tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

26/08/2015 : THE LILAC TIME - Prussian Blue EP

THE LILAC TIME

Prussian Blue EP

MusicCD (EP)
Indie

[90/100]   

Tapete Records
26/08/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Following on from the band's recent, and somewhat triumphant, album No Sad Songs comes this four-track souvenir of their first live show in years, a slot at this year's Port Isaac Festival. Maybe playing a first live show in seven years in your home-county isn't exactly a great leap forward in rock and roll terms but to fans of the band, it's a notable toe in the ocean - Stephen Duffy and The Lilac Time are back and more live shows may, or may not, follow.

The EP consists of three live songs plus a newly-mixed version of album song Prussian Blue, one of the aforementioned opus's most resplendent and reflective pieces, bolstered here by female harmonies, a crisper flourish of percussive tambourines and a more concise edit all round. It's highly likely that radio will ignore it - more fool them, I say. Drinking a tall one and watching the sunset never made so much sense until Prussian Blue soundtracked the phenomenon.

From the vaults come three pin-sharp live renditions of three album favourites, recorded with all Duffys present as well as Lilac heavyweights Micky Harris and Michael Giri. Of the trio, The Lost Girl in the Midnight Sun is perhaps the most rousing, a sort of pastoral skiffle offering up something of a respectable knees-up, while the rather more sombre but no less inviting pairing of The Road to Happiness and A Day in the Night fill the EP with resonance and reverie.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
26/08/2015


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete