tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/01/2016 : THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT - Anyway

THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT

Anyway

MusicCD

Invincible Spirit Media
04/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Those who follow the black scene for quite a while, certainly remember The Invincible Spirit. It seems like an eternity, but when 30 years ago Thomas Lüdke left his band Invisible Limits and founded The Invincible Spirit. And that band still exists. Anyway is the brand new album. Lüdke has more than enough experience to understand that you can’t get rich when you follow your own soul in music. Anyway is self-released.

The opening track Anyway begins quite classical, with a romantic piano, but that only lasts for a few minutes. The newest CD has 17 (yes, 17!) songs. It is a very diverse collection in which almost every electronic genre is explored. It rarely happens, but even if the number of tracks is extremely high, they almost all have the same (high) level.

With Erase it is clear that Anyway is in the first place an EBM record. The beats are old school (just think of Nitzer Ebb) with a high dance factor. It sounds familiar, but nonetheless it is very original.

The Invincible Spirit clearly wants to please both the EBM lovers and clubbers. Have You contains heavy EBM beats, but because of its poppy character, you can play it on some futurepop party as well. By the way, it seems as if each song is getting stronger as Afraid Forever goes very fast! On Dark Eye lots of effects are added to the voice, and so The Invincible Spirit (again) gets another dimension.

In Naked Soul Thomas mixes harsh EBM with traditional synthpop. A strange combination, but highly effective! Soul Control is EBM at its best, pounding beats without forgetting the melody for one second!

Everytime I Move has an irresistible DAF start. No, not very original, but irresistible. Decide is nice synthpop with some harder beats and it is somewhat similar to Absolute Body Control (which of course is a good sign!) On Hate You and Frustrated, Thomas proves that he knows what good EBM stands for. The best track of the album comes at the end: the melancholic, melodious A Nation.

The Invincible Spirit is not “a band of the past”. At the contrary, Anyway is one of the best records of the genre at the moment!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


NL

De wat oudere liefhebber van de zwarte scène zal zich beslist nog The Invincible Spirit herinneren. Het lijkt inderdaad een eeuwigheid geleden, maar nadat hij dertig jaar geleden zijn band Invisible Limits verliet, richtte Thomas Lüdke The Invincible Spirit op, en die band bestaat nog steeds. Anyway is de gloednieuwe plaat. Lüdke heeft meer dan genoeg ervaring om te snappen dat je niet rijk wordt als je in de muziek je eigen ziel volgt. Anyway is dan ook volledig in eigen beheer uitgebracht.

De openingstrack Anyway begint vrij klassiek, met een romantische piano, maar dat duurt maar een paar minuutjes. De nieuwste cd die 17 (jawel, 17!) nummers telt is een zeer gevarieerde collectie waarop zowat elk elektronisch genre wordt afgetast. Het gebeurt zelden, maar ook al is het aantal tracks ontzettend hoog, zijn ze allemaal van bijna hetzelfde (hoge) niveau.

Meteen met Erase wordt duidelijk dat Anyway in de eerste plaats een EBM-plaat is. De beats zijn old school (denk gewoon aan Nitzer Ebb) met een hoge dansfactor. Het klinkt bekend in de oren en toch is het uiterst origineel.

The Invincible Spirit kiest er duidelijk voor om zowel de EBM-liefhebbers als de clubbezoekers te behagen. Zo trillen op Have You de speakers door de hevige EBM-beats, maar kan je het nummer door zijn poppy karakter evengoed op een futurepopfuifje draaien. Het lijkt trouwens of ieder nummer wel heftiger wordt, zo zijn de beats in Afraid Forever nauwelijks bij te houden. Op Dark Eye worden er wat meer effecten aan de stem gevoegd, waardoor The Invincible Spirit alweer een andere dimensie krijgt.

In Naked Soul mengt Thomas harsh EBM met traditionele synthpop. Een vreemde combinatie, maar wel eentjeéén die uiterst effectief is! Soul Control is dan weer EBM op zijn best, beukende beats zonder dat ook maar één seconde de melodie wordt vergeten! 

Everytime I Move heeft een onweerstaanbaar DAF-gehalte. Neen, het is misschien allemaal niet bijster origineel, maar onweerstaanbaar.

Decide is leuke synthpop met wat hardere beats. Final lijkt wel wat op Absolute Body Control (en dat is natuurlijk nooit een slecht teken!) Met Hate You en Frustrated overtuigt Thomas ons opnieuw omdat hij weet waar goede EBM voor staat. Het beste nummer van de cd komt op het einde: het weemoedige, melodieuze A Nation.

Met Anyway toont Thomas Lüdke zonder veel moeite aan dat The Invincible Spirit nog helemaal niet tot het verleden behoort. Integendeel, het is één van de beste genreplaten van dit moment!

Didier BECU
04/01/2016


Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession