tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/02/2016 : THE JOY OF NATURE - A Roda Do Tempo

THE JOY OF NATURE

A Roda Do Tempo

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical
Cynfeirdd
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this: an album that is completely sung in Portuguese, you don’t understand one word of it and it still touches your heart! That is exactly what happened when I listened to A Roda Do Tempo by The Joy Of Nature, the musical solo project of Luis Couto, although he is accompanied by many musicians.

Luis was inspired by a Buddhist text that states how rivers lose their name once they disappear into the big ocean. At that time the musician was at the Azores and he concluded that our lives are like these rivers. Once they cease to exist, they disappear into the big nothing.

There are sixteen (brilliant) compositions on this album and it's not easy to categorize the music (not that you have to!). Due to the exotic Portuguese vocals, you could say it's world music, on the other hand you can say that the melancholic compositions sound as beautiful as the classic neo-folk songs by Fire And Ice and Current 93, or simply like Ataraxia, Caprice or Irfan.

No, music is an universal language that everyone can understand. If you ever doubt: simply try The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Een album dat volledig in het Portugees is gezongen en dat je toch tot op het bot raakt zonder dat je er ook maar één moer van snapt? Dat is nou net wat gebeurde toen ik A Roda Do Tempo van The Joy Of Nature beluisterde, het muzikale soloproject van Luis Couto, ofschoon hij de hulp krijgt van heel wat musici.

Luis vond zijn inspiratie in een boeddhistische tekst over hoe rivieren hun naam verliezen eens ze in de grote oceaan verdwijnen. Op dat moment verbleef de muzikant op de Azorenen hij dacht meteen aan het feit dat onze levens net als deze rivieren zijn. Eens houden ze op te bestaan, en verdwijnen ze in het grote niets.

Er staan zestien (briljante) composities op deze plaat en het is niet gemakkelijk om de muziek van Luis in een bepaald hokje te stoppen (ook al hoeft dat niet). Wegens de exotische klanken van de Portugese zang zou je kunnen zeggen dat het wereldmuziek is, anderzijds klinken de vaak melancholische composities even aangrijpend mooi als neofolk (Fire And Ice en Current 93) of gewoon zoals Ataraxia, Caprice of Irfan.

Neen, muziek is een universele taal die iedereen kan begrijpen, mocht je er ooit aan twijfelen probeer gewoon eens The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading