tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE JOY OF NATURE - A Roda Do Tempo

THE JOY OF NATURE

A Roda Do Tempo

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical
Cynfeirdd
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this: an album that is completely sung in Portuguese, you don’t understand one word of it and it still touches your heart! That is exactly what happened when I listened to A Roda Do Tempo by The Joy Of Nature, the musical solo project of Luis Couto, although he is accompanied by many musicians.

Luis was inspired by a Buddhist text that states how rivers lose their name once they disappear into the big ocean. At that time the musician was at the Azores and he concluded that our lives are like these rivers. Once they cease to exist, they disappear into the big nothing.

There are sixteen (brilliant) compositions on this album and it's not easy to categorize the music (not that you have to!). Due to the exotic Portuguese vocals, you could say it's world music, on the other hand you can say that the melancholic compositions sound as beautiful as the classic neo-folk songs by Fire And Ice and Current 93, or simply like Ataraxia, Caprice or Irfan.

No, music is an universal language that everyone can understand. If you ever doubt: simply try The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Een album dat volledig in het Portugees is gezongen en dat je toch tot op het bot raakt zonder dat je er ook maar één moer van snapt? Dat is nou net wat gebeurde toen ik A Roda Do Tempo van The Joy Of Nature beluisterde, het muzikale soloproject van Luis Couto, ofschoon hij de hulp krijgt van heel wat musici.

Luis vond zijn inspiratie in een boeddhistische tekst over hoe rivieren hun naam verliezen eens ze in de grote oceaan verdwijnen. Op dat moment verbleef de muzikant op de Azorenen hij dacht meteen aan het feit dat onze levens net als deze rivieren zijn. Eens houden ze op te bestaan, en verdwijnen ze in het grote niets.

Er staan zestien (briljante) composities op deze plaat en het is niet gemakkelijk om de muziek van Luis in een bepaald hokje te stoppen (ook al hoeft dat niet). Wegens de exotische klanken van de Portugese zang zou je kunnen zeggen dat het wereldmuziek is, anderzijds klinken de vaak melancholische composities even aangrijpend mooi als neofolk (Fire And Ice en Current 93) of gewoon zoals Ataraxia, Caprice of Irfan.

Neen, muziek is een universele taal die iedereen kan begrijpen, mocht je er ooit aan twijfelen probeer gewoon eens The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover