tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE LUCID DREAM - The Lucid Dream

THE LUCID DREAM

The Lucid Dream

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

Holy Are You Recordings
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Holy Are You Recordings presents The Lucid Dream from Carlisle. The 8-track disc contains lots of shoegaze and post-punk demons. The band is not bloodthirsty. Neither cuddly or bite-sized chunk. No, The Lucid Dream is something different!

What do we get then? Well, art with the big A. Mona Lisa has a great bass with some lingering shoegaze guitars as a partner. And they love each other. Justen listen how the pace gets higher. The drums take part and the instrumental grows into a great track.

Cold Killer is again a combination of post-punk and shoegaze. The vocals are in perfect harmony with the shrill guitars!

The Darkest Day-Head Music is a rather quiet song. The voice caresses the eardrums and the sound is intimate, drums and bass are a bit in the background. But only for a while because soon the devils return, even if this song never gets heavy.

In Moonstruck, the vocals are performed with vocoders, a song with a post-punk feel.

Perhaps some electronics? Unchained has a vague ska, reggae and dub sound. It is totally different from the previous tracks and it is more of a feel-good song. Even the harmonica participates. Unchained is more poppy and Beatlesquet. A lesser song for me, but what do I complain about?

People who like to wake up with a fresh Morning Breeze get what they want. No snooze function on the alarm clock, but you wake up with the radio. Just wait until the song develops into a sledgehammer. You will be awake indeed!

The final song You And I sounds a bit like an obligatory ballad. The image of closely intertwined couples on a dance floor floats through my head. Once they try to kiss, the song explodes with an overwhelming guitar sound. Then the romantic feel takes over again…

The Lucid Dream has something to tell and this record is the prove. Sublime tempo changes, beautifully constructed songs: from melodic to messy, but always with quality.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

In Engeland hebben wel meer groepen met ballen het levenslicht gezien. Holy Are You Recordings presenteert ons The Lucid Dream uit Carlisle. Met hun 8 nummers tellende schijf laten ze allerlei shoegaze- en postpunkdemonen op ons los. Bloeddorstig zijn ze niet. Aaibaar? Ook niet? Een hapklare brok dan? Neen, want dan doen we de prestaties van deze jongens oneer aan.

Wat krijgen we dan wel? Kunst met de grote k. Mona Lisa heeft een basgitaar die klinkt alsof ze er geen zin in heeft, en krijgt slepende shoegazegitaren als metgezel. En ze houden van elkaar. Luister gewoon hoe het tempo de hoogte in gaat, drums die ze bijtreden en zo deze instrumentale song geweldig laten groeien.

Cold Killer barst meteen los en is weer een combinatie van postpunk en shoegaze. De zang komt het schelle gitaarwerk vergezellen en het plaatje klopt!

Een stuk rustiger gaat het er in The Darkest Day-Head Music aan toeHet stemgeluid streelt het trommelvlies en de sound is intimistisch, drums en basgitaar schakelen een versnelling of drie lager. Halfweg breken de duivels opnieuw los, zonder dat het een harde song wordt.

De vocoders laten de vocalen weergalmen in Moonstruck, dat eerder naar postpunk neigt, hoewel het gitaarwerk de song op het einde een oplawaai verkoopt.

Elektronica kan er ook nog wel bij, toch? Unchained Dub heeft een vage ska-, reggae- en dubinslag. Totaal anders dan de voorgaande tracks en een feelgoodsong. Zelfs de mondharmonica komt meedoen. Unchained is meer poppy en heeft een Beatles-gehalte. Een mindere song, vind ik, maar waarover geklaagd?

Mensen die graag wakker worden met een frisse Morning Breeze krijgen wat ze willen. Geen snoozefunctie, maar meteen de radio op als de wekker afloopt. Net als je weer dreigt in te dommelen, krijg je een mokerslag van harde muziek. Ik ben wakker....

De afsluiter You And I heeft wat weg van een obligate ballade. Het beeld van innig in elkaar verstrengelde koppeltjes op een dansvloer doemt op. En op het moment dat menig verliefd koppeltje denkt rustig te kunnen kussen, ontploft ook deze song in overdonderend scheurend gitaargeweld, om dan terug te keren naar de romantische song die dit in se is...

De heren van The Lucid Dream hebben wat te vertellen en deze plaat bewijst dat. Sublieme tempowisselingen, mooi opgebouwde songs: van melodieus tot rommelig, maar het blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines