tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE INVISIBLE - Patience

THE INVISIBLE

Patience

MusicCD
Dance

[80/100]   

Ninja Tune
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Patience is The Invisible's second outing for the usually left-field Ninja Tune imprint but there's little sign of the band being swayed by its label's previous output. This is slick, itchy indie funk that bubbles away gently rather than threatens to boil over. The key to much of this is singer and songwriter Dave Okumu's creative pedigree - he's written with Jessie Ware and worked with Anna Calvi (who features on the sultry Love Me Again), St Vincent and Matthew Herbert, to name but a few, not exactly mainstream but not exactly 'out of the box' either.

And so Patience marries this ethos of the quirky, rhythmic, mesmeric and atmospheric into a template that already suits the likes of Animal Collective, TV On The Radio, Twin Shadow, James Blake and Foals. Where The Invisible truly shine is in keeping things simple - nothing on this album is over-used or milked. The opener So Well (featuring Ms Ware) is immediately likeable electro-pop with layers of dewy-eyed synths and metronomic beats, while Save You and Best Of Me exude an element of the late Prince's swollen funk swagger.

Guests include the aforementioned Calvi, as well as Connan Mockasin and Rosie Lowe, all of whom lend vocals to songs of varying degrees of uplift and hope. Harmonious positivity abounds throughout the album which is a little lighter in mood than the underrated predecessor Rispah from 2012 all of which helps to strengthen The Invisible's grip on their own destiny as craftsmen and purveyors of listenable dance music.

The Invisible have been around for a decade now - Patience is a virtue after all.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete