tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

20/12/2012 : THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT - Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT

Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
EBMGothic

[90/100]   
20/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

It is precisely 20:30 at the BIM Fest (Day2) when The Invincible Spirit takes the stage. Founded in 1984, this German EBM/industrial band evolved from playing harsh but melodic old-school EBM in the 80s, to synthpop in the middle of the 90s and their present industrial/darkwave-sound. It was their 3rd gig on Belgian soil and we were eager to watch them perform!

On stage, mastermind Thomas Luedke is accompanied by Lydya N. and Michael Goldau on keyboards. As soon as they sarted their first song, "Love Is A Mystery", it was clear that those guys would steal the show. Immediately, the public moved and danced to a very powerful and efficient beat. Luedke had an impressive stage presence, and reminded us of Gabi, from DAF, a band which clearly influenced The Invincible Spirit, together with Kraftwerk and The Neon Judgement (sic).

After "Showdown" and "Provoke you", which kept the pace high, they played "Devil Dance", one of their most famous hits, which dates from 1984 and is a clear forerunner of the electro-goth music of the 90s (Project Pitchfork, Calva y Nada, Eternal Afflict, Wumpscut,...). Everything is already there, the devilish vocals and lyrics, the pounding rhythm and the aggressive synth chords. After the show, backstage, I asked Luedke whether he was aware of the major role this song had played in the history of 'goth music', he was of course too modest to admit it,... but he didn't deny it! Watch the band as they performed the song:

After this, The Invincible Spirit played two new songs, "Alphasex" and "Deeper", from their mini-album "The Invincible Sex" (2004). But the most successful songs were again 'old' ones like "Contact" and, of course "Push", their popular club-hit from 1986. On this song, the whole venue was moving and dancing! The last song of the set was "Make A Device" and the band came back to play another new track, "Your God In Me". A very impressive show, one of the most powerful of the festival, together with Peter Hook (Day2) and with Portion Control (Day1).

Setlist: Love is a kind of mystery, Floating, Take as normal, Showdown, Provoke you, Devil Dance, Alphasex, Contact, Deeper, Push!, Make a Device. Encore: Your God in me.

Check the pictures of the concert by Xavier Marquis here.

http://www.invincible-spirit.de

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
20/12/2012


 

Next reviews
UNDERVIEWER • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
METROLAND • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
TEST DEPT:REDUX • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
NOTHING BUT NOISE • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
• Stash House

 

Other reviews from THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • Anyway

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
MY OWN SORROW • Entity
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
QUAL • Sable
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1
EISHERZ • Achtung!
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa