tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES - Tomorrow Is Never

THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES

Tomorrow Is Never

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesShoegaze

[86/100]   

Self-released
02/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those people who are constantly whining about the sad fact that you can’t find releases in the style of Cocteau Twins or Faith & The Muse these days? You know, the kind of music that once was labelled as "4AD music", and later got the (better) term ethereal dreampop. Never mind, as the remedy comes from New York. There are only nine songs on the debut album of The Lovely Intangibles, but they are all wonderful and fantastic enough to be considered as a classic in the genre.

These musicians are part of other bands (the most known one is The Lost Patrol), but because the four were so satisfied with their shoegaze dreampop, they created The Lovely Intangibles.

We could compare every track of Tomorrow Is Never with a well known band. Sometimes you think of Lush, then you suppose the dark ethereal gothrockpop of Faith & The Muse might be a reference, and suddenly Slowdive flashes through your mind, but does it make sense to do so?

The ten compositions are made for you to lie on your bed and dream away on the divine voice of Mary Ognibene, the dreamy keyboards of Stephen Masucci, the masterful guitar sounds of Michael Williams and the effective percussion by Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is the beautiful proof that you still can fall in love with music today, songs that carry you away, dreams that rarely can be experienced!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


NL

Ben jij ook zo één van die mensen die maar blijven jammeren over het trieste feit dat er tegenwoordig geen releases meer in de stijl van Cocteau Twins of Faith & The Muse verschijnen? Je weet wel, het soort plaatjes dat we ooit als “4AD-muziek” omschreven, en later de betere noemer ethereal dreampop kreeg. Niet getreurd, want de remedie komt uit New York. Er staan maar negen nummers op het debuutalbum van The Lovely Intangibles, maar ze zijn allemaal wondermooi en fantastisch genoeg om als een klassieker in het genre te worden beschouwd.

Het zijn muzikanten die in verschillende bands hun ding doen (de voornaamste groep is The Lost Patrol), maar omdat de vier zo tevreden waren over hun shoegaze dreampop, werd The Lovely Intangibles geboren.

We zouden bij ieder nummer uit Tomorrow is Never wel een vergelijking kunnen verzinnen. Soms denk je aan Lush, een andere keer is het dan weer de donkere ethereal gothrockpop van Faith & The Muse, dan flitst de naam van Slowdive door je hoofd, maar heeft het allemaal wel zin om dat te doen?

Het zijn tien composities die gemaakt zijn om languit op je bed te liggen en weg te dromen bij de goddelijke stem van Mary Ognibene, de zweverige keyboards van Stephen Masucci, de magistrale gitaarklanken van Michael Williams en de ingetogen, maar effectieve percussie van Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is het mooie bewijs dat je vandaag nog steeds verliefd kan worden op muziek, nummers die je meevoeren naar dromen die je maar zelden kan beleven!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline