tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE LUCID DREAM - The Lucid Dream

THE LUCID DREAM

The Lucid Dream

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

Holy Are You Recordings
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Holy Are You Recordings presents The Lucid Dream from Carlisle. The 8-track disc contains lots of shoegaze and post-punk demons. The band is not bloodthirsty. Neither cuddly or bite-sized chunk. No, The Lucid Dream is something different!

What do we get then? Well, art with the big A. Mona Lisa has a great bass with some lingering shoegaze guitars as a partner. And they love each other. Justen listen how the pace gets higher. The drums take part and the instrumental grows into a great track.

Cold Killer is again a combination of post-punk and shoegaze. The vocals are in perfect harmony with the shrill guitars!

The Darkest Day-Head Music is a rather quiet song. The voice caresses the eardrums and the sound is intimate, drums and bass are a bit in the background. But only for a while because soon the devils return, even if this song never gets heavy.

In Moonstruck, the vocals are performed with vocoders, a song with a post-punk feel.

Perhaps some electronics? Unchained has a vague ska, reggae and dub sound. It is totally different from the previous tracks and it is more of a feel-good song. Even the harmonica participates. Unchained is more poppy and Beatlesquet. A lesser song for me, but what do I complain about?

People who like to wake up with a fresh Morning Breeze get what they want. No snooze function on the alarm clock, but you wake up with the radio. Just wait until the song develops into a sledgehammer. You will be awake indeed!

The final song You And I sounds a bit like an obligatory ballad. The image of closely intertwined couples on a dance floor floats through my head. Once they try to kiss, the song explodes with an overwhelming guitar sound. Then the romantic feel takes over again…

The Lucid Dream has something to tell and this record is the prove. Sublime tempo changes, beautifully constructed songs: from melodic to messy, but always with quality.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

In Engeland hebben wel meer groepen met ballen het levenslicht gezien. Holy Are You Recordings presenteert ons The Lucid Dream uit Carlisle. Met hun 8 nummers tellende schijf laten ze allerlei shoegaze- en postpunkdemonen op ons los. Bloeddorstig zijn ze niet. Aaibaar? Ook niet? Een hapklare brok dan? Neen, want dan doen we de prestaties van deze jongens oneer aan.

Wat krijgen we dan wel? Kunst met de grote k. Mona Lisa heeft een basgitaar die klinkt alsof ze er geen zin in heeft, en krijgt slepende shoegazegitaren als metgezel. En ze houden van elkaar. Luister gewoon hoe het tempo de hoogte in gaat, drums die ze bijtreden en zo deze instrumentale song geweldig laten groeien.

Cold Killer barst meteen los en is weer een combinatie van postpunk en shoegaze. De zang komt het schelle gitaarwerk vergezellen en het plaatje klopt!

Een stuk rustiger gaat het er in The Darkest Day-Head Music aan toeHet stemgeluid streelt het trommelvlies en de sound is intimistisch, drums en basgitaar schakelen een versnelling of drie lager. Halfweg breken de duivels opnieuw los, zonder dat het een harde song wordt.

De vocoders laten de vocalen weergalmen in Moonstruck, dat eerder naar postpunk neigt, hoewel het gitaarwerk de song op het einde een oplawaai verkoopt.

Elektronica kan er ook nog wel bij, toch? Unchained Dub heeft een vage ska-, reggae- en dubinslag. Totaal anders dan de voorgaande tracks en een feelgoodsong. Zelfs de mondharmonica komt meedoen. Unchained is meer poppy en heeft een Beatles-gehalte. Een mindere song, vind ik, maar waarover geklaagd?

Mensen die graag wakker worden met een frisse Morning Breeze krijgen wat ze willen. Geen snoozefunctie, maar meteen de radio op als de wekker afloopt. Net als je weer dreigt in te dommelen, krijg je een mokerslag van harde muziek. Ik ben wakker....

De afsluiter You And I heeft wat weg van een obligate ballade. Het beeld van innig in elkaar verstrengelde koppeltjes op een dansvloer doemt op. En op het moment dat menig verliefd koppeltje denkt rustig te kunnen kussen, ontploft ook deze song in overdonderend scheurend gitaargeweld, om dan terug te keren naar de romantische song die dit in se is...

De heren van The Lucid Dream hebben wat te vertellen en deze plaat bewijst dat. Sublieme tempowisselingen, mooi opgebouwde songs: van melodieus tot rommelig, maar het blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
THE CULT • Hidden City
RICARDO DONOSO • Sarava Exu Remixes
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns
WENDY JAMES • The Price Of The Ticket
CAUSES • Under Bridges That You Built For Me
NEON SHUDDER • (viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology
RIKARD SJOBLOM • The Unbendable Sleep
SUFFER NO FOOLS • Songs For The Restless Youth

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten