tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE JUGGERNAUTS - The Juggernauts Are Coming

THE JUGGERNAUTS

The Juggernauts Are Coming

MusicCD
EBM

[84/100]   

Out Of Line
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you know The Juggernauts as those two musicians who wear those crazy outfits. And yet, the band is more than just a gimmick, The Juggernauts even make EBM of the highest level. And to top it all, it’s just one of the best Belgian EBM-bands of the moment. Of course the influences are obvious, however, this is a qualitative CD which is full of irresistible alternative club hits.

From someone who is in this scene for such a long time, of course we expected no less. And yet, when you hear The Juggernauts Are Coming, it is no coincidence that this EBM duo is signed on the prestigious German label Out Of Line.

After the well received and great Phoenix EP from 2013 we had to wait three years for something new, but this is a debut of which the band can be proud of: deafening beats and sequencers that are reminiscent of Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb, nonetheless all fantastic songs with an own face.

We already knew Plastic World of the recent Out Of Line Electrostorm compilation, but the reworked version of Infected, sounds equally sublime. Other tracks from the EP were given a new look as well, and so the fans get an extended version of the known club hits.

The Juggernauts do nothing new, but these two Belgians do it with so much energy that you enjoy it from the first to the last second. This needs to be in your collection, EBM-heads!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

The Juggernauts, zijn dat niet die twee muzikanten met die gekke hoofddeksels op? Inderdaad, maar voor wie denkt dat het louter om een gimmick draait, moeten we toch vermelden dat The Juggernauts tevens EBM van het allerhoogste niveau maakt. In feite, als we heel eerlijk blijven, is The Juggernauts zelfs één van de beste Belgische EBM-bands van dit moment.

Natuurlijk is het zonneklaar waar deze heren de mosterd vandaan halen, dat belet hun echter niet om een met een kwalitatieve cd op de proppen te komen die bol staat van de clubhits.

Van iemand die al jaren in deze scene verweven zit, hadden we natuurlijk niet minder verwacht. En toch, als je The Juggernauts Are Coming hoort, is het geen toeval dat dit EBM-duo op het gerenommeerde Duitse label Out Of Line is beland.

Na de leuke EP Phoenix uit 2013 moesten we weliswaar drie jaar wachten, dit is echter een debuut dat kan tellen: loeiharde beats en sequencers die je misschien aan Front 242 of Nitzer Ebb doen denken (tja), desalniettemin fantastische songs met een eigen gezicht.

Het nummer Plastic World kenden we al van de recente Out Of Line Electrostorm-compilatie, maar de herwerkte versie van Infected, klinkt minstens even subliem. Ook de andere hernomen tracks uit de Phoenix EP werden voor dit album in een nieuw jasje gestoken, en zo krijgen de fans een extended version van de inmiddels gekende clubhits.

Beweren dat The Juggernauts iets nieuws doen is zeker niet aan de orde, wel doen deze twee Belgen het met zo veel energie dat je van de eerste tot de laatste seconde betrokken bent in dit EBM-festijn.

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno