tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/12/2011 : THE LAST CRY - Walking To The Edge

THE LAST CRY

Walking To The Edge

MusicCD
GothicNew waveRock

[80/100]   

Echozone
08/12/2011, Chris KONINGS

Echozone is not only about new bands, they are also a platform for classic bands, think of The Arch, Ikon, No Comment, Vendemmian and White Rose Transmission. Another British (Brighton) gothic rock band to return back to the living is The Last Cry. This trio had thus far only had output through their own label so they were unknown to me. Founded in the mid 80's, they released two 12" singles (Going Away, Downpour) that have become quite collectable. In the early 90's they called it quits but since a few years they are back with this new album. Once again it was first released on their own label, but now they have been picked up by Echozone.

That's a good thing, because this is a great record, touching a few styles but still retaining their own distinct sound. Some songs remind me a lot of gothrock bands like The Mission (Devastate, Punishment, Seconds, Prison Of Dreams), while others could come straight out of the "Faith" period of The Cure (Cross Of Hope, Out Of The Sky). Out Of The Sky is an epic song of more than seven minutes, able to compete with the better songs of The Cure or The Sound. The keyboards remind me a lot of that last band.

Sometimes they think outside the box. Cry is a very energetic song that has some industrial metal influences. Rebekka is more acoustic, a melancholic ballad with some great melodies attached. All those different sounds work very well, the album flows fittingly from sober, sensitive or haunting songs to pure powerhorses full of rage and hate. In this world of Cure/Joy Division clones like Interpol, White Lies and other Editors it's good to see that other bands also get a chance to step forward.

I can only see one reason why they never became bigger: it's the lack of real "hit" material. It's a great album full of good songs, but that one major highlight is missing. It's like Manchester United in their pre-Cantona days, once they find him their train will start gaining real speed...

Chris KONINGS
08/12/2011


 

Next reviews
LINGOUF • Doéme
CHARLES DE GOAL • Crimson Muddle | Organic | LeFantastique.Night | T.A.G., Brussels (BE) | 3rd of December 2011
DEXY CORP_ • Uchronopolis
DIARY OF DREAMS • Breath Of Life | Zappa, Antwerp (BE) | 4th of December 2011
PYROLATOR • Neuland
MINUSHEART • The Big Idea
ROBERT SCHRÖDER • Esthéthique
ARZT+PFUSCH • Lictor Evaporated
ROEDELIUS SCHNEIDER • Stunden
IC 434 • Anhedonia

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC + NEW WAVE + ROCK
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf