tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE MONOCHROME SET - Cosmonaut

THE MONOCHROME SET

Cosmonaut

MusicCD
IndieNew wave

[76/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time for some music history! In 1978 Bid (a pseudonym for Ganesh Seshadri) founded The Monochrome Set. This band from Hornsey (near London) never scored a hit, but always could charm a lot of music fans with romantic indie pop. The line-up changed a lot. In the early days, a guy named Stuart Goddard (as The B-Sides) was involved ald later became world famous as Adam Ant. Until 1985 the group recorded lots of records which fit perfect as Cherry Red-indie pop. Everything sounded messy, almost as an amateur version of The Smiths, but it was irresistible. In the 90s the band reformed for eight years and then split again until the reunion in 2008.

Cosmonaut is the thirteenth album and nothing has changed. If you told us that this were demos from 1982, we would believe it. Everything still sounds incredibly DIY. Bid really can not sing properly and yet you hear ten superb indie songs. Pretend it’s 1982 and dance!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Eventjes wat geschiedenis! In 1978 richtte Bid (pseudoniem van Ganesh Seshadri) The Monochrome Set op. Deze band uit Hornsey nabij Londen scoorde nooit een hit, maar op de een of andere manier wist men met romantische indiepop toch heel wat muziekfans te charmeren. De line-up wisselde voortdurend, zo zat er in de allereerste ooit ene Stuart Goddard (onder de naam The B-Sides), die later wereldberoemd werd als Adam Ant. Tot 1985 nam de groep allerlei platen op die perfect onder de noemer Cherry Red-indiepop pasten. Alles klonk rommelig, bijna als een amateurversie van The Smiths, maar tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. In de jaren 90 kwam de groep nog eens 8 jaar bij elkaar en splitte dan weer tot ze in 2008 opnieuw bijeenkwam.

Cosmonaut is het dertiende album en tja, er is niets veranderd. Mocht men ons vertellen dat het om demo’s uit 1982 ging, dan zouden we dat met het grootste gemak geloven. Alles klinkt nog steeds ontzettend knoeierig. Bid kan eigenlijk niet behoorlijk zingen en toch hoor je tien bloedstollende indiesongs.

Niet vernieuwend, maar dat is iets wat we van een band als The Monochrome Set net niet willen. Denk dat het nog altijd 1982 is en dans!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Other reviews from THE MONOCHROME SET
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
NITE FIELDS • Depersonalisation
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Meterorites
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In