tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE MONOCHROME SET - Cosmonaut

THE MONOCHROME SET

Cosmonaut

MusicCD
IndieNew wave

[76/100]   

Tapete Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time for some music history! In 1978 Bid (a pseudonym for Ganesh Seshadri) founded The Monochrome Set. This band from Hornsey (near London) never scored a hit, but always could charm a lot of music fans with romantic indie pop. The line-up changed a lot. In the early days, a guy named Stuart Goddard (as The B-Sides) was involved ald later became world famous as Adam Ant. Until 1985 the group recorded lots of records which fit perfect as Cherry Red-indie pop. Everything sounded messy, almost as an amateur version of The Smiths, but it was irresistible. In the 90s the band reformed for eight years and then split again until the reunion in 2008.

Cosmonaut is the thirteenth album and nothing has changed. If you told us that this were demos from 1982, we would believe it. Everything still sounds incredibly DIY. Bid really can not sing properly and yet you hear ten superb indie songs. Pretend it’s 1982 and dance!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Eventjes wat geschiedenis! In 1978 richtte Bid (pseudoniem van Ganesh Seshadri) The Monochrome Set op. Deze band uit Hornsey nabij Londen scoorde nooit een hit, maar op de een of andere manier wist men met romantische indiepop toch heel wat muziekfans te charmeren. De line-up wisselde voortdurend, zo zat er in de allereerste ooit ene Stuart Goddard (onder de naam The B-Sides), die later wereldberoemd werd als Adam Ant. Tot 1985 nam de groep allerlei platen op die perfect onder de noemer Cherry Red-indiepop pasten. Alles klonk rommelig, bijna als een amateurversie van The Smiths, maar tegelijkertijd onweerstaanbaar. In de jaren 90 kwam de groep nog eens 8 jaar bij elkaar en splitte dan weer tot ze in 2008 opnieuw bijeenkwam.

Cosmonaut is het dertiende album en tja, er is niets veranderd. Mocht men ons vertellen dat het om demo’s uit 1982 ging, dan zouden we dat met het grootste gemak geloven. Alles klinkt nog steeds ontzettend knoeierig. Bid kan eigenlijk niet behoorlijk zingen en toch hoor je tien bloedstollende indiesongs.

Niet vernieuwend, maar dat is iets wat we van een band als The Monochrome Set net niet willen. Denk dat het nog altijd 1982 is en dans!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

 

Other reviews from THE MONOCHROME SET
THE MONOCHROME SET • Eligible Bachelors
THE MONOCHROME SET • Spaces Everywhere

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
NITE FIELDS • Depersonalisation
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Meterorites
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights