tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE LUCID DREAM - The Lucid Dream

THE LUCID DREAM

The Lucid Dream

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

Holy Are You Recordings
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Holy Are You Recordings presents The Lucid Dream from Carlisle. The 8-track disc contains lots of shoegaze and post-punk demons. The band is not bloodthirsty. Neither cuddly or bite-sized chunk. No, The Lucid Dream is something different!

What do we get then? Well, art with the big A. Mona Lisa has a great bass with some lingering shoegaze guitars as a partner. And they love each other. Justen listen how the pace gets higher. The drums take part and the instrumental grows into a great track.

Cold Killer is again a combination of post-punk and shoegaze. The vocals are in perfect harmony with the shrill guitars!

The Darkest Day-Head Music is a rather quiet song. The voice caresses the eardrums and the sound is intimate, drums and bass are a bit in the background. But only for a while because soon the devils return, even if this song never gets heavy.

In Moonstruck, the vocals are performed with vocoders, a song with a post-punk feel.

Perhaps some electronics? Unchained has a vague ska, reggae and dub sound. It is totally different from the previous tracks and it is more of a feel-good song. Even the harmonica participates. Unchained is more poppy and Beatlesquet. A lesser song for me, but what do I complain about?

People who like to wake up with a fresh Morning Breeze get what they want. No snooze function on the alarm clock, but you wake up with the radio. Just wait until the song develops into a sledgehammer. You will be awake indeed!

The final song You And I sounds a bit like an obligatory ballad. The image of closely intertwined couples on a dance floor floats through my head. Once they try to kiss, the song explodes with an overwhelming guitar sound. Then the romantic feel takes over again…

The Lucid Dream has something to tell and this record is the prove. Sublime tempo changes, beautifully constructed songs: from melodic to messy, but always with quality.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

In Engeland hebben wel meer groepen met ballen het levenslicht gezien. Holy Are You Recordings presenteert ons The Lucid Dream uit Carlisle. Met hun 8 nummers tellende schijf laten ze allerlei shoegaze- en postpunkdemonen op ons los. Bloeddorstig zijn ze niet. Aaibaar? Ook niet? Een hapklare brok dan? Neen, want dan doen we de prestaties van deze jongens oneer aan.

Wat krijgen we dan wel? Kunst met de grote k. Mona Lisa heeft een basgitaar die klinkt alsof ze er geen zin in heeft, en krijgt slepende shoegazegitaren als metgezel. En ze houden van elkaar. Luister gewoon hoe het tempo de hoogte in gaat, drums die ze bijtreden en zo deze instrumentale song geweldig laten groeien.

Cold Killer barst meteen los en is weer een combinatie van postpunk en shoegaze. De zang komt het schelle gitaarwerk vergezellen en het plaatje klopt!

Een stuk rustiger gaat het er in The Darkest Day-Head Music aan toeHet stemgeluid streelt het trommelvlies en de sound is intimistisch, drums en basgitaar schakelen een versnelling of drie lager. Halfweg breken de duivels opnieuw los, zonder dat het een harde song wordt.

De vocoders laten de vocalen weergalmen in Moonstruck, dat eerder naar postpunk neigt, hoewel het gitaarwerk de song op het einde een oplawaai verkoopt.

Elektronica kan er ook nog wel bij, toch? Unchained Dub heeft een vage ska-, reggae- en dubinslag. Totaal anders dan de voorgaande tracks en een feelgoodsong. Zelfs de mondharmonica komt meedoen. Unchained is meer poppy en heeft een Beatles-gehalte. Een mindere song, vind ik, maar waarover geklaagd?

Mensen die graag wakker worden met een frisse Morning Breeze krijgen wat ze willen. Geen snoozefunctie, maar meteen de radio op als de wekker afloopt. Net als je weer dreigt in te dommelen, krijg je een mokerslag van harde muziek. Ik ben wakker....

De afsluiter You And I heeft wat weg van een obligate ballade. Het beeld van innig in elkaar verstrengelde koppeltjes op een dansvloer doemt op. En op het moment dat menig verliefd koppeltje denkt rustig te kunnen kussen, ontploft ook deze song in overdonderend scheurend gitaargeweld, om dan terug te keren naar de romantische song die dit in se is...

De heren van The Lucid Dream hebben wat te vertellen en deze plaat bewijst dat. Sublieme tempowisselingen, mooi opgebouwde songs: van melodieus tot rommelig, maar het blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
THE CULT • Hidden City
RICARDO DONOSO • Sarava Exu Remixes
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
WENDY JAMES • The Price Of The Ticket
CAUSES • Under Bridges That You Built For Me
NEON SHUDDER • (viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology
RIKARD SJOBLOM • The Unbendable Sleep
SUFFER NO FOOLS • Songs For The Restless Youth

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient