tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : THE LUCID DREAM - The Lucid Dream

THE LUCID DREAM

The Lucid Dream

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

Holy Are You Recordings
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Holy Are You Recordings presents The Lucid Dream from Carlisle. The 8-track disc contains lots of shoegaze and post-punk demons. The band is not bloodthirsty. Neither cuddly or bite-sized chunk. No, The Lucid Dream is something different!

What do we get then? Well, art with the big A. Mona Lisa has a great bass with some lingering shoegaze guitars as a partner. And they love each other. Justen listen how the pace gets higher. The drums take part and the instrumental grows into a great track.

Cold Killer is again a combination of post-punk and shoegaze. The vocals are in perfect harmony with the shrill guitars!

The Darkest Day-Head Music is a rather quiet song. The voice caresses the eardrums and the sound is intimate, drums and bass are a bit in the background. But only for a while because soon the devils return, even if this song never gets heavy.

In Moonstruck, the vocals are performed with vocoders, a song with a post-punk feel.

Perhaps some electronics? Unchained has a vague ska, reggae and dub sound. It is totally different from the previous tracks and it is more of a feel-good song. Even the harmonica participates. Unchained is more poppy and Beatlesquet. A lesser song for me, but what do I complain about?

People who like to wake up with a fresh Morning Breeze get what they want. No snooze function on the alarm clock, but you wake up with the radio. Just wait until the song develops into a sledgehammer. You will be awake indeed!

The final song You And I sounds a bit like an obligatory ballad. The image of closely intertwined couples on a dance floor floats through my head. Once they try to kiss, the song explodes with an overwhelming guitar sound. Then the romantic feel takes over again…

The Lucid Dream has something to tell and this record is the prove. Sublime tempo changes, beautifully constructed songs: from melodic to messy, but always with quality.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

In Engeland hebben wel meer groepen met ballen het levenslicht gezien. Holy Are You Recordings presenteert ons The Lucid Dream uit Carlisle. Met hun 8 nummers tellende schijf laten ze allerlei shoegaze- en postpunkdemonen op ons los. Bloeddorstig zijn ze niet. Aaibaar? Ook niet? Een hapklare brok dan? Neen, want dan doen we de prestaties van deze jongens oneer aan.

Wat krijgen we dan wel? Kunst met de grote k. Mona Lisa heeft een basgitaar die klinkt alsof ze er geen zin in heeft, en krijgt slepende shoegazegitaren als metgezel. En ze houden van elkaar. Luister gewoon hoe het tempo de hoogte in gaat, drums die ze bijtreden en zo deze instrumentale song geweldig laten groeien.

Cold Killer barst meteen los en is weer een combinatie van postpunk en shoegaze. De zang komt het schelle gitaarwerk vergezellen en het plaatje klopt!

Een stuk rustiger gaat het er in The Darkest Day-Head Music aan toeHet stemgeluid streelt het trommelvlies en de sound is intimistisch, drums en basgitaar schakelen een versnelling of drie lager. Halfweg breken de duivels opnieuw los, zonder dat het een harde song wordt.

De vocoders laten de vocalen weergalmen in Moonstruck, dat eerder naar postpunk neigt, hoewel het gitaarwerk de song op het einde een oplawaai verkoopt.

Elektronica kan er ook nog wel bij, toch? Unchained Dub heeft een vage ska-, reggae- en dubinslag. Totaal anders dan de voorgaande tracks en een feelgoodsong. Zelfs de mondharmonica komt meedoen. Unchained is meer poppy en heeft een Beatles-gehalte. Een mindere song, vind ik, maar waarover geklaagd?

Mensen die graag wakker worden met een frisse Morning Breeze krijgen wat ze willen. Geen snoozefunctie, maar meteen de radio op als de wekker afloopt. Net als je weer dreigt in te dommelen, krijg je een mokerslag van harde muziek. Ik ben wakker....

De afsluiter You And I heeft wat weg van een obligate ballade. Het beeld van innig in elkaar verstrengelde koppeltjes op een dansvloer doemt op. En op het moment dat menig verliefd koppeltje denkt rustig te kunnen kussen, ontploft ook deze song in overdonderend scheurend gitaargeweld, om dan terug te keren naar de romantische song die dit in se is...

De heren van The Lucid Dream hebben wat te vertellen en deze plaat bewijst dat. Sublieme tempowisselingen, mooi opgebouwde songs: van melodieus tot rommelig, maar het blijft meer dan overeind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi
01
08
SOLAR FAKE
Amphi
01
08
GRENDEL
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
11
08
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
10
08
NENA
Fragezeichen
09
08
ESSAIE PAS
Lights Out