tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

30/09/2015 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - A dark Green Light

THE MARY HART ATTACK

A dark Green Light

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[77/100]   

Oddie Records
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The band’s name not only sounds like a Sonic Youth track, the songs of Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck also sound like the loudest noise band of New York. This Belgian trio has been active for two years and their tape A Dark Green Light (which can also be found on Bandcamp) is their first achievement. The needles in this hidden treasure are razor sharp and among the best the Belgian shoegaze post-punk scene has to offer.

The title track The Collision Course Of My Destiny sounds deliciously messy. The guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound, the tight drums come straight from Psychocandy and the trio doesn’t forget one second that the essence of music still is composing a song. There's also a lot of shoegaze in their sound, as The Sky Awakes could be a demo from the early days of Ride, added with the best rock 'n roll of The Stooges. The most melodic song is A Dark Green Light. Again, we might refer to some shoegaze band, but after several listenings The Mary Hart Attack remains the only appropriate reference. You Talk Too Much is a lovely indie pop song with a high sing-along factor. Addictive!

The Mary Hart Attack opened with this release all the doors for a bright future in the Belgian indie scene. If you encounter their name anywhere on some calendar, then mark the date with a cross!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

De groepsnaam klinkt niet alleen als een Sonic Youth-track, maar de nummers van Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck hebben ook wel wat weg van de luidste noisegroep uit New York. Dit Oost-Vlaamse trio is ondertussen al ruim twee jaar bezig en de tape A Dark Green Light (die je ook op Bandcamp kan vinden) is hun eerste wapenfeit. De kogels die in deze schat verborgen zitten zijn vlijmscherp en behoren tot het beste van wat de Belgische shoegaze-postpunkscène te bieden heeft.

Het titelnummer The Collision Course Of My Destiny klinkt heerlijk rommelig. De gitaren veroorzaken een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur, de strakke drums komen rechtstreeks uit Psychocandy en geen enkele seconde vergeet het trio dat de essentie van muziek nog altijd bestaat uit het componeren van een song. Er zit ook behoorlijk wat shoegaze in hun geluid, zo kon The Sky Awakes een demo uit de begindagen van Ride zijn, aangevuld met het beste uit de ruige rock ’n rolldagen van The Stooges. Het meest melodische nummer is A Dark Green Light. We zouden opnieuw naar één of andere shoegazeband kunnen verwijzen, maar na een aantal beluisteringen blijft The Mary Hart Attack de enige juiste referentie. Afsluiter You Talk Too Much is een heerlijk indiepopnummer met een hoge meezingfactor. Verslavend!

The Mary Hart Attack heeft met deze release meteen alle deuren geopend voor een gouden toekomst in de Belgische indiescène. Als je hun naam ergens tegenkomt in één of andere kalender, markeer dan alvast de datum met een kruisje!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass

 

Other reviews from THE MARY HART ATTACK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad