tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

THE LONG ESCAPE

Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

Concert
16/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, the second album (The Warning Signal) of the Parisian band The Long Escape was released. Prog metal that sounds very professional and tight, but feels a bit sterile. I was curious how it would sound on stage. The Long Escape played for the first time abroad. More specifically, at the B52, the Belgian venue that offers underground bands a chance to perform their material.

But first: If I May. This young band from Herzele (Belgium) just released a first EP House of Wolves. The five songs were played, as well as two others. During opener Intermission, the vocals weren’t convincing enough. But during Life, the band was in good form and it all sounded much better. Life is a fairly melodic song with some hardcore riffs. Free For All begins with a wistful guitar part and builds up to a climax. Forever in the Dark has a progressive touch and sounds a bit like Bring Me The Horizon and Architects. The vocals of Linz De Strooper fit well with this music. There was some time left to congratulate the guitarist with his birthday. Misery, Our Royals and The Runaway ended the gig. If I May is a band with potential. There are some flaws, but if you know that this is just their fourth gig, then it was fine. 

Dawnbreath of Liege plays thrash metal, so don’t expect any melancholy or sadness here. A very solid rhythm section accompanies the guitars and the vocals. The single Legions of Caym and Sons of the Black Death was played and is available through the Facebook page. The guitars need to be refined, but the bass and the drums simply sounded fantastic.

The Long Escape opened strongly with Digital Misery, followed by Seas Of Wasted Man, both taken from the latest album. The perfect interplay between bass and drums stands out. Then I'm Your Saviour from the debut Triptych with beautiful vocals. World Going Down, Million Screens and Homo Weirdiculus are again songs from The Warning Signal. Solid guitar work that nicely supports the songs. Even if I thought that they sounded somewhat sterile on CD, I must admit that they are quite impressive on stage. The Parisians ended with an old song: Low Class Citizen. A short and powerful set that showed where The Long Escape stands for, and a very fine first concert outside the French borders.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2016


NL

Vorig jaar kwam het tweede album van de Parijse band The Long Escape uit:The Warning Signal. Progmetal dat heel professioneel en strak klinkt, maar naar mijn gevoel een beetje steriel. Ik was dan ook benieuwd hoe het materiaal live zou klinken. Deze week stond het gezelschap voor het eerste buiten de landsgrenzen op een podium, meer bepaald in de B52, een zaal die met plezier een kans biedt aan undergroundbands.

Eerst was er If I May. Deze jonge band uit Herzele heeft net een eerste ep uit: House of Wolves. De vijf nummers kwamen aan bod én nog twee andere songs. Opener Intermission startte wat aarzelend. De zang kwam niet meteen goed uit de verf, maar met Life kwam de band goed op dreef en klonk het al stukken beter. Life is een vrij melodieuze song met wat hardcoreriffs. Free For All begint met een weemoedige gitaarpartij en bouwt op naar een climax. Ook Forever in the Dark heeft een progressief kantje en klinkt een beetje zoals Bring Me The Horizon of Architects. De stem van Linz De Strooper past goed bij deze muziek. Er was tijd om even de jarige gitarist te feliciteren. Misery, Our Royals en The Runaway sloten het optreden af. Een band met potentieel. Hier en daar zijn er wel nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes (bijv. sommige overgangen), maar als je weet dat dit nog maar hun vierde optreden is, dan was het toch dik in orde.

Dawnbreath uit Luik tapt met zijn trashmetal uit een ander vaatje. Van melancholie en weemoed is geen sprake. Een heel stevige ritmesectie begeleidde de gitaren en de vocals. De single Legions of Caym en Sons of the Black Death kwamen aan bod en zijn trouwens via de Facebookpagina verkrijgbaar. De gitaren kwamen niet altijd voldoende tot hun recht, maar de bas en de drums klonken gewoonweg fantastisch. Een gespierd en geapprecieerd optreden.

The Long Escape opende stevig na een tape-intro met Digital Misery, gevold door Seas Of Wasted Man, allebei uit het laatste album. Het perfecte samenspel tussen bas en drums viel op. Daarna kwam I’m Your Saviour uit het debuut Triptych. Prachtige zang. World Going Down, Million Screens en Homo Weirdiculus waren songs uit The Warning Signal. Stevig gitaarwerk dat niet de hoofdrol opeist, maar dat de songs mooi ondersteunt. Vond ik dat ze op cd ietwat steriel klinken, dan moet ik zeggen dat ze live best wel indrukwekkend zijn. Er werd afgesloten met een oude song: Low Class Citizen. Een korte en krachtige set die toonde waar The Long Escape voor staat. Prima afsluiter en een puik eerste concert over de Franse landsgrenzen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2016


16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016) 16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted