tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

30/09/2015 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - A dark Green Light

THE MARY HART ATTACK

A dark Green Light

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[77/100]   

Oddie Records
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The band’s name not only sounds like a Sonic Youth track, the songs of Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck also sound like the loudest noise band of New York. This Belgian trio has been active for two years and their tape A Dark Green Light (which can also be found on Bandcamp) is their first achievement. The needles in this hidden treasure are razor sharp and among the best the Belgian shoegaze post-punk scene has to offer.

The title track The Collision Course Of My Destiny sounds deliciously messy. The guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound, the tight drums come straight from Psychocandy and the trio doesn’t forget one second that the essence of music still is composing a song. There's also a lot of shoegaze in their sound, as The Sky Awakes could be a demo from the early days of Ride, added with the best rock 'n roll of The Stooges. The most melodic song is A Dark Green Light. Again, we might refer to some shoegaze band, but after several listenings The Mary Hart Attack remains the only appropriate reference. You Talk Too Much is a lovely indie pop song with a high sing-along factor. Addictive!

The Mary Hart Attack opened with this release all the doors for a bright future in the Belgian indie scene. If you encounter their name anywhere on some calendar, then mark the date with a cross!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

De groepsnaam klinkt niet alleen als een Sonic Youth-track, maar de nummers van Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck hebben ook wel wat weg van de luidste noisegroep uit New York. Dit Oost-Vlaamse trio is ondertussen al ruim twee jaar bezig en de tape A Dark Green Light (die je ook op Bandcamp kan vinden) is hun eerste wapenfeit. De kogels die in deze schat verborgen zitten zijn vlijmscherp en behoren tot het beste van wat de Belgische shoegaze-postpunkscène te bieden heeft.

Het titelnummer The Collision Course Of My Destiny klinkt heerlijk rommelig. De gitaren veroorzaken een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur, de strakke drums komen rechtstreeks uit Psychocandy en geen enkele seconde vergeet het trio dat de essentie van muziek nog altijd bestaat uit het componeren van een song. Er zit ook behoorlijk wat shoegaze in hun geluid, zo kon The Sky Awakes een demo uit de begindagen van Ride zijn, aangevuld met het beste uit de ruige rock ’n rolldagen van The Stooges. Het meest melodische nummer is A Dark Green Light. We zouden opnieuw naar één of andere shoegazeband kunnen verwijzen, maar na een aantal beluisteringen blijft The Mary Hart Attack de enige juiste referentie. Afsluiter You Talk Too Much is een heerlijk indiepopnummer met een hoge meezingfactor. Verslavend!

The Mary Hart Attack heeft met deze release meteen alle deuren geopend voor een gouden toekomst in de Belgische indiescène. Als je hun naam ergens tegenkomt in één of andere kalender, markeer dan alvast de datum met een kruisje!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass

 

Other reviews from THE MARY HART ATTACK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation