tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

30/09/2015 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - A dark Green Light

THE MARY HART ATTACK

A dark Green Light

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[77/100]   

Oddie Records
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The band’s name not only sounds like a Sonic Youth track, the songs of Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck also sound like the loudest noise band of New York. This Belgian trio has been active for two years and their tape A Dark Green Light (which can also be found on Bandcamp) is their first achievement. The needles in this hidden treasure are razor sharp and among the best the Belgian shoegaze post-punk scene has to offer.

The title track The Collision Course Of My Destiny sounds deliciously messy. The guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound, the tight drums come straight from Psychocandy and the trio doesn’t forget one second that the essence of music still is composing a song. There's also a lot of shoegaze in their sound, as The Sky Awakes could be a demo from the early days of Ride, added with the best rock 'n roll of The Stooges. The most melodic song is A Dark Green Light. Again, we might refer to some shoegaze band, but after several listenings The Mary Hart Attack remains the only appropriate reference. You Talk Too Much is a lovely indie pop song with a high sing-along factor. Addictive!

The Mary Hart Attack opened with this release all the doors for a bright future in the Belgian indie scene. If you encounter their name anywhere on some calendar, then mark the date with a cross!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

De groepsnaam klinkt niet alleen als een Sonic Youth-track, maar de nummers van Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck hebben ook wel wat weg van de luidste noisegroep uit New York. Dit Oost-Vlaamse trio is ondertussen al ruim twee jaar bezig en de tape A Dark Green Light (die je ook op Bandcamp kan vinden) is hun eerste wapenfeit. De kogels die in deze schat verborgen zitten zijn vlijmscherp en behoren tot het beste van wat de Belgische shoegaze-postpunkscène te bieden heeft.

Het titelnummer The Collision Course Of My Destiny klinkt heerlijk rommelig. De gitaren veroorzaken een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur, de strakke drums komen rechtstreeks uit Psychocandy en geen enkele seconde vergeet het trio dat de essentie van muziek nog altijd bestaat uit het componeren van een song. Er zit ook behoorlijk wat shoegaze in hun geluid, zo kon The Sky Awakes een demo uit de begindagen van Ride zijn, aangevuld met het beste uit de ruige rock ’n rolldagen van The Stooges. Het meest melodische nummer is A Dark Green Light. We zouden opnieuw naar één of andere shoegazeband kunnen verwijzen, maar na een aantal beluisteringen blijft The Mary Hart Attack de enige juiste referentie. Afsluiter You Talk Too Much is een heerlijk indiepopnummer met een hoge meezingfactor. Verslavend!

The Mary Hart Attack heeft met deze release meteen alle deuren geopend voor een gouden toekomst in de Belgische indiescène. Als je hun naam ergens tegenkomt in één of andere kalender, markeer dan alvast de datum met een kruisje!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass

 

Other reviews from THE MARY HART ATTACK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis