tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE JOY OF NATURE - A Roda Do Tempo

THE JOY OF NATURE

A Roda Do Tempo

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical
Cynfeirdd
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this: an album that is completely sung in Portuguese, you don’t understand one word of it and it still touches your heart! That is exactly what happened when I listened to A Roda Do Tempo by The Joy Of Nature, the musical solo project of Luis Couto, although he is accompanied by many musicians.

Luis was inspired by a Buddhist text that states how rivers lose their name once they disappear into the big ocean. At that time the musician was at the Azores and he concluded that our lives are like these rivers. Once they cease to exist, they disappear into the big nothing.

There are sixteen (brilliant) compositions on this album and it's not easy to categorize the music (not that you have to!). Due to the exotic Portuguese vocals, you could say it's world music, on the other hand you can say that the melancholic compositions sound as beautiful as the classic neo-folk songs by Fire And Ice and Current 93, or simply like Ataraxia, Caprice or Irfan.

No, music is an universal language that everyone can understand. If you ever doubt: simply try The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Een album dat volledig in het Portugees is gezongen en dat je toch tot op het bot raakt zonder dat je er ook maar één moer van snapt? Dat is nou net wat gebeurde toen ik A Roda Do Tempo van The Joy Of Nature beluisterde, het muzikale soloproject van Luis Couto, ofschoon hij de hulp krijgt van heel wat musici.

Luis vond zijn inspiratie in een boeddhistische tekst over hoe rivieren hun naam verliezen eens ze in de grote oceaan verdwijnen. Op dat moment verbleef de muzikant op de Azorenen hij dacht meteen aan het feit dat onze levens net als deze rivieren zijn. Eens houden ze op te bestaan, en verdwijnen ze in het grote niets.

Er staan zestien (briljante) composities op deze plaat en het is niet gemakkelijk om de muziek van Luis in een bepaald hokje te stoppen (ook al hoeft dat niet). Wegens de exotische klanken van de Portugese zang zou je kunnen zeggen dat het wereldmuziek is, anderzijds klinken de vaak melancholische composities even aangrijpend mooi als neofolk (Fire And Ice en Current 93) of gewoon zoals Ataraxia, Caprice of Irfan.

Neen, muziek is een universele taal die iedereen kan begrijpen, mocht je er ooit aan twijfelen probeer gewoon eens The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm