tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE JOY OF NATURE - A Roda Do Tempo

THE JOY OF NATURE

A Roda Do Tempo

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical
Cynfeirdd
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this: an album that is completely sung in Portuguese, you don’t understand one word of it and it still touches your heart! That is exactly what happened when I listened to A Roda Do Tempo by The Joy Of Nature, the musical solo project of Luis Couto, although he is accompanied by many musicians.

Luis was inspired by a Buddhist text that states how rivers lose their name once they disappear into the big ocean. At that time the musician was at the Azores and he concluded that our lives are like these rivers. Once they cease to exist, they disappear into the big nothing.

There are sixteen (brilliant) compositions on this album and it's not easy to categorize the music (not that you have to!). Due to the exotic Portuguese vocals, you could say it's world music, on the other hand you can say that the melancholic compositions sound as beautiful as the classic neo-folk songs by Fire And Ice and Current 93, or simply like Ataraxia, Caprice or Irfan.

No, music is an universal language that everyone can understand. If you ever doubt: simply try The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Een album dat volledig in het Portugees is gezongen en dat je toch tot op het bot raakt zonder dat je er ook maar één moer van snapt? Dat is nou net wat gebeurde toen ik A Roda Do Tempo van The Joy Of Nature beluisterde, het muzikale soloproject van Luis Couto, ofschoon hij de hulp krijgt van heel wat musici.

Luis vond zijn inspiratie in een boeddhistische tekst over hoe rivieren hun naam verliezen eens ze in de grote oceaan verdwijnen. Op dat moment verbleef de muzikant op de Azorenen hij dacht meteen aan het feit dat onze levens net als deze rivieren zijn. Eens houden ze op te bestaan, en verdwijnen ze in het grote niets.

Er staan zestien (briljante) composities op deze plaat en het is niet gemakkelijk om de muziek van Luis in een bepaald hokje te stoppen (ook al hoeft dat niet). Wegens de exotische klanken van de Portugese zang zou je kunnen zeggen dat het wereldmuziek is, anderzijds klinken de vaak melancholische composities even aangrijpend mooi als neofolk (Fire And Ice en Current 93) of gewoon zoals Ataraxia, Caprice of Irfan.

Neen, muziek is een universele taal die iedereen kan begrijpen, mocht je er ooit aan twijfelen probeer gewoon eens The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide