tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES - Tomorrow Is Never

THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES

Tomorrow Is Never

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesShoegaze

[86/100]   

Self-released
02/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those people who are constantly whining about the sad fact that you can’t find releases in the style of Cocteau Twins or Faith & The Muse these days? You know, the kind of music that once was labelled as "4AD music", and later got the (better) term ethereal dreampop. Never mind, as the remedy comes from New York. There are only nine songs on the debut album of The Lovely Intangibles, but they are all wonderful and fantastic enough to be considered as a classic in the genre.

These musicians are part of other bands (the most known one is The Lost Patrol), but because the four were so satisfied with their shoegaze dreampop, they created The Lovely Intangibles.

We could compare every track of Tomorrow Is Never with a well known band. Sometimes you think of Lush, then you suppose the dark ethereal gothrockpop of Faith & The Muse might be a reference, and suddenly Slowdive flashes through your mind, but does it make sense to do so?

The ten compositions are made for you to lie on your bed and dream away on the divine voice of Mary Ognibene, the dreamy keyboards of Stephen Masucci, the masterful guitar sounds of Michael Williams and the effective percussion by Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is the beautiful proof that you still can fall in love with music today, songs that carry you away, dreams that rarely can be experienced!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


NL

Ben jij ook zo één van die mensen die maar blijven jammeren over het trieste feit dat er tegenwoordig geen releases meer in de stijl van Cocteau Twins of Faith & The Muse verschijnen? Je weet wel, het soort plaatjes dat we ooit als “4AD-muziek” omschreven, en later de betere noemer ethereal dreampop kreeg. Niet getreurd, want de remedie komt uit New York. Er staan maar negen nummers op het debuutalbum van The Lovely Intangibles, maar ze zijn allemaal wondermooi en fantastisch genoeg om als een klassieker in het genre te worden beschouwd.

Het zijn muzikanten die in verschillende bands hun ding doen (de voornaamste groep is The Lost Patrol), maar omdat de vier zo tevreden waren over hun shoegaze dreampop, werd The Lovely Intangibles geboren.

We zouden bij ieder nummer uit Tomorrow is Never wel een vergelijking kunnen verzinnen. Soms denk je aan Lush, een andere keer is het dan weer de donkere ethereal gothrockpop van Faith & The Muse, dan flitst de naam van Slowdive door je hoofd, maar heeft het allemaal wel zin om dat te doen?

Het zijn tien composities die gemaakt zijn om languit op je bed te liggen en weg te dromen bij de goddelijke stem van Mary Ognibene, de zweverige keyboards van Stephen Masucci, de magistrale gitaarklanken van Michael Williams en de ingetogen, maar effectieve percussie van Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is het mooie bewijs dat je vandaag nog steeds verliefd kan worden op muziek, nummers die je meevoeren naar dromen die je maar zelden kan beleven!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)