tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

30/09/2015 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - A dark Green Light

THE MARY HART ATTACK

A dark Green Light

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[77/100]   

Oddie Records
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The band’s name not only sounds like a Sonic Youth track, the songs of Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck also sound like the loudest noise band of New York. This Belgian trio has been active for two years and their tape A Dark Green Light (which can also be found on Bandcamp) is their first achievement. The needles in this hidden treasure are razor sharp and among the best the Belgian shoegaze post-punk scene has to offer.

The title track The Collision Course Of My Destiny sounds deliciously messy. The guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound, the tight drums come straight from Psychocandy and the trio doesn’t forget one second that the essence of music still is composing a song. There's also a lot of shoegaze in their sound, as The Sky Awakes could be a demo from the early days of Ride, added with the best rock 'n roll of The Stooges. The most melodic song is A Dark Green Light. Again, we might refer to some shoegaze band, but after several listenings The Mary Hart Attack remains the only appropriate reference. You Talk Too Much is a lovely indie pop song with a high sing-along factor. Addictive!

The Mary Hart Attack opened with this release all the doors for a bright future in the Belgian indie scene. If you encounter their name anywhere on some calendar, then mark the date with a cross!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

De groepsnaam klinkt niet alleen als een Sonic Youth-track, maar de nummers van Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck hebben ook wel wat weg van de luidste noisegroep uit New York. Dit Oost-Vlaamse trio is ondertussen al ruim twee jaar bezig en de tape A Dark Green Light (die je ook op Bandcamp kan vinden) is hun eerste wapenfeit. De kogels die in deze schat verborgen zitten zijn vlijmscherp en behoren tot het beste van wat de Belgische shoegaze-postpunkscène te bieden heeft.

Het titelnummer The Collision Course Of My Destiny klinkt heerlijk rommelig. De gitaren veroorzaken een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur, de strakke drums komen rechtstreeks uit Psychocandy en geen enkele seconde vergeet het trio dat de essentie van muziek nog altijd bestaat uit het componeren van een song. Er zit ook behoorlijk wat shoegaze in hun geluid, zo kon The Sky Awakes een demo uit de begindagen van Ride zijn, aangevuld met het beste uit de ruige rock ’n rolldagen van The Stooges. Het meest melodische nummer is A Dark Green Light. We zouden opnieuw naar één of andere shoegazeband kunnen verwijzen, maar na een aantal beluisteringen blijft The Mary Hart Attack de enige juiste referentie. Afsluiter You Talk Too Much is een heerlijk indiepopnummer met een hoge meezingfactor. Verslavend!

The Mary Hart Attack heeft met deze release meteen alle deuren geopend voor een gouden toekomst in de Belgische indiescène. Als je hun naam ergens tegenkomt in één of andere kalender, markeer dan alvast de datum met een kruisje!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass

 

Other reviews from THE MARY HART ATTACK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis