tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE KVB - Of Desire

THE KVB

Of Desire

MusicCD
IndieMinimalPost PunkShoegaze

[94/100]   

Invada Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Some music snobs may regret it, but The KVB is no longer the common property of the elite. The band is more known thse days, and the fact that the second album Of Desire is released on Invada Records (the label of Geoff Barrow of Portishead) will increase that popularity. No problem, because the CD, produced and mastered by Sonic Boom of Spacemen 3-fame, sounds more professional, while the eerie, icy post-punk sound of The KVB is preserved.

Opener White Walls reveals why Nicolas Wood and Kat Day love Nicolas Winding Refn as you experience the same atmosphere that is typical for his movies: a monotonous (but wonderful) drum machine and a wave of electronic synths that haunt you. But this is just the beginning, Night Games is lovely minimal pop that will be loved by enthusiasts of contemporary new wave.

The thumping drum machines of Lower Depths navigate The KVB towards Krautrock, think of how Lebanon Hanover would sound as if it ever records anything of The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave we hear the influence of Sonic Boom for the first time: rhythmic, but the synths sound so ominous that you feel afraid.

Never Enough proofs that you still can pronounce The KVB and The Soft Moon in one sentence. The single In Deep is probably the track that sounds most as shoegaze, while the monotonous New Order-beat of Awake is again reminiscent of Refns Drive. On the instrumental V11393, Nicolas and Kay invite you for a dance, even though it seems like you’re at the Factory in Manchester in 1982. But it’s for three minutes only, as then it's time for another melancholic sledgehammer: Unknown. And why do all great contemporary bands want to have a song that sounds like Cold by The Cure? We do not know, but we like it.

Of course, one of the best albums of the year must be closed with one of the most beautiful song of the year: Second Encounter.

The KVB is certainly not the only band that digs in the 80s, but it belongs to the best. Of Desire is brilliant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Sommige muzieksnobs vinden het misschien jammer, maar stilletjes aan is de muziek van The KVB niet meer het gemeengoed van de elite. De band wordt alsmaar bekender en doordat het tweede album Of Desire op Invada Records verscheen (het label van Geoff Barrow van Portishead) zal de populariteit er alleen maar door toenemen. Geen nood echter, want de plaat die door Spacemen 3-opperhoofd Sonic Boom werd geproduceerd en gemasterd, klinkt professioneler dan de vorige, waarbij het angstaanjagende, ijskoude post-punkgeluid van weleer wordt behouden.

Opener White Walls maakt meteen duidelijk waarom Nicolas Wood en Kat Day zo met Nicolas Winding Refn dwepen, je ontdekt er immers dezelfde sfeer in: een eentonige (wondermooie) drumcomputer en een golf van elektronische synths die je achtervolgen. Maar dat is pas het begin, Night Games is heerlijke minimal pop die de liefhebbers van eigentijdse wave zal aanspreken.

De dreunende drummachines op Lower Depths navigeren The KVB meteen in de richting van Krautrock, denk hoe Lebanon Hanover zou klinken mocht het ooit iets doen van The Jesus & Mary Chain. In Silent Wave hoor je voor de allereerste keer echt de invloed van Sonic Boom: ritmisch, maar de synths klinken zo onheilspellend dat je het er bijna benauwd van krijgt.

Never Enough vormt een mooi bewijs dat je anno 2016 nog steeds de namen van The KVB en The Soft Moon in één zin kan uitspreken. De single In Deep is waarschijnlijk de track die het meest aanleunt bij shoegaze, terwijl de monotone New Order-beat van Awake alweer herinneringen oproept aan Refns Drive. Op het instrumentale V11393 nodigen Nicolas en Kay je uit voor een dansje, ook al lijkt het alsof je dat in de Factory in Manchester in 1982 doet. Niet dat het plezier zo lang duurt, want na drie minuten is het alweer tijd voor een andere melancholische mokerslag: Unknown. En waarom willen alle goede groepen van tegenwoordig toch een song hebben die klinkt als Cold van The Cure? We weten het niet, erg vinden we het in ieder geval niet.

Een van de beste platen van het jaar (ja, we zeggen het nu al) moet natuurlijk worden afgesloten met het (wellicht) mooiste lied van het jaar: Second Encounter. The KVB is zeker niet de enige band die in de jaren 80 graait, wel één van de beste. Of Desire is briljant!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SO PITTED • Neo
DMX KREW • You Exist
ISBELLS • Mechelen, Stadsschouwburg (17/03/16)
MYSTIGMA • Schattenboten
B BOYS • No Worry No Mind EP
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
HEKATE • Black Easter 2016
MILA MAR • Black Easter 2016
LEBANON HANOVER • Black Easter 2016
SHE PAST AWAY • Black Easter 2016

 

Other reviews from THE KVB
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete