tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Of Desire

THE KVB

Of Desire

MusicCD
IndieMinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[94/100]   

Invada Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some music snobs may regret it, but The KVB is no longer the common property of the elite. The band is more known thse days, and the fact that the second album Of Desire is released on Invada Records (the label of Geoff Barrow of Portishead) will increase that popularity. No problem, because the CD, produced and mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3-fame, sounds more professional, while the eerie, icy post-punk sound of The KVB is preserved.

Opener White Walls reveals why Nicolas Wood and Kat Day love Nicolas Winding Refn as you experience the same atmosphere that is typical for his movies: a monotonous (but wonderful) drum machine and a wave of electronic synths that haunt you. But this is just the beginning, Night Games is lovely minimal pop that will be loved by enthusiasts of contemporary new wave.

The thumping drum machines of Lower Depths navigate The KVB towards Krautrock, think of how Lebanon Hanover would sound as if it ever records anything of The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave we hear the influence of Sonic Boom for the first time: rhythmic, but the synths sound so ominous that you feel afraid.

Never Enough proofs that you still can pronounce The KVB and The Soft Moon in one sentence. The single In Deep is probably the track that sounds most as shoegaze, while the monotonous New Order-beat of Awake is again reminiscent of Refns Drive. On the instrumental V11393, Nicolas and Kay invite you for a dance, even though it seems like you’re at the Factory in Manchester in 1982. But it’s for three minutes only, as then it's time for another melancholic sledgehammer: Unknown. And why do all great contemporary bands want to have a song that sounds like Cold by The Cure? We do not know, but we like it.

Of course, one of the best albums of the year must be closed with one of the most beautiful song of the year: Second Encounter.

The KVB is certainly not the only band that digs in the 80s, but it belongs to the best. Of Desire is brilliant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sommige muzieksnobs vinden het misschien jammer, maar stilletjes aan is de muziek van The KVB niet meer het gemeengoed van de elite. De band wordt alsmaar bekender en doordat het tweede album Of Desire op Invada Records verscheen (het label van Geoff Barrow van Portishead) zal de populariteit er alleen maar door toenemen. Geen nood echter, want de plaat die door Spacemen 3-opperhoofd Sonic Boom werd geproduceerd en gemasterd, klinkt professioneler dan de vorige, waarbij het angstaanjagende, ijskoude post-punkgeluid van weleer wordt behouden.

Opener White Walls maakt meteen duidelijk waarom Nicolas Wood en Kat Day zo met Nicolas Winding Refn dwepen, je ontdekt er immers dezelfde sfeer in: een eentonige (wondermooie) drumcomputer en een golf van elektronische synths die je achtervolgen. Maar dat is pas het begin, Night Games is heerlijke minimal pop die de liefhebbers van eigentijdse wave zal aanspreken.

De dreunende drummachines op Lower Depths navigeren The KVB meteen in de richting van Krautrock, denk hoe Lebanon Hanover zou klinken mocht het ooit iets doen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave hoor je voor de allereerste keer echt de invloed van Sonic Boom: ritmisch, maar de synths klinken zo onheilspellend dat je het er bijna benauwd van krijgt.

Never Enough vormt een mooi bewijs dat je anno 2016 nog steeds de namen van The KVB en The Soft Moon in één zin kan uitspreken. De single In Deep is waarschijnlijk de track die het meest aanleunt bij shoegaze, terwijl de monotone New Order-beat van Awake alweer herinneringen oproept aan Refns Drive. Op het instrumentale V11393 nodigen Nicolas en Kay je uit voor een dansje, ook al lijkt het alsof je dat in de Factory in Manchester in 1982 doet. Niet dat het plezier zo lang duurt, want na drie minuten is het alweer tijd voor een andere melancholische mokerslag: Unknown. En waarom willen alle goede groepen van tegenwoordig toch een song hebben die klinkt als Cold van The Cure? We weten het niet, erg vinden we het in ieder geval niet.

Een van de beste platen van het jaar (ja, we zeggen het nu al) moet natuurlijk worden afgesloten met het (wellicht) mooiste lied van het jaar: Second Encounter. The KVB is zeker niet de enige band die in de jaren 80 graait, wel één van de beste. Of Desire is briljant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE KVB
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno