tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Of Desire

THE KVB

Of Desire

MusicCD
IndieMinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[94/100]   

Invada Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some music snobs may regret it, but The KVB is no longer the common property of the elite. The band is more known thse days, and the fact that the second album Of Desire is released on Invada Records (the label of Geoff Barrow of Portishead) will increase that popularity. No problem, because the CD, produced and mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3-fame, sounds more professional, while the eerie, icy post-punk sound of The KVB is preserved.

Opener White Walls reveals why Nicolas Wood and Kat Day love Nicolas Winding Refn as you experience the same atmosphere that is typical for his movies: a monotonous (but wonderful) drum machine and a wave of electronic synths that haunt you. But this is just the beginning, Night Games is lovely minimal pop that will be loved by enthusiasts of contemporary new wave.

The thumping drum machines of Lower Depths navigate The KVB towards Krautrock, think of how Lebanon Hanover would sound as if it ever records anything of The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave we hear the influence of Sonic Boom for the first time: rhythmic, but the synths sound so ominous that you feel afraid.

Never Enough proofs that you still can pronounce The KVB and The Soft Moon in one sentence. The single In Deep is probably the track that sounds most as shoegaze, while the monotonous New Order-beat of Awake is again reminiscent of Refns Drive. On the instrumental V11393, Nicolas and Kay invite you for a dance, even though it seems like you’re at the Factory in Manchester in 1982. But it’s for three minutes only, as then it's time for another melancholic sledgehammer: Unknown. And why do all great contemporary bands want to have a song that sounds like Cold by The Cure? We do not know, but we like it.

Of course, one of the best albums of the year must be closed with one of the most beautiful song of the year: Second Encounter.

The KVB is certainly not the only band that digs in the 80s, but it belongs to the best. Of Desire is brilliant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sommige muzieksnobs vinden het misschien jammer, maar stilletjes aan is de muziek van The KVB niet meer het gemeengoed van de elite. De band wordt alsmaar bekender en doordat het tweede album Of Desire op Invada Records verscheen (het label van Geoff Barrow van Portishead) zal de populariteit er alleen maar door toenemen. Geen nood echter, want de plaat die door Spacemen 3-opperhoofd Sonic Boom werd geproduceerd en gemasterd, klinkt professioneler dan de vorige, waarbij het angstaanjagende, ijskoude post-punkgeluid van weleer wordt behouden.

Opener White Walls maakt meteen duidelijk waarom Nicolas Wood en Kat Day zo met Nicolas Winding Refn dwepen, je ontdekt er immers dezelfde sfeer in: een eentonige (wondermooie) drumcomputer en een golf van elektronische synths die je achtervolgen. Maar dat is pas het begin, Night Games is heerlijke minimal pop die de liefhebbers van eigentijdse wave zal aanspreken.

De dreunende drummachines op Lower Depths navigeren The KVB meteen in de richting van Krautrock, denk hoe Lebanon Hanover zou klinken mocht het ooit iets doen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave hoor je voor de allereerste keer echt de invloed van Sonic Boom: ritmisch, maar de synths klinken zo onheilspellend dat je het er bijna benauwd van krijgt.

Never Enough vormt een mooi bewijs dat je anno 2016 nog steeds de namen van The KVB en The Soft Moon in één zin kan uitspreken. De single In Deep is waarschijnlijk de track die het meest aanleunt bij shoegaze, terwijl de monotone New Order-beat van Awake alweer herinneringen oproept aan Refns Drive. Op het instrumentale V11393 nodigen Nicolas en Kay je uit voor een dansje, ook al lijkt het alsof je dat in de Factory in Manchester in 1982 doet. Niet dat het plezier zo lang duurt, want na drie minuten is het alweer tijd voor een andere melancholische mokerslag: Unknown. En waarom willen alle goede groepen van tegenwoordig toch een song hebben die klinkt als Cold van The Cure? We weten het niet, erg vinden we het in ieder geval niet.

Een van de beste platen van het jaar (ja, we zeggen het nu al) moet natuurlijk worden afgesloten met het (wellicht) mooiste lied van het jaar: Second Encounter. The KVB is zeker niet de enige band die in de jaren 80 graait, wel één van de beste. Of Desire is briljant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE KVB
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection