tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE JUGGERNAUTS - The Juggernauts Are Coming

THE JUGGERNAUTS

The Juggernauts Are Coming

MusicCD
EBM

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you know The Juggernauts as those two musicians who wear those crazy outfits. And yet, the band is more than just a gimmick, The Juggernauts even make EBM of the highest level. And to top it all, it’s just one of the best Belgian EBM-bands of the moment. Of course the influences are obvious, however, this is a qualitative CD which is full of irresistible alternative club hits.

From someone who is in this scene for such a long time, of course we expected no less. And yet, when you hear The Juggernauts Are Coming, it is no coincidence that this EBM duo is signed on the prestigious German label Out Of Line.

After the well received and great Phoenix EP from 2013 we had to wait three years for something new, but this is a debut of which the band can be proud of: deafening beats and sequencers that are reminiscent of Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, nonetheless all fantastic songs with an own face.

We already knew Plastic World of the recent Out Of Line Electrostorm compilation, but the reworked version of Infected, sounds equally sublime. Other tracks from the EP were given a new look as well, and so the fans get an extended version of the known club hits.

The Juggernauts do nothing new, but these two Belgians do it with so much energy that you enjoy it from the first to the last second. This needs to be in your collection, EBM-heads!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

The Juggernauts, zijn dat niet die twee muzikanten met die gekke hoofddeksels op? Inderdaad, maar voor wie denkt dat het louter om een gimmick draait, moeten we toch vermelden dat The Juggernauts tevens EBM van het allerhoogste niveau maakt. In feite, als we heel eerlijk blijven, is The Juggernauts zelfs één van de beste Belgische EBM-bands van dit moment.

Natuurlijk is het zonneklaar waar deze heren de mosterd vandaan halen, dat belet hun echter niet om een met een kwalitatieve cd op de proppen te komen die bol staat van de clubhits.

Van iemand die al jaren in deze scene verweven zit, hadden we natuurlijk niet minder verwacht. En toch, als je The Juggernauts Are Coming hoort, is het geen toeval dat dit EBM-duo op het gerenommeerde Duitse label Out Of Line is beland.

Na de leuke EP Phoenix uit 2013 moesten we weliswaar drie jaar wachten, dit is echter een debuut dat kan tellen: loeiharde beats en sequencers die je misschien aan Front 242 of Nitzer Ebb doen denken (tja), desalniettemin fantastische songs met een eigen gezicht.

Het nummer Plastic World kenden we al van de recente Out Of Line Electrostorm-compilatie, maar de herwerkte versie van Infected, klinkt minstens even subliem. Ook de andere hernomen tracks uit de Phoenix EP werden voor dit album in een nieuw jasje gestoken, en zo krijgen de fans een extended version van de inmiddels gekende clubhits.

Beweren dat The Juggernauts iets nieuws doen is zeker niet aan de orde, wel doen deze twee Belgen het met zo veel energie dat je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde betrokken bent in dit EBM-festijn.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
07
R.I.P. Rüdiger Frank (1967-2019) (Printed At Bismarck's Death, The Tors Of Dartmoor)
18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
07
STIN SCATZOR
Hellgium
22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart