tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES - Tomorrow Is Never

THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES

Tomorrow Is Never

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesShoegaze

[86/100]   

Self-released
02/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those people who are constantly whining about the sad fact that you can’t find releases in the style of Cocteau Twins or Faith & The Muse these days? You know, the kind of music that once was labelled as "4AD music", and later got the (better) term ethereal dreampop. Never mind, as the remedy comes from New York. There are only nine songs on the debut album of The Lovely Intangibles, but they are all wonderful and fantastic enough to be considered as a classic in the genre.

These musicians are part of other bands (the most known one is The Lost Patrol), but because the four were so satisfied with their shoegaze dreampop, they created The Lovely Intangibles.

We could compare every track of Tomorrow Is Never with a well known band. Sometimes you think of Lush, then you suppose the dark ethereal gothrockpop of Faith & The Muse might be a reference, and suddenly Slowdive flashes through your mind, but does it make sense to do so?

The ten compositions are made for you to lie on your bed and dream away on the divine voice of Mary Ognibene, the dreamy keyboards of Stephen Masucci, the masterful guitar sounds of Michael Williams and the effective percussion by Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is the beautiful proof that you still can fall in love with music today, songs that carry you away, dreams that rarely can be experienced!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


NL

Ben jij ook zo één van die mensen die maar blijven jammeren over het trieste feit dat er tegenwoordig geen releases meer in de stijl van Cocteau Twins of Faith & The Muse verschijnen? Je weet wel, het soort plaatjes dat we ooit als “4AD-muziek” omschreven, en later de betere noemer ethereal dreampop kreeg. Niet getreurd, want de remedie komt uit New York. Er staan maar negen nummers op het debuutalbum van The Lovely Intangibles, maar ze zijn allemaal wondermooi en fantastisch genoeg om als een klassieker in het genre te worden beschouwd.

Het zijn muzikanten die in verschillende bands hun ding doen (de voornaamste groep is The Lost Patrol), maar omdat de vier zo tevreden waren over hun shoegaze dreampop, werd The Lovely Intangibles geboren.

We zouden bij ieder nummer uit Tomorrow is Never wel een vergelijking kunnen verzinnen. Soms denk je aan Lush, een andere keer is het dan weer de donkere ethereal gothrockpop van Faith & The Muse, dan flitst de naam van Slowdive door je hoofd, maar heeft het allemaal wel zin om dat te doen?

Het zijn tien composities die gemaakt zijn om languit op je bed te liggen en weg te dromen bij de goddelijke stem van Mary Ognibene, de zweverige keyboards van Stephen Masucci, de magistrale gitaarklanken van Michael Williams en de ingetogen, maar effectieve percussie van Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is het mooie bewijs dat je vandaag nog steeds verliefd kan worden op muziek, nummers die je meevoeren naar dromen die je maar zelden kan beleven!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me