tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Of Desire

THE KVB

Of Desire

MusicCD
IndieMinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[94/100]   

Invada Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some music snobs may regret it, but The KVB is no longer the common property of the elite. The band is more known thse days, and the fact that the second album Of Desire is released on Invada Records (the label of Geoff Barrow of Portishead) will increase that popularity. No problem, because the CD, produced and mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3-fame, sounds more professional, while the eerie, icy post-punk sound of The KVB is preserved.

Opener White Walls reveals why Nicolas Wood and Kat Day love Nicolas Winding Refn as you experience the same atmosphere that is typical for his movies: a monotonous (but wonderful) drum machine and a wave of electronic synths that haunt you. But this is just the beginning, Night Games is lovely minimal pop that will be loved by enthusiasts of contemporary new wave.

The thumping drum machines of Lower Depths navigate The KVB towards Krautrock, think of how Lebanon Hanover would sound as if it ever records anything of The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave we hear the influence of Sonic Boom for the first time: rhythmic, but the synths sound so ominous that you feel afraid.

Never Enough proofs that you still can pronounce The KVB and The Soft Moon in one sentence. The single In Deep is probably the track that sounds most as shoegaze, while the monotonous New Order-beat of Awake is again reminiscent of Refns Drive. On the instrumental V11393, Nicolas and Kay invite you for a dance, even though it seems like you’re at the Factory in Manchester in 1982. But it’s for three minutes only, as then it's time for another melancholic sledgehammer: Unknown. And why do all great contemporary bands want to have a song that sounds like Cold by The Cure? We do not know, but we like it.

Of course, one of the best albums of the year must be closed with one of the most beautiful song of the year: Second Encounter.

The KVB is certainly not the only band that digs in the 80s, but it belongs to the best. Of Desire is brilliant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sommige muzieksnobs vinden het misschien jammer, maar stilletjes aan is de muziek van The KVB niet meer het gemeengoed van de elite. De band wordt alsmaar bekender en doordat het tweede album Of Desire op Invada Records verscheen (het label van Geoff Barrow van Portishead) zal de populariteit er alleen maar door toenemen. Geen nood echter, want de plaat die door Spacemen 3-opperhoofd Sonic Boom werd geproduceerd en gemasterd, klinkt professioneler dan de vorige, waarbij het angstaanjagende, ijskoude post-punkgeluid van weleer wordt behouden.

Opener White Walls maakt meteen duidelijk waarom Nicolas Wood en Kat Day zo met Nicolas Winding Refn dwepen, je ontdekt er immers dezelfde sfeer in: een eentonige (wondermooie) drumcomputer en een golf van elektronische synths die je achtervolgen. Maar dat is pas het begin, Night Games is heerlijke minimal pop die de liefhebbers van eigentijdse wave zal aanspreken.

De dreunende drummachines op Lower Depths navigeren The KVB meteen in de richting van Krautrock, denk hoe Lebanon Hanover zou klinken mocht het ooit iets doen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave hoor je voor de allereerste keer echt de invloed van Sonic Boom: ritmisch, maar de synths klinken zo onheilspellend dat je het er bijna benauwd van krijgt.

Never Enough vormt een mooi bewijs dat je anno 2016 nog steeds de namen van The KVB en The Soft Moon in één zin kan uitspreken. De single In Deep is waarschijnlijk de track die het meest aanleunt bij shoegaze, terwijl de monotone New Order-beat van Awake alweer herinneringen oproept aan Refns Drive. Op het instrumentale V11393 nodigen Nicolas en Kay je uit voor een dansje, ook al lijkt het alsof je dat in de Factory in Manchester in 1982 doet. Niet dat het plezier zo lang duurt, want na drie minuten is het alweer tijd voor een andere melancholische mokerslag: Unknown. En waarom willen alle goede groepen van tegenwoordig toch een song hebben die klinkt als Cold van The Cure? We weten het niet, erg vinden we het in ieder geval niet.

Een van de beste platen van het jaar (ja, we zeggen het nu al) moet natuurlijk worden afgesloten met het (wellicht) mooiste lied van het jaar: Second Encounter. The KVB is zeker niet de enige band die in de jaren 80 graait, wel één van de beste. Of Desire is briljant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE KVB
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall