tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE INVISIBLE - Patience

THE INVISIBLE

Patience

MusicCD
Electronics

[80/100]   

Ninja Tune
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Patience is The Invisible's second outing for the usually left-field Ninja Tune imprint but there's little sign of the band being swayed by its label's previous output. This is slick, itchy indie funk that bubbles away gently rather than threatens to boil over. The key to much of this is singer and songwriter Dave Okumu's creative pedigree - he's written with Jessie Ware and worked with Anna Calvi (who features on the sultry Love Me Again), St Vincent and Matthew Herbert, to name but a few, not exactly mainstream but not exactly 'out of the box' either.

And so Patience marries this ethos of the quirky, rhythmic, mesmeric and atmospheric into a template that already suits the likes of Animal Collective, TV On The Radio, Twin Shadow, James Blake and Foals. Where The Invisible truly shine is in keeping things simple - nothing on this album is over-used or milked. The opener So Well (featuring Ms Ware) is immediately likeable electro-pop with layers of dewy-eyed synths and metronomic beats, while Save You and Best Of Me exude an element of the late Prince's swollen funk swagger.

Guests include the aforementioned Calvi, as well as Connan Mockasin and Rosie Lowe, all of whom lend vocals to songs of varying degrees of uplift and hope. Harmonious positivity abounds throughout the album which is a little lighter in mood than the underrated predecessor Rispah from 2012 all of which helps to strengthen The Invisible's grip on their own destiny as craftsmen and purveyors of listenable dance music.

The Invisible have been around for a decade now - Patience is a virtue after all.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines