tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/02/2016 : THE JOY OF NATURE - A Roda Do Tempo

THE JOY OF NATURE

A Roda Do Tempo

MusicCD
Dark WaveFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeoclassical
Cynfeirdd
09/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Imagine this: an album that is completely sung in Portuguese, you don’t understand one word of it and it still touches your heart! That is exactly what happened when I listened to A Roda Do Tempo by The Joy Of Nature, the musical solo project of Luis Couto, although he is accompanied by many musicians.

Luis was inspired by a Buddhist text that states how rivers lose their name once they disappear into the big ocean. At that time the musician was at the Azores and he concluded that our lives are like these rivers. Once they cease to exist, they disappear into the big nothing.

There are sixteen (brilliant) compositions on this album and it's not easy to categorize the music (not that you have to!). Due to the exotic Portuguese vocals, you could say it's world music, on the other hand you can say that the melancholic compositions sound as beautiful as the classic neo-folk songs by Fire And Ice and Current 93, or simply like Ataraxia, Caprice or Irfan.

No, music is an universal language that everyone can understand. If you ever doubt: simply try The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


NL

Een album dat volledig in het Portugees is gezongen en dat je toch tot op het bot raakt zonder dat je er ook maar één moer van snapt? Dat is nou net wat gebeurde toen ik A Roda Do Tempo van The Joy Of Nature beluisterde, het muzikale soloproject van Luis Couto, ofschoon hij de hulp krijgt van heel wat musici.

Luis vond zijn inspiratie in een boeddhistische tekst over hoe rivieren hun naam verliezen eens ze in de grote oceaan verdwijnen. Op dat moment verbleef de muzikant op de Azorenen hij dacht meteen aan het feit dat onze levens net als deze rivieren zijn. Eens houden ze op te bestaan, en verdwijnen ze in het grote niets.

Er staan zestien (briljante) composities op deze plaat en het is niet gemakkelijk om de muziek van Luis in een bepaald hokje te stoppen (ook al hoeft dat niet). Wegens de exotische klanken van de Portugese zang zou je kunnen zeggen dat het wereldmuziek is, anderzijds klinken de vaak melancholische composities even aangrijpend mooi als neofolk (Fire And Ice en Current 93) of gewoon zoals Ataraxia, Caprice of Irfan.

Neen, muziek is een universele taal die iedereen kan begrijpen, mocht je er ooit aan twijfelen probeer gewoon eens The Joy Of Nature!

Didier BECU
09/02/2016


 

Next reviews
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
LONER DELUXE • Snowed Under
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa
THE PUBLIC RADAR • A New Sunrise
DREW MCDOWALL (COIL, PSYCHIC TV) • Antwerpen, Zuiderpershuis (06/02/2016)
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
CATAYA • Sukzession
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland