tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Of Desire

THE KVB

Of Desire

MusicCD
IndieMinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[94/100]   

Invada Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some music snobs may regret it, but The KVB is no longer the common property of the elite. The band is more known thse days, and the fact that the second album Of Desire is released on Invada Records (the label of Geoff Barrow of Portishead) will increase that popularity. No problem, because the CD, produced and mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3-fame, sounds more professional, while the eerie, icy post-punk sound of The KVB is preserved.

Opener White Walls reveals why Nicolas Wood and Kat Day love Nicolas Winding Refn as you experience the same atmosphere that is typical for his movies: a monotonous (but wonderful) drum machine and a wave of electronic synths that haunt you. But this is just the beginning, Night Games is lovely minimal pop that will be loved by enthusiasts of contemporary new wave.

The thumping drum machines of Lower Depths navigate The KVB towards Krautrock, think of how Lebanon Hanover would sound as if it ever records anything of The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave we hear the influence of Sonic Boom for the first time: rhythmic, but the synths sound so ominous that you feel afraid.

Never Enough proofs that you still can pronounce The KVB and The Soft Moon in one sentence. The single In Deep is probably the track that sounds most as shoegaze, while the monotonous New Order-beat of Awake is again reminiscent of Refns Drive. On the instrumental V11393, Nicolas and Kay invite you for a dance, even though it seems like you’re at the Factory in Manchester in 1982. But it’s for three minutes only, as then it's time for another melancholic sledgehammer: Unknown. And why do all great contemporary bands want to have a song that sounds like Cold by The Cure? We do not know, but we like it.

Of course, one of the best albums of the year must be closed with one of the most beautiful song of the year: Second Encounter.

The KVB is certainly not the only band that digs in the 80s, but it belongs to the best. Of Desire is brilliant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sommige muzieksnobs vinden het misschien jammer, maar stilletjes aan is de muziek van The KVB niet meer het gemeengoed van de elite. De band wordt alsmaar bekender en doordat het tweede album Of Desire op Invada Records verscheen (het label van Geoff Barrow van Portishead) zal de populariteit er alleen maar door toenemen. Geen nood echter, want de plaat die door Spacemen 3-opperhoofd Sonic Boom werd geproduceerd en gemasterd, klinkt professioneler dan de vorige, waarbij het angstaanjagende, ijskoude post-punkgeluid van weleer wordt behouden.

Opener White Walls maakt meteen duidelijk waarom Nicolas Wood en Kat Day zo met Nicolas Winding Refn dwepen, je ontdekt er immers dezelfde sfeer in: een eentonige (wondermooie) drumcomputer en een golf van elektronische synths die je achtervolgen. Maar dat is pas het begin, Night Games is heerlijke minimal pop die de liefhebbers van eigentijdse wave zal aanspreken.

De dreunende drummachines op Lower Depths navigeren The KVB meteen in de richting van Krautrock, denk hoe Lebanon Hanover zou klinken mocht het ooit iets doen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave hoor je voor de allereerste keer echt de invloed van Sonic Boom: ritmisch, maar de synths klinken zo onheilspellend dat je het er bijna benauwd van krijgt.

Never Enough vormt een mooi bewijs dat je anno 2016 nog steeds de namen van The KVB en The Soft Moon in één zin kan uitspreken. De single In Deep is waarschijnlijk de track die het meest aanleunt bij shoegaze, terwijl de monotone New Order-beat van Awake alweer herinneringen oproept aan Refns Drive. Op het instrumentale V11393 nodigen Nicolas en Kay je uit voor een dansje, ook al lijkt het alsof je dat in de Factory in Manchester in 1982 doet. Niet dat het plezier zo lang duurt, want na drie minuten is het alweer tijd voor een andere melancholische mokerslag: Unknown. En waarom willen alle goede groepen van tegenwoordig toch een song hebben die klinkt als Cold van The Cure? We weten het niet, erg vinden we het in ieder geval niet.

Een van de beste platen van het jaar (ja, we zeggen het nu al) moet natuurlijk worden afgesloten met het (wellicht) mooiste lied van het jaar: Second Encounter. The KVB is zeker niet de enige band die in de jaren 80 graait, wel één van de beste. Of Desire is briljant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE KVB
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane