tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE LUCID DREAM - The Lucid Dream

THE LUCID DREAM

The Lucid Dream

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

Holy Are You Recordings
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Holy Are You Recordings presents The Lucid Dream from Carlisle. The 8-track disc contains lots of shoegaze and post-punk demons. The band is not bloodthirsty. Neither cuddly or bite-sized chunk. No, The Lucid Dream is something different!

What do we get then? Well, art with the big A. Mona Lisa has a great bass with some lingering shoegaze guitars as a partner. And they love each other. Justen listen how the pace gets higher. The drums take part and the instrumental grows into a great track.

Cold Killer is again a combination of post-punk and shoegaze. The vocals are in perfect harmony with the shrill guitars!

The Darkest Day-Head Music is a rather quiet song. The voice caresses the eardrums and the sound is intimate, drums and bass are a bit in the background. But only for a while because soon the devils return, even if this song never gets heavy.

In Moonstruck, the vocals are performed with vocoders, a song with a post-punk feel.

Perhaps some electronics? Unchained has a vague ska, reggae and dub sound. It is totally different from the previous tracks and it is more of a feel-good song. Even the harmonica participates. Unchained is more poppy and Beatlesquet. A lesser song for me, but what do I complain about?

People who like to wake up with a fresh Morning Breeze get what they want. No snooze function on the alarm clock, but you wake up with the radio. Just wait until the song develops into a sledgehammer. You will be awake indeed!

The final song You And I sounds a bit like an obligatory ballad. The image of closely intertwined couples on a dance floor floats through my head. Once they try to kiss, the song explodes with an overwhelming guitar sound. Then the romantic feel takes over again…

The Lucid Dream has something to tell and this record is the prove. Sublime tempo changes, beautifully constructed songs: from melodic to messy, but always with quality.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

In Engeland hebben wel meer groepen met ballen het levenslicht gezien. Holy Are You Recordings presenteert ons The Lucid Dream uit Carlisle. Met hun 8 nummers tellende schijf laten ze allerlei shoegaze- en postpunkdemonen op ons los. Bloeddorstig zijn ze niet. Aaibaar? Ook niet? Een hapklare brok dan? Neen, want dan doen we de prestaties van deze jongens oneer aan.

Wat krijgen we dan wel? Kunst met de grote k. Mona Lisa heeft een basgitaar die klinkt alsof ze er geen zin in heeft, en krijgt slepende shoegazegitaren als metgezel. En ze houden van elkaar. Luister gewoon hoe het tempo de hoogte in gaat, drums die ze bijtreden en zo deze instrumentale song geweldig laten groeien.

Cold Killer barst meteen los en is weer een combinatie van postpunk en shoegaze. De zang komt het schelle gitaarwerk vergezellen en het plaatje klopt!

Een stuk rustiger gaat het er in The Darkest Day-Head Music aan toeHet stemgeluid streelt het trommelvlies en de sound is intimistisch, drums en basgitaar schakelen een versnelling of drie lager. Halfweg breken de duivels opnieuw los, zonder dat het een harde song wordt.

De vocoders laten de vocalen weergalmen in Moonstruck, dat eerder naar postpunk neigt, hoewel het gitaarwerk de song op het einde een oplawaai verkoopt.

Elektronica kan er ook nog wel bij, toch? Unchained Dub heeft een vage ska-, reggae- en dubinslag. Totaal anders dan de voorgaande tracks en een feelgoodsong. Zelfs de mondharmonica komt meedoen. Unchained is meer poppy en heeft een Beatles-gehalte. Een mindere song, vind ik, maar waarover geklaagd?

Mensen die graag wakker worden met een frisse Morning Breeze krijgen wat ze willen. Geen snoozefunctie, maar meteen de radio op als de wekker afloopt. Net als je weer dreigt in te dommelen, krijg je een mokerslag van harde muziek. Ik ben wakker....

De afsluiter You And I heeft wat weg van een obligate ballade. Het beeld van innig in elkaar verstrengelde koppeltjes op een dansvloer doemt op. En op het moment dat menig verliefd koppeltje denkt rustig te kunnen kussen, ontploft ook deze song in overdonderend scheurend gitaargeweld, om dan terug te keren naar de romantische song die dit in se is...

De heren van The Lucid Dream hebben wat te vertellen en deze plaat bewijst dat. Sublieme tempowisselingen, mooi opgebouwde songs: van melodieus tot rommelig, maar het blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers