At the contrary, Anyway is one of the best records of the genre at the moment!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

De wat oudere liefhebber van de zwarte scène zal zich beslist nog The Invincible Spirit herinneren. Het lijkt inderdaad een eeuwigheid geleden, maar nadat hij dertig jaar geleden zijn band Invisible Limits verliet, richtte Thomas Lüdke The Invincible Spirit op, en die band bestaat nog steeds. Anyway is de gloednieuwe plaat. Lüdke heeft meer dan genoeg ervaring om te snappen dat je niet rijk wordt als je in de muziek je eigen ziel volgt. Anyway is dan ook volledig in eigen beheer uitgebracht.

De openingstrack Anyway begint vrij klassiek, met een romantische piano, maar dat duurt maar een paar minuutjes. De nieuwste cd die 17 (jawel, 17!) nummers telt is een zeer gevarieerde collectie waarop zowat elk elektronisch genre wordt afgetast. Het gebeurt zelden, maar ook al is het aantal tracks ontzettend hoog, zijn ze allemaal van bijna hetzelfde (hoge) niveau.

Meteen met Erase wordt duidelijk dat Anyway in de eerste plaats een EBM-plaat is. De beats zijn old school (denk gewoon aan Nitzer Ebb) met een hoge dansfactor. Het klinkt bekend in de oren en toch is het uiterst origineel.

The Invincible Spirit kiest er duidelijk voor om zowel de EBM-liefhebbers als de clubbezoekers te behagen. Zo trillen op Have You de speakers door de hevige EBM-beats, maar kan je het nummer door zijn poppy karakter evengoed op een futurepopfuifje draaien. Het lijkt trouwens of ieder nummer wel heftiger wordt, zo zijn de beats in Afraid Forever nauwelijks bij te houden. Op Dark Eye worden er wat meer effecten aan de stem gevoegd, waardoor The Invincible Spirit alweer een andere dimensie krijgt.

In Naked Soul mengt Thomas harsh EBM met traditionele synthpop. Een vreemde combinatie, maar wel eentjeéén die uiterst effectief is! Soul Control is dan weer EBM op zijn best, beukende beats zonder dat ook maar één seconde de melodie wordt vergeten! 

Everytime I Move heeft een onweerstaanbaar DAF-gehalte. Neen, het is misschien allemaal niet bijster origineel, maar onweerstaanbaar.

Decide is leuke synthpop met wat hardere beats. Final lijkt wel wat op Absolute Body Control (en dat is natuurlijk nooit een slecht teken!) Met Hate You en Frustrated overtuigt Thomas ons opnieuw omdat hij weet waar goede EBM voor staat. Het beste nummer van de cd komt op het einde: het weemoedige, melodieuze A Nation.

Met Anyway toont Thomas Lüdke zonder veel moeite aan dat The Invincible Spirit nog helemaal niet tot het verleden behoort. Integendeel, het is één van de beste genreplaten van dit moment!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid