tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

THE LONG ESCAPE

Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

Concert
16/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last year, the second album (The Warning Signal) of the Parisian band The Long Escape was released. Prog metal that sounds very professional and tight, but feels a bit sterile. I was curious how it would sound on stage. The Long Escape played for the first time abroad. More specifically, at the B52, the Belgian venue that offers underground bands a chance to perform their material.

But first: If I May. This young band from Herzele (Belgium) just released a first EP House of Wolves. The five songs were played, as well as two others. During opener Intermission, the vocals weren’t convincing enough. But during Life, the band was in good form and it all sounded much better. Life is a fairly melodic song with some hardcore riffs. Free For All begins with a wistful guitar part and builds up to a climax. Forever in the Dark has a progressive touch and sounds a bit like Bring Me The Horizon and Architects. The vocals of Linz De Strooper fit well with this music. There was some time left to congratulate the guitarist with his birthday. Misery, Our Royals and The Runaway ended the gig. If I May is a band with potential. There are some flaws, but if you know that this is just their fourth gig, then it was fine. 

Dawnbreath of Liege plays thrash metal, so don’t expect any melancholy or sadness here. A very solid rhythm section accompanies the guitars and the vocals. The single Legions of Caym and Sons of the Black Death was played and is available through the Facebook page. The guitars need to be refined, but the bass and the drums simply sounded fantastic.

The Long Escape opened strongly with Digital Misery, followed by Seas Of Wasted Man, both taken from the latest album. The perfect interplay between bass and drums stands out. Then I'm Your Saviour from the debut Triptych with beautiful vocals. World Going Down, Million Screens and Homo Weirdiculus are again songs from The Warning Signal. Solid guitar work that nicely supports the songs. Even if I thought that they sounded somewhat sterile on CD, I must admit that they are quite impressive on stage. The Parisians ended with an old song: Low Class Citizen. A short and powerful set that showed where The Long Escape stands for, and a very fine first concert outside the French borders.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2016


NL

Vorig jaar kwam het tweede album van de Parijse band The Long Escape uit:The Warning Signal. Progmetal dat heel professioneel en strak klinkt, maar naar mijn gevoel een beetje steriel. Ik was dan ook benieuwd hoe het materiaal live zou klinken. Deze week stond het gezelschap voor het eerste buiten de landsgrenzen op een podium, meer bepaald in de B52, een zaal die met plezier een kans biedt aan undergroundbands.

Eerst was er If I May. Deze jonge band uit Herzele heeft net een eerste ep uit: House of Wolves. De vijf nummers kwamen aan bod én nog twee andere songs. Opener Intermission startte wat aarzelend. De zang kwam niet meteen goed uit de verf, maar met Life kwam de band goed op dreef en klonk het al stukken beter. Life is een vrij melodieuze song met wat hardcoreriffs. Free For All begint met een weemoedige gitaarpartij en bouwt op naar een climax. Ook Forever in the Dark heeft een progressief kantje en klinkt een beetje zoals Bring Me The Horizon of Architects. De stem van Linz De Strooper past goed bij deze muziek. Er was tijd om even de jarige gitarist te feliciteren. Misery, Our Royals en The Runaway sloten het optreden af. Een band met potentieel. Hier en daar zijn er wel nog wat schoonheidsfoutjes (bijv. sommige overgangen), maar als je weet dat dit nog maar hun vierde optreden is, dan was het toch dik in orde.

Dawnbreath uit Luik tapt met zijn trashmetal uit een ander vaatje. Van melancholie en weemoed is geen sprake. Een heel stevige ritmesectie begeleidde de gitaren en de vocals. De single Legions of Caym en Sons of the Black Death kwamen aan bod en zijn trouwens via de Facebookpagina verkrijgbaar. De gitaren kwamen niet altijd voldoende tot hun recht, maar de bas en de drums klonken gewoonweg fantastisch. Een gespierd en geapprecieerd optreden.

The Long Escape opende stevig na een tape-intro met Digital Misery, gevold door Seas Of Wasted Man, allebei uit het laatste album. Het perfecte samenspel tussen bas en drums viel op. Daarna kwam I’m Your Saviour uit het debuut Triptych. Prachtige zang. World Going Down, Million Screens en Homo Weirdiculus waren songs uit The Warning Signal. Stevig gitaarwerk dat niet de hoofdrol opeist, maar dat de songs mooi ondersteunt. Vond ik dat ze op cd ietwat steriel klinken, dan moet ik zeggen dat ze live best wel indrukwekkend zijn. Er werd afgesloten met een oude song: Low Class Citizen. Een korte en krachtige set die toonde waar The Long Escape voor staat. Prima afsluiter en een puik eerste concert over de Franse landsgrenzen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/02/2016


16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016) 16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016) 16/02/2016 : THE LONG ESCAPE - Eernegem, B52 (12/02/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway